We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Heaven in Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Little Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Little Washington to your Saves list
The Inn at Little Washington
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Almost Heaven in Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Inn at Little Washington in Washington, Virginia.

This is a world-class hotel and a complete indulgence in luxury and service. Before going, a potential visitor, however, should understand that this is a restaurant with a hotel. Both are wonderful but have no illusions that this is a resort or spa. It is not. Washington, VA is a small hamlet. There is little to do there other than enjoy the scenery, take walks, bike and enjoy great food at the Inn. For gym, spa, business meetings, etc. you had best go somewhere else.

BUT if what you want to do is relax, enjoy some of the finest food you will find anywhere in this country, maybe take a stroll or two, sit in a garden and read, have high tea and indulge than this is the place.

To begin with, the staff is terrific: friendly, helpful, indulgent and eager to please. They were first-rate, committed to service but also not intrusive. Just the right amount of professionalism combined with open American hospitality – a mix that is hard to achieve but is here achieved seemingly without effort.

Next, the accommodations were comfortable and luxurious giving one the feeling of staying in a grand country house rather than a “hotel.” We stayed in room 2 – the Jacques Pepin. We had a wonderfully comfortable bed with a sitting area, a patio, two Juliette balconies, a vast bathroom with separate tub and shower. The air conditioning was great (I like a cold room). In fact, though our room was right over the kitchen, never heard a sound from the rest of the hotel or felt heat or smells coming up from below.

The furnishings are very eclectic – a stage designer designed them and the theatricality shows. Lots of colors and patterns and while I don’t normally like all of that busy design, somehow here it works for the most part.

Room service was prompt and attentive. While the options are narrow, the food is terrific. Their standard continental breakfast includes some of the best yogurt I’ve ever had. The afternoon tea service was an experience – consulting with a “tea master” was fun and different and the little sandwiches and treats were delicious.

There were a couple of small issues, however, I suspect the management should see to. First, the drapes in our room let in too much light too early. They should look into valances to help reduce morning light and keep the room dark longer. Second, the water pressure in the double sinks in Room 2 was practically non-existent. It is hard to shave, brush teeth, apply make-up, etc. with just a dribble of water (the shower and bath pressure were fine). But these were both minor issues compared to how much we loved this hotel.

We would love to return. We were treated like royalty and more than made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are named after great American chef's or food writers, the more prominent the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your generous comments. They inspire us further in our ongoing pursuit of excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    42
    17
    19
    4
See reviews for
20
233
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chestnut hill
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

okay, I know I am in a minority here, or perhaps saying what others are afraid to, but I just don't get the panache this place clearly has. Yes, the service is impeccable, but in my book it is so impeccable as to border on creepy. Who of us really needs that much attention. The decor is extravagantly eclectic, but just too too much. In addition, our room was on the second floor. I awoke throughout the night to the sounds of the people above us walking around. This is an old property and the floors creak - a lot. (I do not consider myself a light sleeper.) In addition, there is one thing that I found rather tacky -- the room charge includes breakfast, but it only includes the continental breakfast. Somehow with rates exceeding $1,000 per night one would think it would be otherwise.

Room Tip: make sure you are on the top floor given the noise of the floor boards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We do regret that your stay with us was not what you expected. Thank you for sharing your perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Absolutely outstanding in every detail provided.... The food truly is creative genius at work. Our four course dinner ($168 per person as it was a Thursday night) included a first, second, main and dessert. The wine list had just the right amount of variation in type and price... Plus the helpful sommelier gave good suggestions. The room (we stayed in the Mayors Cottage) was beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. Adjacent was a short walking trail around the edge of a field where we visited the vegetable garden, the hen house, the 2 llamas, and the sheep. The cutting garden and flower beds were lovely. And the staff were incredibly friendly and gracious, all giving the impression that making our stay wonderful was the most important thing in the world. Overall - a memorable experience. For me - because of the price point- it is a place mainly for special occasions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your stay and our staff. We hope you’ll come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Fantastic service, exceptional food, lovely room! I would love to go back! The staff is wonderful, I never saw housekeeping, but every time we returned to our room, the room was straightened, clean towels were left, the bed was made or turned down, treats were left. The staff was always pleasant and ready to accommodate your every request. Afternoon tea was wonderful, dinner was extraordinary, it was certainly one of the best meals I've ever enjoyed. Breakfast is also not to be missed. We had the opportunity to see the kitchen and meet Patrick O’Connell. I bought the Refined American Cuisine Cookbook (the staff had it autographed by Patrick for me) and I’ve already made the Watermelon Tequila Soup! Can’t wait to try more recipes, including some we ate at the Inn. In addition, our room was not only lovely, it was comfortable, important for those who do not sleep well away from home! The atmosphere is very relaxing and the other guests were friendly. Overall an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main Inn and there is a flight of stairs to climb. I do not know if any of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful review and are glad we could be a comfortable home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had dinner at the Inn at Little Washington and it was one of the best meals of my life. The wine list is extensive and actually really interesting to go through. One thing that I really loved was the personalized menu with your name and date on it. We were giddy with excitement before each course and were blown away at the end. Next time I am going to spend the little bit more and get the nine course meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are pleased your visit to The Inn at Little Washington was memorable. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Difficult to imagine that service could be better...food excellent, setting beautiful. I don't know how they did it but after we were announced at arrival the staff knew who we were and what our needs were.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your gracious compliments regarding your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mountains
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were celebrating our first anniversary and they did everything possible to make it perfect. We were treated as VIPs from the moment that we arrived. Our car was parked for us and the bags were delivered to the room and we were treated to a champagne cocktail and given a tour.

We arrived a little latter then planed and we did not want to miss tea, so I asked how late tea is served. I loved the answer. I am paraphrasing; “Whenever it would be good for you”. Everything at the inn revolves around what is best for the guest. Never the other way around. I also asked if they had a recommendation for the tipping of staff (bellman, breakfast servers and housekeepers). They gave the perfect answer once again. "Your policy is our policy". Since we had a late tea it was no problem for them to push back our dinner time. The secret to their amazing service is their big staff. Someone is always available just in case you might need something.

We stayed in the garden suite and it was amazing. The bath room could have easily graced the pages of Architectural Digest.

The dinner was absolutely fabulous. Sometimes creativity can be just weird. But here everything had a reason and all the ingredients worked in harmony to produce a superb dining experience. The service was also perfect along with the timing of each dish. Our server was both very professional but friendly and down to earth at the same time. We also enjoyed the kitchen tour.

We only stayed one night. We will be back and next time for a longer stay. I had extremely high expectations prior to arrival and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We appreciate your kind review and wish you a Happy Anniversary. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Little Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Little Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.