We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and superb hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Save
You added Gay Street Inn to your Saves list
160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and superb hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is really a very high value proposition and you wont go wrong staying here and saving the money for dinner at the Inn!
The hosts of the Gay St. are extremely helpful and attentive and really go out of their way to be gracious and friendly. Breakfast is excellent, well prepared and served. Rooms are fine, quiet and well appointed. I think it is an extremely good value!

For a bed and breakfast at this price you will not do better! Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RappahannockVA, Owner at Gay Street Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so pleased that these guests, who from their profile travel a great deal, enjoyed their stay with us. We try hard to strike the right balance between being attentive and giving guests privacy to enjoy their own time together in our home. The cocktail hour in the evening and breakfast hour in the morning are the times we get to have the most direct interaction with guests, which we enjoy immensely, and we are pleased to be available at other times as guests need us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
134
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed the night of our 20th Anniversary. Nicely appointed and very close to shops and the Inn at Little Washington (our dinner). When we returned from dinner, Kevin had set up the front parlor with port, chocolate and a fire. My husband & I curled-up & sipped, chatted about life. What could be better. Our room was simple, not really romantic, but that's fine ... we don't like too much frou frou. We slept well. Breakfast bacon was superb, as were scones, served in the light-filled sun-room.
Only thing I would recommend is to set-up hot water & tea bags available (in the winter). I did ask Kevin and her got it right away, but it'd be nice to just have it available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RappahannockVA, Owner at Gay Street Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We're sorry that these guests were less than fully pleased with their experience. We are always happy to accommodate special requests for food and beverage, but we are rarely asked for hot tea and so do not automatically provide daily tea service. If you have a special request, including something that you would like waiting for you on arrival, please just let us know -- we'll be sure to have it ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardsville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

we spent one night in a Very quiet, lovely BB with wonderful hosts. Kevin and Jay
Make you feel like a long lost traveler settling in to the comfort of a home with impeccable service, and offer all the quality the hosts would give themselves. the town is close to DC
But a world away and an era in time away. dinner at the Inn in Little Washington is a great
Complement. we look forward to spending another time there and being treated so special.
A great recharge to a busy lifestyle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We only stayed one night, but it was great. Just two blocks from the Inn at Little Washington. We were trying to see if there were any places to stay since dinner there would already be very expensive. The owners were very nice. They planned our next day's activities and served a wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: The Blue room has a high bed, which might be difficult for some to climb into. We just had to rememb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed this past weekend for one night at this lovely B&B. Both Kevin and Jay were extremely friendly and warm. This was our first experience with a B&B and we couldn't be happier. The room was comfortable, the Inn tastefully decorated and breakfast the next morning was divine. Homemade banana scones, fresh fruit, corn meal pancakes with homemade cranberry butter and bacon. Yummy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Our visit to the Gay Street Inn was perfect in every way. Kevin and Jay are friendly and helpful, and their rooms are beautifully appointed and decorated. You can tell an artist is in residence! Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the port and chocolate in the sitting room after dinner was a treat. Breakfast was delicious, especially the robust coffee and the yummy scones. The Gay Street Inn was a lovely experience all around. If you are visiting Washington, VA you should stay at the Gay Street Inn!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed on Saturday night while we were in town to eat at the Inn. Kevin greeted us personally and wished my wife happy birthday before showing us to the room. The place was very clean and nicely decorated. We had a quiet night in front of the fire after coming back from dinner. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the breakfast room was a nice place to start the day with the day's newspaper. If we had more time in town I would like to have sat on the porch or in the yard to relax a little bit more but we had to take off to get back home. I would definitely recommend it if you are staying in the area or if you are planning to eat at the Inn but dont want to stay there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Address: 160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are walking distance from the renowned restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gay Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.