We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Save
You added Gay Street Inn to your Saves list
160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a perfect stay at the Gay Street Inn! Kevin met us when we arrived and after settling in, he suggested we enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fire in the library. We had been walking around town on a very blustery afternoon and the wine in front of the fire was an excellent touch. When we returned from dinner last evening, some very good port and was set out for us to enjoy so we sat and relaxed in the wonderfully warm library for a while. Our room was very nice and the Inn is impeccably maintained. Kevin was quick to credit Edie for her hard work keeping the Inn in such great condition and we had the pleasure of meeting Edie when she served a very good breakfast this morning.
Kevin is an excellent host and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We definitely look forward to returning to this great B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
134
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We met Kevin when we checked in, and he pampered us throughout our stay. Advised us of all the local sites to see, provided good Virginia wines and a fire in the beautiful library. Port and chocolate was waiting for us when we got back from dinner. Alas, we were too full to partake. But we did enjoy a hearty, delicious breakfast. Bed was very comfortable, room was well appointed. We'll be back later this spring for a few days.

Room Tip: You can choose an east or west view, so decide if you want to be wakened by the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Gay Street Inn was delightful. Have stayed on two seperate occassions and each time was wonderful. Both rooms were lovely. Our second trip was before Christmas and we brought our 105lb dog with us. Dogs are permitted in what is sort of a Jr. Suite with a king bed on the first floor. This room is equipted with a mini kitchen. Jay and Kevin were exceptionally relaxed and accomodating, especially given the size of our beast. The dog was invited back - as were we. This inn is spotless, has excellent linens, and tasteful decor. Breakfast is good, not fantastic. (this is not to be viewed as a detractor - the main event was a stuffed french toast and its a matter of personal preference.) That said, breakfast was large and I really appreciated the extra efforts made by our hosts. They try to use local sources. I have a lactose problem and they provided me with soy milk for my coffee. The coffee was exceptional.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Little Washington is a quiet, sleepy town so noise is not a concern. I bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Jay and Kevin are terrific innkeepers. They are incredibly accommodating and hospitable. We stayed with our dog and they even had the thoughtfulness to leave out a dish of dog treats for him. When I misplaced a valuable in the room, they made the extra effort to locate it and mail it to me the following day. Truly top-notch service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is really a very high value proposition and you wont go wrong staying here and saving the money for dinner at the Inn!
The hosts of the Gay St. are extremely helpful and attentive and really go out of their way to be gracious and friendly. Breakfast is excellent, well prepared and served. Rooms are fine, quiet and well appointed. I think it is an extremely good value!

For a bed and breakfast at this price you will not do better! Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RappahannockVA, Owner at Gay Street Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so pleased that these guests, who from their profile travel a great deal, enjoyed their stay with us. We try hard to strike the right balance between being attentive and giving guests privacy to enjoy their own time together in our home. The cocktail hour in the evening and breakfast hour in the morning are the times we get to have the most direct interaction with guests, which we enjoy immensely, and we are pleased to be available at other times as guests need us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed the night of our 20th Anniversary. Nicely appointed and very close to shops and the Inn at Little Washington (our dinner). When we returned from dinner, Kevin had set up the front parlor with port, chocolate and a fire. My husband & I curled-up & sipped, chatted about life. What could be better. Our room was simple, not really romantic, but that's fine ... we don't like too much frou frou. We slept well. Breakfast bacon was superb, as were scones, served in the light-filled sun-room.
Only thing I would recommend is to set-up hot water & tea bags available (in the winter). I did ask Kevin and her got it right away, but it'd be nice to just have it available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RappahannockVA, Owner at Gay Street Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We're sorry that these guests were less than fully pleased with their experience. We are always happy to accommodate special requests for food and beverage, but we are rarely asked for hot tea and so do not automatically provide daily tea service. If you have a special request, including something that you would like waiting for you on arrival, please just let us know -- we'll be sure to have it ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardsville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

we spent one night in a Very quiet, lovely BB with wonderful hosts. Kevin and Jay
Make you feel like a long lost traveler settling in to the comfort of a home with impeccable service, and offer all the quality the hosts would give themselves. the town is close to DC
But a world away and an era in time away. dinner at the Inn in Little Washington is a great
Complement. we look forward to spending another time there and being treated so special.
A great recharge to a busy lifestyle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Address: 160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are walking distance from the renowned restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gay Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.