We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Our visit to the Gay Street Inn was perfect in every way. Kevin and Jay are friendly and helpful, and their rooms are beautifully appointed and decorated. You can tell an artist is in residence! Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the port and chocolate in the sitting room after dinner was a treat. Breakfast was delicious, especially the robust coffee and the yummy scones. The Gay Street Inn was a lovely experience all around. If you are visiting Washington, VA you should stay at the Gay Street Inn!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
125
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed on Saturday night while we were in town to eat at the Inn. Kevin greeted us personally and wished my wife happy birthday before showing us to the room. The place was very clean and nicely decorated. We had a quiet night in front of the fire after coming back from dinner. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the breakfast room was a nice place to start the day with the day's newspaper. If we had more time in town I would like to have sat on the porch or in the yard to relax a little bit more but we had to take off to get back home. I would definitely recommend it if you are staying in the area or if you are planning to eat at the Inn but dont want to stay there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Gay Street Inn is a quiet, unpretentious, and very relaxing B&B in Washington, VA. We celebrated our 27th anniversary there and will definitely be back! The hosts were very helpful making recommendations for local activities and very attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everything everyone has previously written is true, we loved our stay here. Wonderful Innkeepers, top notch service, extremely clean and comfortable, delicious and plentiful breakfast, special roasted coffee that was wonderful. A memorable experience!

Room Tip: We had the Shenandoah Room on the first floor. It was very quiet and spacious with a small kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just returned from a lovely overnight at the Gay St. Inn. Like other reviewers, my husband and I were celebrating at the Inn at Little Washington (15 years!), willing to pay the price for the fabulous food but not the accommodations. Gay St. Inn is walking distance and the hosts could not be more pleasant and helpful.

We are not really B&B people -- too often they feel to me like you're at a distant relative's house --forced to tiptoe around, be nice to an over-chatty home-owner and make small talk at a communal breakfast table. Gay St Inn is NOT like this. We walked in the door and pressed a little button, which rang Kevin, who is, as others have mentioned, a wonderful host. You really do feel like he wants nothing more than for you to have a great time. He showed us to the Mountain View Room -- spotless, comfortable, and large with a bathroom that looks brand new. As he left us to unpack, he suggested we ring him for a glass of wine when we were ready, and we did. He brought Virginia wine, described the nearby winery, and left us on the cute front porch with wine and nuts. We felt perfectly at home, strolled the town, had an amazing dinner, and slept very well. Though the Inn was full when we were there, we didn't hear noise from the nearby rooms or halls.

The breafkast room is sunny and has individual tables at which to sit (hurray!) and copies of the Washington Post and local papers. Kevin puts out coffee (special blend just for the Inn - delicous) and bread (banana walnut today) at 7:30 a.m., with a hot breakfast at 8:30. My husband and I enjoyed a leisurely hour with the paper and coffee, and a wonderful breakfast by Jay. After breakfast Kevin directed a scenic walk for us, gave us guest passes to a local winery and recommended some stop-offs for a liesurely way home (24 Crows Italian Veggie Sandwich -- awesome!).

One other note - there is almost no cell service in Rappahannock County. Though there are only two roads, in Washington, VA, if you're using a cell phone to navigate, you may find yourself asking strangers for directions. Luckily, there are plenty of friendly strangers in town to help.

Room Tip: We liked the mountain view room -- two nice windows with a cross breeze, two comfortable reading cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A close friend and I stayed at the Gay Street Inn during a long weekend trip to DC and the Shenandoah Valley, and it's not hyperbole to say our stay here was by and far the highlight of the trip - and was the best experience I've ever had staying at a B&B (or for that matter, a hotel). Kevin was our host for the weekend and I can't underestimate how much every detail was thought of; every need you have will have been thought of and provided for already. On Kevin's recommendation we went for a great dinner at a pub 5 minutes away, and then returned to a bottle of port and dark chocolates set out for us in the living room/library (which has a wonderful collection of books, board games, and other nice touches). Complementary wine and cocktails were offered to us several times during our stay. Breakfast was homemade - cornbread pancakes with a raspberry-butter-maple syrup spread, fresh bacon (and a delicious fruit medley for me as a vegetarian), broiled grapefruit, and fresh baked breads. More details: wine key and glasses are provided if you'd like to bring wine back for yourself, any advice you'd need to get the most of the town or the region is readily available, and there's a incredible backyard to a relax in, and a front porch which looks out onto sunsets over the mountains. Finally, the aesthetics of the place are perfectly done - elegant, homey, comfortable, and completely free of kitsch. All and all, the Gay Street Inn is an amazing place to call home for a day or a week!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RappahannockVA, Owner at Gay Street Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We are so pleased to know that these guests enjoyed their stay with us, and their kind words mean a lot. We are always happy to share our breakfast recipes with guests--in fact, most of our guest favorites are available for download from our website. And if new or returning guests have a personal favorite, we'll do our best to offer it if we are given a bit of advance notice (grocery shopping in our area has to be done in advance).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I echo all of the other 5 star reviews of the Gay Street Inn. It's by far the best B&B I've ever stayed at. The house and rooms are spacious, cheery, and quaint, while the amenities are very modern. Everything is clean and well decorated. And best of all are the innkeepers--Kevin and Jay--two of the friendliest nicest people you will ever meet. The make the experience truly spectacular (and they cook an incredible breakfast).
After staying at the Gay Street Inn, I would never stay anywhere else in Washington, VA. Highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Address: 160 Gay Street, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are walking distance from the renowned restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gay Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gay Street Inn to your Saves list