We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foster Harris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foster Harris House
Save
You added Foster Harris House to your Saves list
189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$89 off your dinner!
Ranked #1 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Charming and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

We visited the area to celebrate our first anniversary with dinner at the Inn. We arrived at the Foster Harris House in the afternoon - quite tired from a long drive through heavy rains. What a treat to be greeted by Diane with wine and soda and left to relax in our comfy room. Once the weather improved, we moved out to the garden area to take advantage of the gorgeous mountain views. The room was clean and nicely decorated (loved the bath products!) and the breakfast was to die for. We didn't think we'd have room for breakfast after dinner, but we cleaned our plates! Would definitely recommend this b&b to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
196
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

We have frequented Bed and Breakfasts throughout the country, and by far, this is the BEST we have ever been to! As Siskel and Ebert always used to say "Two thumbs up!" Well, we would like to go one step farther and give it at least a four thumbs up!

The views were spectacular, the food was "out of this world", the hospitality was unbelievable and we will be back! If you are trying to decide between
Little Washington and Foster Harris, trust me, Foster Harris should be your choice!

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

My husband and I stayed at this B & B, located about a block from the famed Inn at Little Washington, where we were having dinner on a Saturday night. The Foster Harris House, and it's owners were amazing, the room was beautiful, and the grounds were very relaxing. We had an excellent wine and cheese plate before heading off to our dinner, and enjoyed resting in the comfortable living room reading a book and playing scrabble.

Although the Inn at Little Washington is suppose to be one of the Nation's best restaurants, on this trip, I found the four-course breakfast at the Foster Harris House to be a much better meal than my dinner at the Inn. Fresh baked croissants, beautiful fruit parfaits, an unbelievable french toast, and a delicate tex mex inspired eggs benedict!! Truly delicious. And a special thank you to the owners, who were so friendly, and so helpful! Don't miss this great B & B.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

We spent two nights this past weekend at the Foster Harris House. Innkeepers John and Diane made us feel welcome from the start. The house is charming and immaculately maintained. Our room was very pleasant and we slept well in the four-poster bed, but we did not spend a great deal of time there during the daytime, choosing instead to sit on the comfortable front porch, reading and watching the world go by. John is a wonderful cook and his 4-course breakfasts were a highlight of the visit. We'll certainly recommend the Foster Harris House to friends and hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

We just returned home from a one night stay at Foster Harris House and we feel as relaxed as if we had been gone a week! Our stay started with a warm welcome from John and a tour of their beautiful B & B from Dianne. The suite was cozy, clean, and inviting. We loved sipping a glass of wine in the sitting area of the suite overlooking the garden. The thoughtful touches really made the stay special, from the truffles and weather report on our pillow before bed to the port left on the coffee table after returning from dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. Breakfast looked lovely and tasted delicious. We would recommend Foster Harris House to anyone looking for a little rest and relaxation. We hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

We recently enjoyed a lovely B & B in the Shenandoah Valley of VA in the historic town of Little Washington, VA. Beautiful rooms and our hosts were so kind. We were greeted with wine and snacks on the porch. Breakfast was superb. This is your first choice to stay in the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

We decided to stop at the Inn at Little Washington for dinner on our road trip from Philly to Pinehurst for the US Open. Although dinner was amazing as expected, the real delight was our stay at the Foster Harris House with John and Diane MacPherson. The room was lovely, the Host warm and friendly, and breakfast was even better than our dinner the night before.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Most rooms offer expansive views of the surrounding countryside. Enjoy afternoon wine upon arrival and awaken to a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner is available by reservation on Friday and Saturdays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster Harris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.