We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Nights Sleep EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Save
You added Gay Street Inn to your Saves list
160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best Nights Sleep EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed here with my husband on a lovely October weekend. The inn is just charming, the rooms were spotless, and the owners really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Plus the bed was so comfortable I had the most restful sleep in my life. And did I mention how scrumptious the breakfast was? I will definitely be coming back to the Gay Street Inn. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
134
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed here while traveling in central Virginia. Our hosts had all the information we needed on the local area including places to eat. They even suggested ways to deal with any areas that might be congested. This place is a perfect compliment to a meal at The Inn at Little Washington.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We've stayed in Washington, VA a number of times and never found a place where we were eager to return. Now we have. The Gay Street Inn is lovely, reasonable, and conveniently located. Best of all was the way Jay and Kevin did everything to make use welcome. From the drinks when we arrived to port and chocolate at night, to the repeated reminders to ask them if we needed anything, their hospitality was top notch.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed at the Gay Street Inn with our dog during our visit to nearby Shenandoah National Park. Our innkeepers were most gracious. The breakfast each day was outstanding including scones to die for & heirloom tomatoes from the inn’s garden. Maps, suggestions & directions for hiking in the park as well as other activities in the area were provided. Kevin & Jay had excellent ideas for nearby dining. We particularly liked the Griffin Tavern. At days end port & chocolates are available in the sitting area. Our room was very clean & comfortable. Knowing that we enjoyed tea, our hosts made sure we had tea supplies in our room. Kevin’s art studio is across from the Inn & we had the chance to see some of his beautiful paintings including some as part of the anniversary celebration for Shenandoah National Park. We would definitely recommend the Gay Street Inn for your stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I were unfortunately only able to stay at the Gay Street Inn for one night as it was fully booked the night after. Upon arrival we had decided we would have loved to have stayed for longer. We were met by Jay who was just lovely and made us feel at home immediately. Our room was beautiful and spotless, very homely. I am a very light sleeper and got a really good night's sleep as the inn is in a very quiet street. Out of all the B&Bs we stayed at during our trip along the East Coast, this one was outstanding (and we have high expectations). It is not cheap, but we found that most nice Inns were fairly expensive on the East Coast. Look no further if you are staying in Little Washington!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is our second visit to the Gay Street Inn, and the Innkeepers once again did not disappoint. We were not there more than 10 minutes before we were served a glass of wine and had our feet up in their beautifully landscaped grounds. The rooms are immaculate and quiet. (Only an hour from DC, yet it's a different world!) Before bed, you can sit in the quaint library and sip a glass of port. And the breakfast... wow! You sit in a beautiful room with open windows overlooking the yard while you enjoy fresh fruit, fresh coffee, and gourmet pancakes. This place is simply perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Owners Kevin and Jay are terrific, they go above and beyond to make sure your stay is memorable. Guest service is impeccable. Little extras such as port and chocolates in the lounge after our return from dinner was delightful. We stayed in the Blue Room and it was perfect, clean and the setting is charming. Big, fluffy towels in the bathroom and all the amenities you need. We had wine and snacks on the porch before dinner. I would highly recommend this inn and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Address: 160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are walking distance from the renowned restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gay Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.