We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb! The best B&B we've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
65 Clark Lane, Washington, VA 22747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Absolutely Superb! The best B&B we've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Harmony Manor exceeded all our expectations! The location and view are both beautiful and tranquil. Recently renovated from top to bottom, the decor and furnishings are exquisite, tasteful and comfortable. Each bedroom and bath are so unique and inviting that we felt we would have enjoyed staying in any one of them. The attentiveness and warm hospitality of owner and hostess, Kimberly Fort, made our stay all the more enjoyable. And our breakfast the next morning was five star. We're running out of superlatives, but this is truly an exceptional B&B not to be missed!

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went out to the country to attend a wedding and found a gem in the Harmony Manor B&B! From the minute we walked in the door, Kimberly made us feel right at home. The house is very spacious and we never even heard the other guests, but enjoyed their company at the delicious (filling) gourmet breakfasts! Our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable and relaxing with high quality linens and towels. The views were great even with the rain. From just sitting on the porch overlooking the hills and fall foliage, to checking out the local recommendations from Kimberly, it was a perfect weekend and we look forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I needed a few days to unwind and celebrate US. From Harmony Manor's cozy and elegantly decorated bedrooms to its magnificent view while sitting on the porch, we thoroughly relaxed and enjoyed this amazing home which is ideally located to many wineries, and indulged each morning with one of Kim's to-die-for breakfasts. Place this B & B on your Must Stay Here list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided on a getaway to see the Virginia country side, do some wine tasting and generally just take it easy. Kim greeted us, made us feel welcome, suggested options and place to go. Waking up to the mountain vistas in one of Harmony's beautiful suites was a delight. A five minute ride to Little Washington for a small town walk or dinner at the Inn or driving further afield to the many vineyards and antique shops adds to the delight of staying at Harmony Manor.

Room Tip: The front rooms facing the mountains are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friends recommended Harmony Manor for a relaxing weekend and it's easy accessibility from Washington, DC. Harmony Manor is a country gem, with beautiful views, excellent facilities, and outstanding breakfasts prepared by Kim, the owner, whose love of inn-keeping shows in her particular attention to detail. The immaculate rooms, each with it's own bathroom, are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The property is situated close to several small towns, art galleries, antique stores, great wineries, restaurants, hiking trails and Sky Line Drive. Kim made reservations for us at the Thornton River Grille, Sperryville, where we enjoyed a great meal prepared with local produce and later sat on the porch with a glass of wine - an added delight. Harmony Manor more than fulfilled our expectations and we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: The tranquility room has two bathrooms and a sitting room with gorgeous views. All the rooms are spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After spending a few hectic days visiting colleges in the DC area, my daughter and I recently stayed at Harmony Manor to get some R&R before returning to Miami. We went truly on faith after the excellent reviews we got from friends in Washington who have excellent taste. After a weekend at Harmony Manor, I can honestly say that this is as good as it gets in rural America! If you happen to be in the area and want to experience the very best hotel without breaking the bank, you must visit this find.

Situated on a beautiful hill deep in the Virginia countryside, this newcomer offers you excellent rooms, beautiful views, a luxurious breakfast, and the caring of warm staff -- Kim was great! No detail is overlooked to ensure a top-notch lodging experience.

The first impression you get after walking into the house is WOW. It is obvious that significant capital was invested in the decor. It is very tasteful yet very classy. I frankly did not expect such a beautiful and FRESH look in the Rappahannock area. Great first impression.

We were then lead to our rooms and it even got better. The rooms are extremely spacious, beautifully and newly decorated, full of little extras, and QUIET. The bathrooms were also impressive -- large, clean, and full of upgrades.

There are no TVs in the rooms because you don't need them. The inn has an awesome TV in the lobby, a game room with a high-end pool table in the basement, and a wrap-around porch where I smoked a few memorable cigars.

The area is beautiful. My daughter loved visiting the local main street with it's art galleries, cafes, and general store. The location was perfect to attend the Castleton Music Festival-- another surprising treat that both of us really enjoyed.

If you find yourself in the DC area and want to enjoy relaxed, country living in a classy setting, you must visit Harmony Manor. It was truly worth the drive. We loved it and plan to come back with our entire family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like many previous reviewers, we stayed here as an alternative to the Inn at Little Washington. Unfortunately, when trying to reserve a room, our first phone call was not returned (we should have taken the hint) and after calling again, we did get a return call (there is no way to book on their website). We honestly thought that the house was ugly and poorly designed; new, or newly renovated perhaps, but in poor taste. To top it off, the innkeeper, although cheerful and always smiling, seemed phony, as though her smile was painted on her face. The room was spacous and the views were great, but as we heard people in the area say, there are no bad views in Rappahannock.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, Manager at Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay at Harmony Manor and it was not as you expected. Though we did not design the house, we worked extremely hard renovating what was an uninhabitable property. We also post many photos of both the inside and outside of our B&B on our website so guests will have a clear idea of what to expect in regard to the décor, quality and size before making a decision to stay with us.

One of the reasons we do not have on-line bookings is we like personal contact with our guests so we can determine in advance their needs and help them with reservations and provide other ideas for things to do in the area during their stay.

We do genuinely enjoy our guests and meeting many new people from around the world. Again, we are sorry your experience was not as expected. We encourage our guests to visit other B&B’s wherever they may travel, as all properties and owners are individually unique, just like the guests they accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 65 Clark Lane, Washington, VA 22747
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Manor is situated atop a grassy knoll with breathtaking panoramic views of the Shenandoah Mountains. We have four beautifully appointed suites in which to choose (currently for exclusiveness, peace and tranquility, we reserve only 3 rooms a night) and we are the perfect getaway for those seeking romance and privacy. Feel the stress melt away as you unwind in your private suite or relax on the wrap-around porch. For those seeking adventure, come and hike the many trails in Shenandoah National Park, or soak in the scenery along Skyline Drive. Massage packages on request and subject to availability. Whatever you do, you won't be disappointed. Our exclusive suite, The Haven has its own private entrance, kitchenette, fireplace, TV, large glass enclosed shower and more. This Suite is available for well-behaved dogs and young children.Inquire about special occasions and private dinners for a small group. Jazz duo and personal chef available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.