We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and informative afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Washington Winery

Little Washington Winery
72 Christmas Tree Lane, Washington, VA 22747
540-987-8330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Washington
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tucked into the edge of Shenandoah National Park at Washington Virginia, Little Washington Winery is the coolest destination winery in Virginia Wine Country. Home of the Dirt Road Wine Tour, every visit is completely different with their own wines ... their George is named #1 red wine in Virginia and their Shenandoah Steel is named #3 white wine in Virginia. They also collect the most incredible wines you'll never find anywhere from other small farms in Virginia and beyond and showcase them. The tasting is completely different every day.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely and informative afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I attended the Bootcamp lecture at the Washington Winery and found it both very useful and fun (including the opening jokes!). We are much more attentive to wine pairings with food and also tasting a single glass as an 'adventure'. The setting and views are beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the 5 star review of Little Washington Winery. Glad you enjoyed wine bootcamp and our joke crew was so excited to be mentioned in your review.

Be sure to come out again soon and often ... Autumn is the best time of the year out here. We were up on Skyline Drive yesterday and the leaves are starting to change. Should be peak foliage soon. Hope you'll come out to our oyster wine fest to see the colors on October 12th. It's a free event - just pay for what you consume.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small winery, fun with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went to visit after visiting another nearby winery and were absolutely delighted. Carl Henrickson led us through a tasting of his wines and comparable wines from other lands. He sells both his wines and a good selection of wines from grapes he is not yet growing. The property had lots of butterflies (which he tries to attract with appropriate plantings) and that made it even more fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for such a nice review of Little Washington Winery. Glad you enjoyed Carl's wines and our Dirt Road wine Tour. It's different every day you know so you'll have to escape the city and come out to our little hideaway to relax to the fall foliage soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“And a great time was had by all....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We bought a Groupon for a wine Bootcamp, so we had no idea what to expect, but could not be more pleased by what we experienced.
Vintner/owners Carl and Donna Henrickson clearly love what they do and their enthusiasm is contagious!
We spent 2+ hours tasting wines, learning about food and chocolate pairings, what to look for when buying wine in a store and how to order wine in a restaurant. Lots of information, lots of humor (we loved the "joke team" who came in to warm us up) in a pastoral setting. A great way to spend a summer afternoon - who wouldn't love this?
We plan a return trip for a wine tasting or two or more!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review of Little Washington Winery and our Wine Immersion Bootcamp seminar. The joke team are especially excited to have been named in a 5 star review! Hope you enjoyed trying Carl's wines, Andrew's wines and the Dirt Road Wine tour of the day. Every day is different around here you know, so, come back soon and often. Fall foliage is starting to happen here ... plan to escape from the city and come hang out with us for awhile. We're having our foliage/harves/oyster/wine festival October 12th, which we think will be peak foliage.

Hope to see you again soon,
Carl & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem in Virginia wine country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a delightful place to do a wine tasting. Bring a picnic and buy a bottle of a wine--after talking to the owners or a knowledgable staff person--to accompany your meal that you might never find anywhere else. I attended the 2-hour "boot camp" and learned quite a few neat tricks for buying wines in stores and restaurants. After making two tasting stops enroute and having some small sips of a variety of wines during the "boot camp" session, I was not quite ready to do yet another (7 wines/$7) after that. But I know that I'll go back for one. The setting is tranquil, the people there are friendly and welcomng, the selection of wines from around the world is unique, and it's fun and fantastic education.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the 5 star review of Little Washington Winery and our Wine Immersion Bootcamp seminar. Oh my, you missed trying Carl's and Andrew's wines .... bring a picnic and come back!! We will put your name in our will call box to save you a free tasting for two. Every day is different around here you know, so, come back soon and often. We're having our foliage/harvest/oyster/wine festival October 12th, which we think will be the peak foliage weekend.

Hope to see you again then,
Carl & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great concept winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Most of the wineries in this area are chock full of meh to middling to pretty great wines, made in house from grapes all over the region, by folks that loved wine and wanted to produce it.

The difference here is that the owners knew they may not be successful in trying to compete head to head with all those other wineries, so they thought up a plan to be a little bit different.

We visited Little Washington winery to do a Wine Bootcamp where we learned all about how it is made, what it pairs well with, information about the corks used, and even some really helpful buying guides! The class was taught by the owner and winemaker who was exciting, fun, and supremely knowledgeable. You could not help but buy in to his passion about his product and his industry. His wife also came in to talk to us about chocolate pairing and her patented Girl Scout Cookie pairings! Both were a joy to learn from and chat with.

We then went for a tasting as well and loved that since they do small batch wine production and only have a couple to a few of their own wines available at any time, they offer up wines from other craft wineries from around the world in their selection. Stuff that you won't find just anywhere, but after tasting, will search hard to find again.

A white Merlot? What is a real rosé like, and why should you stop passing them up? What is that whole wine ritual about when you order a bottle at a restaurant?

We learned about all of this and much more! Do not miss this gem of a winery!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lil-Washington-Wine, Owner at Little Washington Winery, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice 5 star review of Little Washington Winery and our Wine Immersion Bootcamp seminar. Hope you enjoyed trying Carl's wines, Andrew's wines and the Dirt Road Wine tour of the day. If you missed George while it was sold out, please come back soon ... it was named the #1 red wine in Virginia and we had a rush on it right after that but it is back and it is better than ever! Every day is different around here you know, so, come back soon and often. Fall foliage is starting to happen here ... plan to escape from the city and come hang out with us for awhile. We're having our foliage/harves/oyster/wine festival October 12th, which we think will be peak foliage weekend.

Hope to see you again soon,
Carl & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Washington Winery also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Little Washington Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Washington Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.