We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better food than The Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foster Harris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foster Harris House
189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms available! Call!
Ranked #1 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better food than The Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Foster Harris House is a wonderful value! The rooms are spacious and their breakfasts can not be beat. If you feel you must experience The Inn at Little Washington, go there and spend $300 too much for an over rated dinner in gaudy surroundings but don't waste another $800. for a room - stay at The Foster Harris House and have the best breakfast I've had at any Inn, the world over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
180
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Inn the night we had a Birthday celebration at the Inn at Little Washington. We went expecting to be wowed by our dinner (and we were!), but we came away equally impressed by our accommodations and fantastic breakfast at the Foster Harris House. Every detail for our comfort had been considered. John greeted us upon arrival and offered us a glass of wine in our room. We made use of the brilliant Emergency Fashion Kit provided. We felt completely private while at the same time part of the family. So gracious and tasteful. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Ellen Jenkin's Room. It is the smallest, but has a lovely quaint charm. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

"Romantic Escape." If you think that phrase is overworked in reviews then try staying at Foster Harris House Bed and Breakfast in Washington, VA. My wife and I did, when we celebrated her birthday. It was romantic. It was an escape. A "romantic escape." Open land and distant mountains. A quiet road through the heart of the tiny town. In wine country, where there are too many wineries to visit in a single lifetime, and down the road from the Inn at Little Washington, one of the nations finest restaurants. But you don't need to plunk down huges sums to eat well. Try Foster House's food! It's a wonderful old home from a past century when a justice of the peace with a long white beard posed outside for a photographer while sitting in a chair looking severe. Today the house is warm and comfy, with free port wine 24 hours a day and a coffee table set up early in the morning only steps from your room. And a fabulous breakfast waiting for you downstairs--at a reasonable hour! The owners, John and Diane are wonderful, warm, and proud of their establishment--as well they should be.(John is a great chef--we bought his coffee-table quality cookbook.) The home is well kept and thoughtfully furnished, offering the visitor an experience akin to walking into the home of new friends that want to share its history, ambience, and comfort, yet somehow knowing you want to be left alone to explore their neighborhood and beyond, and come and go on your own. Staying there feels like stepping back many decades into a cozy, well-kept home in the days when the fastest thing that raced down mainstreat on a Saturday night was a kid on a wild horse. Although we stayed only one night in order to go to the restaurant, we plan on going back and staying longer so we have this wonderful home as our base while we explore the wineries and winding roads. There are also some shops within walking distance--antiques, books, and gifts. If you're looking to get away--for romance or for an adventure with friends (or both!), check out Foster Harris on the web, along with the surrounding area. Then take a deep breath and escape!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Compton suite and loved it. That's the only one I can comment on with any knowl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My daughter and I traveled to Washington on the recommendation of good friends to spend our first Christmas without my late husband. From the moment we checked in, Diane and John made us feel like this would be a special trip and it was!

We ate Christmas Eve dinner at The Inn at Little Washington, but had no plans for Christmas dinner (our second night at the Foster Harris House). After searching for us at surrounding restaurants provided no availability, Diane and John suggested eating at the FHS. John created a fabulous gourmet meal for us. At one point between courses, my daughter showed John "goosebumps" on her arms! What a treat!

We plan to spend every other Christmas at the FHS and make it a tradition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having been to Washington VA once before and stayed at the Inn at Little Washington, my wife and I were looking for another venue for our overnight stay. I must say we could not have been happier with our choice. From the moment we checked in, John and Diane went out of their way to make us feel at home. From the welcoming glass of wine/ beer to facilitate our welcome to the tour of the house and our accommodations, we relaxed and enjoyed the ambiance.

We had an early seating at the Inn at Little Washington, and after dinner enjoyed a nice glass of port in front of the fireplace in the main salon of the house upon our return. Our room (the Suite) was perfect; the bed was comfortable and spa shower was amazing. Coffee was available just outside our door at 7:30- perfect for enjoying the early morning views of the mountains from the sitting room just off the salon. All of this was just a foretaste of the joys to come...

You will read a lot about John's four-course breakfast- and I will tell you honestly the accolades are well- deserved... We started with fresh OJ, coffee and ginger scones hot out of the oven. This was followed by spiced apples over Greek yogurt with homemade granola. Next was a farm fresh poached egg over a delicate, flaky puff pastry with a side of fresh avocado salsa and appropriately-named paradise bacon. Finally, "dad's favorite" pancakes which were indescribably delicious. I swear, the number of OMG's uttered by my wife and I through the course of this meal equaled or exceeded those from the night before at the INN!

This was our first stay ever at a B&B and I can tell you the bar has been set exceptionally high. I truly cannot wait to return- next time for a two-day so we can one dinner at the Inn and the second with John and Diane for one of their special five-course dinners.

I would most highly recommend the Foster Harris House to anyone planning a trip to Little Washington.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Staying at Foster Harris was a superlative experience. Our room was spotless, decor is lovely, and the 4-course breakfast is spectacular. I understand that Foster Harris will begin serving dinners. I can't wait.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

this was our second trip to foster harris house and john and diane did not disappoint. from the initial greeting through our wonderful breakfast, our time at foster harris house was wonderful. our room was very comfortable and cozy, with wonderful views. breakfast stole the show as usual with wonderful chocolate-blueberry-lavender scones, toasted red pepper and gruyere crepe, and a wondeful liebchen with pumpkin butter. we cannot wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: highly recommend the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Most rooms offer expansive views of the surrounding countryside. Enjoy afternoon wine upon arrival and awaken to a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner is available by reservation on Friday and Saturdays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster Harris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Foster Harris House to your Saves list