We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Little Washington

Inn at Little Washington
309 Main St, Washington, VA 22747
+1 540-675-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Washington
Price range: $168 - $248
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A 5 Star, 5 Diamond country house hotel retreat, The Inn at Little Washington presents exquisite American Cuisine with a French influence in a charming and sophisticated dining room. The sumptuous award-winning cuisine is accompanied by a Wine Spectator Grand Award wine cellar with over 2,500 selections.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lives up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Everything you hope this place will be. The atmosphere, ambiance, food, service...is top. My recommendation is to stay at a local B&B in town so you can make a full experience out of visiting this part of Virginia. An experience not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your gracious review. We are pleased to read that your dinner was memorable and hope to have you as a guest next time you visit to allow you to enjoy the whole Inn at Little Washington experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    49
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Synchronized Water Pour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Seems an odd title, but summarizes the experiences: the moment we sat down, the host and a waiter synchronized filling our water glasses to the second, and throughout the mean, they set the standard for excellent service. Needless to say, the food matched the service and ambiance.

I made a secret reservation for our 25th wedding anniversary, and we arrived about 30 minutes early. I don't know how, but the hostess recognized us by name, and offered us our table, or cocktails in the garden. If the weather is suitable, take the time to settle from the drive and enjoy the koi pond. As we finished, we were led to our waiting table and the show began. We were given personalized menus, and only after selecting our meals did the sommelier arrive with the wine list. Too many places ask you to select a wine before you know what you're eating. I was impressed with the breadth of choices (must have been over 100 pages of wines) and pleased that they were highlighting Virginia wines. The bottles ranged from $45 - $ hundreds, with practically anything you could imagine.

We chose the 6 course dinner over the 10 course “Gastronaut’s” Menu. Every bite of every dish was outstanding, and I'm confident that anything on the menu would be equally as good. I would suggest taking dessert or after dinner drinks in the bar (you can substitute a dessert for a drink, so we did one of each.) Make sure you ask to see the kitchen when you're done. From beginning to end, we were treated like royalty. This was without a doubt the best meal I've every had and staying married another 25 is a small price to pay for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and thoughts on our ambience and service. We are pleased we could play a part in making your 25th anniversary special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Spectacular evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a second visit. It was better than I remember. The service from the time you pull up for valet, walk through to your table until the time you leave is unmatched. They make you feel like the only guest they have.

I cannot say enough about the food. The presentations are gorgeous. I will not stop thinking about the pidgeon...yes i said it right...pidgeon. It was my second course and it was delicious.

You need to experience the Inn at Little Washington with someone special. It is a beautiful place in a beautiful part of the country.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for coming back for a second visit! Your comments are appreciated and remember, third time's a charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Living up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I dined here last November en route to a sorority-sponsored "Parents Formal" at UVa. Of course ILW has a fabulous reputation as one of the finest restaurants in the country - and it did NOT disappoint! The food was superb, the wait staff affable & attentive, and the cheese cart was not to be believed!

It's clearly a "destination" restaurant, with reservations that need to be made months in advance. Our fellow diners were all celebrating and suitably attired (one of my pet peeves at other expensive restaurants and resorts).

If you're planning a trip to this area (which is lovely), make sure to enjoy a terrific meal at the Inn at Little Washington - you deserve to be pampered!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience as you headed to UVA. We're glad your visit was fun and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Special Honeymoon Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've wanted to go to the restaurant but decided it merited a special event and this was it. The service is exellent and the atmsophere what you expect. We chose the gastronaut menu, began with glasses of rose Champagne and shared a bottle of very reasonably priced Virginia wine. It was a nice evening and the food absolutely delicious - I wouldn't expect less. I know many people have dinner there for special occasions, but perhaps we should have gone to a lesser known restaurant to feel more special. We received a congratulations from the head waiter and our desserts, which were part of the tasting menu, had congratulations on them and that was a nice touch. I don't think it would have been over the top for them to have given us a glass of Champagne (even a lesser one!). Also what contributes to a four-star experience versus perfect, was the lamp over our table was so low, I had to duck under, as well as did the servers to see or hear them - crazy. In total, the food was good and we enjoyed ourselves overall.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We're pleased that you chose to be with us for your honeymoon and appreciate your comments.
Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn at Little Washington also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Washington, Rappahannock County
Flint Hill, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Little Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.