We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Une adresse Sucrée” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Little Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Little Washington to your Saves list
The Inn at Little Washington
Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Mane, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Une adresse Sucrée”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Welcome in the Inn at Little Washington!
It is another world! Everything is more than perfect even if sometimes it look like too much and heavy!
The food was correct... nothing WHAOU!
I really recommend this Relais &Chateau as a very very good experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your great comments! We're glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    41
    16
    19
    4
See reviews for
14
209
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Inn at Little Washington is a singular property. If you have ever wondered about going there, do it!
We returned for a second time having bought a night there as an auction item at the L'Amour du Vin where Chef O'Connell was the guest chef. And I am so glad we did.
Everyone we met, from the gentleman who greeted us in the parting lot to the manager who checked us out at the end our stay was warm, welcoming, and helpful. The service provided by the staff was absolutely without flaw. And yet, the service was very comfortable, not obsequious or overdone. We felt like we were being welcomed into their home. Not easy to seamlessly hit all the bases. But that's what they did.
We stayed in the Clairborne house so named in honor of the chef and food critic Craig Clairborne. (This used to be Chef O'Connell's home.) This is a magnificent house; a beautifully appointed home with two story veranda and beautifully landscaped back yard. This is a wonderful place to stay and would be perfect for two couples.
To describe our dinner and dining experience I would have to exhaust every superlative in my vocabulary. If this was not the best meal I have every had, it was one of them. However, the experience was over the top. How so? Well, we ate in the kitchen at the chef's table. If you are offered this, don't even think twice. You will never have another dining experience like it.
As I said, this is a singular property. Chef O'Connell has invested his life into the inn and the kitchen. His commitment to excellence and attention to every detail is evident everywhere you look. And yet, he and his staff welcome you in as guests in his home.
Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IALW, Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad you were able to join us at L'Amour du Vin and stay in the Craig Claiborne House as a result. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Inn at Little Washington in Washington, Virginia.

This is a world-class hotel and a complete indulgence in luxury and service. Before going, a potential visitor, however, should understand that this is a restaurant with a hotel. Both are wonderful but have no illusions that this is a resort or spa. It is not. Washington, VA is a small hamlet. There is little to do there other than enjoy the scenery, take walks, bike and enjoy great food at the Inn. For gym, spa, business meetings, etc. you had best go somewhere else.

BUT if what you want to do is relax, enjoy some of the finest food you will find anywhere in this country, maybe take a stroll or two, sit in a garden and read, have high tea and indulge than this is the place.

To begin with, the staff is terrific: friendly, helpful, indulgent and eager to please. They were first-rate, committed to service but also not intrusive. Just the right amount of professionalism combined with open American hospitality – a mix that is hard to achieve but is here achieved seemingly without effort.

Next, the accommodations were comfortable and luxurious giving one the feeling of staying in a grand country house rather than a “hotel.” We stayed in room 2 – the Jacques Pepin. We had a wonderfully comfortable bed with a sitting area, a patio, two Juliette balconies, a vast bathroom with separate tub and shower. The air conditioning was great (I like a cold room). In fact, though our room was right over the kitchen, never heard a sound from the rest of the hotel or felt heat or smells coming up from below.

The furnishings are very eclectic – a stage designer designed them and the theatricality shows. Lots of colors and patterns and while I don’t normally like all of that busy design, somehow here it works for the most part.

Room service was prompt and attentive. While the options are narrow, the food is terrific. Their standard continental breakfast includes some of the best yogurt I’ve ever had. The afternoon tea service was an experience – consulting with a “tea master” was fun and different and the little sandwiches and treats were delicious.

There were a couple of small issues, however, I suspect the management should see to. First, the drapes in our room let in too much light too early. They should look into valances to help reduce morning light and keep the room dark longer. Second, the water pressure in the double sinks in Room 2 was practically non-existent. It is hard to shave, brush teeth, apply make-up, etc. with just a dribble of water (the shower and bath pressure were fine). But these were both minor issues compared to how much we loved this hotel.

We would love to return. We were treated like royalty and more than made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are named after great American chef's or food writers, the more prominent the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your generous comments. They inspire us further in our ongoing pursuit of excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chestnut hill
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

okay, I know I am in a minority here, or perhaps saying what others are afraid to, but I just don't get the panache this place clearly has. Yes, the service is impeccable, but in my book it is so impeccable as to border on creepy. Who of us really needs that much attention. The decor is extravagantly eclectic, but just too too much. In addition, our room was on the second floor. I awoke throughout the night to the sounds of the people above us walking around. This is an old property and the floors creak - a lot. (I do not consider myself a light sleeper.) In addition, there is one thing that I found rather tacky -- the room charge includes breakfast, but it only includes the continental breakfast. Somehow with rates exceeding $1,000 per night one would think it would be otherwise.

Room Tip: make sure you are on the top floor given the noise of the floor boards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We do regret that your stay with us was not what you expected. Thank you for sharing your perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Absolutely outstanding in every detail provided.... The food truly is creative genius at work. Our four course dinner ($168 per person as it was a Thursday night) included a first, second, main and dessert. The wine list had just the right amount of variation in type and price... Plus the helpful sommelier gave good suggestions. The room (we stayed in the Mayors Cottage) was beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. Adjacent was a short walking trail around the edge of a field where we visited the vegetable garden, the hen house, the 2 llamas, and the sheep. The cutting garden and flower beds were lovely. And the staff were incredibly friendly and gracious, all giving the impression that making our stay wonderful was the most important thing in the world. Overall - a memorable experience. For me - because of the price point- it is a place mainly for special occasions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your stay and our staff. We hope you’ll come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Fantastic service, exceptional food, lovely room! I would love to go back! The staff is wonderful, I never saw housekeeping, but every time we returned to our room, the room was straightened, clean towels were left, the bed was made or turned down, treats were left. The staff was always pleasant and ready to accommodate your every request. Afternoon tea was wonderful, dinner was extraordinary, it was certainly one of the best meals I've ever enjoyed. Breakfast is also not to be missed. We had the opportunity to see the kitchen and meet Patrick O’Connell. I bought the Refined American Cuisine Cookbook (the staff had it autographed by Patrick for me) and I’ve already made the Watermelon Tequila Soup! Can’t wait to try more recipes, including some we ate at the Inn. In addition, our room was not only lovely, it was comfortable, important for those who do not sleep well away from home! The atmosphere is very relaxing and the other guests were friendly. Overall an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main Inn and there is a flight of stairs to climb. I do not know if any of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful review and are glad we could be a comfortable home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had dinner at the Inn at Little Washington and it was one of the best meals of my life. The wine list is extensive and actually really interesting to go through. One thing that I really loved was the personalized menu with your name and date on it. We were giddy with excitement before each course and were blown away at the end. Next time I am going to spend the little bit more and get the nine course meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are pleased your visit to The Inn at Little Washington was memorable. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Little Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.