We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Washington Winery

Little Washington Winery
72 Christmas Tree Lane, Washington, VA 22747
540-987-8330
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tucked into the edge of Shenandoah National Park at Washington Virginia, Little Washington Winery is the coolest destination winery in Virginia Wine Country. Home of the Dirt Road Wine Tour, every visit is completely different with their own wines ... their George is named #1 red wine in Virginia and their Shenandoah Steel is named #3 white wine in Virginia. They also collect the most incredible wines you'll never find anywhere from other small farms in Virginia and beyond and showcase them. The tasting is completely different every day.
Palmyra, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A cut above...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great Wine - #1 Red and #3 White in VA. Wine Boot Camp Rocks! The winery has a beautiful view and the education is unique. Wine Loves Chocolate, their store in Washington, VA (Little Washington) is a treasure. They just added cigars (hehe) and will be providing a nice retreat upon which to smoke them. How Civilized!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views and wine and accommodating owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have visited here several times and my husband and I were actually married in their field. Really good wine and service. The dirt road win tour wines always have something new and interesting. Also if you want to use this venue for a function they are VERY reasonably priced and accommodating.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Educational and Lots of Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We attended the wine boot camp on a beautiful Sunday afternoon. The owners Carl and Donna were our hosts. In a couple of hours we learned a lot of very practical tips about how wine is made, navigating the restaurant experience, food pairings and other issues. The group was about 14 people. Our hosts made it a lot of fun. We tasted as we went and concluded with a taste of their wines which are very good. They have a companion business in Little Washington that focuses on chocolate, wine and other treats. 90 minutes from DC. A great weekend getaway.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wine Bootcamp experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A great experience for those knowledgeable and not so knowledgeable about wine. Quite an immersion seminar into structure of wines, when to send a bottle back at a restaurant, what to do with the cork, pairing of foods and especially chocolate.
Expect to spent 2 to 3 hours at the winery as the bootcamp is small groups and the owner takes the time to answer your questions. As a person who does not care for red wines, I have learned if a wine is paired with the right foods, the flavor of the wine changes. There are wines from the winery itself, and wines from around the world. Take advantage of all three parts of the bootcamp. Truly worth the money.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Love the wine knowledge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

One of the more unique wineries, as the wine club consists of wines which the wine club members have tasted & voted. The highest ranking wines (from all over the world, not the winery itself) are then chosen for the next wine club shipment. It is an awesome experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Washington Winery also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Little Washington Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Washington Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.