We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Save
You added Middleton Inn to your Saves list
176 Main Street, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3RD NIGHT FREE MIDWEEK!
Ranked #6 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed here with my husband for our anniversary. It was a nice place, but definitely not the 5 star rating I was hoping for based on other reviews. First off, upon arrival our housekeeper seemed so concerned with giving us the rules of the house (don't park there, eat breakfast at one of two time slots, burn the log in your fireplace according to directions) that she never told us about the wine and cheese hour. We asked her about it the next day, but missed it the day we arrived because we didn't know when it was. Otherwise the housekeeper and the owner were very nice. We did get a bottle of champagne, which was a nice touch. It was chilly outside and the room was quite cold as well - we got around this by burning the logs whenever we were in there and wearing layers even while inside. My only other complaint was that a jacuzzi tub was advertised and the tub in the room was deep, but not a jacuzzi tub or particularly fancy. Overall I enjoyed it but for $400+ I'd expect a bit more. If we go back we'll probably try to find a cheaper inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a lovely Easter getaway weekend at the Middleton Inn. We opted to stay in the quaint and romantic country cottage which stood just beside the main house, a grand and beautiful looking estate. It was absolutely charming with a fireplace in the small living room, a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and a bedroom upstairs with cathedral ceilings and windows that looked out over the horses that were stabled right beside the cottage. It also had a small yard surrounded by a white picket fence that looked out onto the main house, rolling green hills, and blooming trees. There was a bottle of good champagne left as a gift from the owner, Mary Ann, upon our arrival; a very sweet gesture we thought. There were a couple of extremely friendly dogs and cats that roamed the property and happily greeted us whenever we stepped outside the cottage. We had the option of eating breakfast in the dining room of the main house with the other guests, or having our breakfast served to us in the cottage. We decided to have it served to us on the first morning and then to eat in the dining room on Easter morning. The food was incredible, we especially loved the freshly made scones. The hospitality and personalized service were also superb and we found the staff and, in fact, the entire feel of the Inn to be very warm, cozy, and welcoming. We were invited into the main house for a wine and cheese hour each evening in one of the nicely decorated sitting rooms. We had dinner reservations at the Inn at Little Washington which was very close to the Middleton Inn. It was simply amazing; one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. The food, presentation, ambiance, and service were excellent; we even got to tour the kitchen and meet the owner and chef, Patrick O’Connell. It was a wonderful experience. We hiked a trail in nearby Shenandoah National Park one of the afternoons, did some wine tasting at one of the local wineries, and walked around the little town of Washington on another. We felt two days were simply not long enough to fully enjoy the beauty and peacefulness that the Middleton Inn has to offer. We wished we had planned to stay longer.

Both my boyfriend and I fell in love with Washington, Virginia, and especially the Middleton Inn. One of our favorite parts of the weekend was sipping coffee on a sunny Easter morning on the porch of the main house while listening to the birds singing and the bees buzzing, and watching a very agile cat jump around a blooming cherry tree in order to catch a bird. We felt like we were in heaven and couldn’t imagine a better way to spend our Easter holiday. We highly recommend the Middleton Inn and will most certainly return one day.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

First, I must say that the staff at Middleton Inn are very kind and welcoming. We were warmly greeted, provided cheese & champagne, and escorted to our room. However, given our experiences at near-by B&Bs and the expense of Middleton Inn, I can not recommend it. Our room was over $400 - way overpriced for the state of our room (chipping pain in bathroom, dirty window sills, no lotion, etc.) and for the mediocre breakfast. Most people vacationing in Little Washington have come for the culinary experience of the ILW...likewise, the area B&Bs have (generally) provided incredible breakfasts. Not Middleton Inn. The breakfast was literally an omelette with some bacon strips. Very boring. Very uninspired. And, to top if off, there was a floating beetle in my coffee!

We have stayed SEVERAL times at the Foster Harris House (right across the street)...much less expensive and MUCH better experience. The room as FH are gorgeous, updated, clean, and welcoming. And, the breakfast rivals the food at the ILW. We have also stayed at the Heritage House (also across the street)...it is also a better choice than the Middleton Inn.

Again, the Middleton Inn staff were kind and accomodating. This is just an honest assessment of our experience. Bottom line: not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My husband and I needed to get out of DC for a weekend - Middleton Inn was the perfect choice. Close to home, you feel a million miles away. House is elegant, rooms with fireplaces cozy, views incredible. Breakfast in a picturesque dining room, and you're on your way to explore wineries, the village of Washington, VA...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We traveled to Washington, VA for my wife's birthday. We were running behind for dinner reservations and the staff at the Middleton Inn took it upon themselves to notify the restaurant. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and quickly checked-in. Waiting for us was a wonderful bottle of chilled champagne in an immaculate and well-appointed cottage. Our breakfast featured delicious homemade scones and a hearty breakfast quiche served by the friendly chef on premises. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and we would definitely choose to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, texas, USA
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
12,017 helpful votes 12,017 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Like most visitors to the Inn we were having dinner at the Inn At Little Washington and wanted to avoid the over $700 a night, with taxes, charges at that Inn. The Middleton is certainly an excellent option and I have no complaints. The greeting was friendly, breakfast was very good (outstanding scones) and our room was very nice and probably a good value for Washington Virginia which is not an inexpensive place to stay, eat or shop. I am not a real B&B fan as I live in an old and charing house and sometime tire of squeaky floors and single sink bathrooms. Our room had a four poster queen bed (My spouse would have preferred a king bed but only one room in the Inn has one and it was taken) nice furnishings, a fireplace and a nice view but after a week of cold weather it was actually a bit hot and the AC was not on which meant open windows during the evening. Some may enjoy the sound of frogs and birds early in the morning but as I am able to experience such sounds at home the charm is lost on me. After being out late I did not appreciate the sounds of nature at 5:00 AM though after I shut the windows I have to admit it was quite and I was able to sleep late and enjoy breakfast in their very lovely dinning room.

I would say that at $300 to $400 a night the Middleton is a good way to make spending $360 a person at dinner, with wine and tips, seem somewhat more reasonable without ruining the experience. I would also note that dinner at the Inn at Little Washington is an experience and if you can afford it you should make the trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The fact that almost all the reviews posted here give Middleton 5 stars says it all.

We'd been here some years before, in a lovely room in the main house. This time, for a special anniversary, we stayed in the restored cottage between the main building and the stable. It's decorated in perfect taste, with a comfortable sofa and armchair in the sitting room front of a working fireplace, a very smoothly finished bathroom, and a bedroom upstairs tucked under the open-beam eaves. We'd been looking forward to spending that mid-February afternoon in front of a nice fire, but the weather was so unseasonably warm we wound up sitting outside in the well-positioned Adirondack chairs and enjoying the lovely mountain view instead.

Innkeeper Mary Ann is gracious, friendly, and hospitable, as is her colleague Jerry who prepared and served an elegant breakfast. And the fireplace was nice to have when the weather turned chillier the next morning, as we lingered after breakfast before heading home.

Thanks to a tip from Jerry, on our way out of town we stopped at a village shop called Stoneyman Farmer that offers, among other foodstuffs, an outstanding array of locally made artisanal cheeses. They were a great way to bring a bit of the Blue Ridge home with us.

If you're coming to LIttle Washington to dine at The Inn at LW, this is a fine place to stay. While not inexpensive (though far less expensive than The Inn), it offers true value along with the highest quality. You really can't find a better B&B experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Address: 176 Main Street, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.