We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Little Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Little Washington to your Saves list
The Inn at Little Washington
Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Blissful Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Absolutely outstanding in every detail provided.... The food truly is creative genius at work. Our four course dinner ($168 per person as it was a Thursday night) included a first, second, main and dessert. The wine list had just the right amount of variation in type and price... Plus the helpful sommelier gave good suggestions. The room (we stayed in the Mayors Cottage) was beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. Adjacent was a short walking trail around the edge of a field where we visited the vegetable garden, the hen house, the 2 llamas, and the sheep. The cutting garden and flower beds were lovely. And the staff were incredibly friendly and gracious, all giving the impression that making our stay wonderful was the most important thing in the world. Overall - a memorable experience. For me - because of the price point- it is a place mainly for special occasions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your stay and our staff. We hope you’ll come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    40
    16
    19
    4
See reviews for
12
205
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exton, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Fantastic service, exceptional food, lovely room! I would love to go back! The staff is wonderful, I never saw housekeeping, but every time we returned to our room, the room was straightened, clean towels were left, the bed was made or turned down, treats were left. The staff was always pleasant and ready to accommodate your every request. Afternoon tea was wonderful, dinner was extraordinary, it was certainly one of the best meals I've ever enjoyed. Breakfast is also not to be missed. We had the opportunity to see the kitchen and meet Patrick O’Connell. I bought the Refined American Cuisine Cookbook (the staff had it autographed by Patrick for me) and I’ve already made the Watermelon Tequila Soup! Can’t wait to try more recipes, including some we ate at the Inn. In addition, our room was not only lovely, it was comfortable, important for those who do not sleep well away from home! The atmosphere is very relaxing and the other guests were friendly. Overall an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main Inn and there is a flight of stairs to climb. I do not know if any of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful review and are glad we could be a comfortable home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had dinner at the Inn at Little Washington and it was one of the best meals of my life. The wine list is extensive and actually really interesting to go through. One thing that I really loved was the personalized menu with your name and date on it. We were giddy with excitement before each course and were blown away at the end. Next time I am going to spend the little bit more and get the nine course meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We are pleased your visit to The Inn at Little Washington was memorable. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Difficult to imagine that service could be better...food excellent, setting beautiful. I don't know how they did it but after we were announced at arrival the staff knew who we were and what our needs were.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your gracious compliments regarding your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mountains
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were celebrating our first anniversary and they did everything possible to make it perfect. We were treated as VIPs from the moment that we arrived. Our car was parked for us and the bags were delivered to the room and we were treated to a champagne cocktail and given a tour.

We arrived a little latter then planed and we did not want to miss tea, so I asked how late tea is served. I loved the answer. I am paraphrasing; “Whenever it would be good for you”. Everything at the inn revolves around what is best for the guest. Never the other way around. I also asked if they had a recommendation for the tipping of staff (bellman, breakfast servers and housekeepers). They gave the perfect answer once again. "Your policy is our policy". Since we had a late tea it was no problem for them to push back our dinner time. The secret to their amazing service is their big staff. Someone is always available just in case you might need something.

We stayed in the garden suite and it was amazing. The bath room could have easily graced the pages of Architectural Digest.

The dinner was absolutely fabulous. Sometimes creativity can be just weird. But here everything had a reason and all the ingredients worked in harmony to produce a superb dining experience. The service was also perfect along with the timing of each dish. Our server was both very professional but friendly and down to earth at the same time. We also enjoyed the kitchen tour.

We only stayed one night. We will be back and next time for a longer stay. I had extremely high expectations prior to arrival and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We appreciate your kind review and wish you a Happy Anniversary. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Let me start by saying that I have been fortune enough to stay or eat at close to 23 Relais Chateaux properties and restaurants. They are all without a doubt wonderful, amazing and service is usually 4 to 5 star - with one exception.

The staff at the Inn at Little Washington may actually rate a 6! I have never experienced such a gracious, friendly and accommodating staff - from arriving at the front door and having luggage and our car taken swiftly off our hands to the check-in, check-out, the restaurant staff, those at the shops and everyone in between - we experienced nothing less then quiet graciousness.

When we requested that breakfast be served for 6 in our Game Keepers Cottage (the best by the way) it arrived on trays with a staff to arrange, offer to pour us coffee while setting up and rearranging to make it all fit - all being done with making us feel this was easy, seamless and what they do everyday. It was above and beyond and probably inconvenient but was done with style and smiles.

What Patrick O'Connell has achieved is a fabulous blend of gracious country home style with food and comfort for the most discriminating! I haven't even mentioned the food. The food was wonderful and filled with so many delightful surprises I can't begin to list them all here. I am still dreaming about the incredible lemon-vodka-dill sauce!

What a wonderful slice of heaven about an 1 hour and half outside of D.C. - if you can go - go and experience it yourselves!!

Room Tip: Loved the Game Keepers Cottage - Family stayed in Norman House - most impressive bathroom and additi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We just had our 25th anniversary yesterday at the Inn. My expectations were already high when I knew that the institution is already a member of Relais and Chateaux and on top of that a 5 star rating from Forbes Travel. The presentation from start to finish is excellent. I must admit I have a very keen eye when it comes to details. From the doorman's jacket, table napkins and servers clothing are well-pressed; bedroom and bathroom layout, real wood cabinets, wood doors, key holder, dining sets are well-thought out. The kitchen, where we had the opportunity to meet and greet Chef Patrick O'Connell was well-kept and organized, almost spotless through the lens of my naked eye. The kitchen is pampered with monastic music, purposely set by the master chef to maintain calmness and focus among his team of chefs. Table orders are managed with time precision to make sure pacing of food courses are delivered on time. No wonder the 6-course dinner was paced perfectly, didn't even notice we've been sitting there for 2.5 hours. We were amazed by how fast and organized the servings were tendered. As to the food, it is something to behold and experience, though the servings were small, the food is oozing with distinctive, unique heavenly taste that your palate is quite delighted. Dessert, the 'seven deadly sins' is a must. Nothing like it, except if you're in Paris. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, french egg benedict and lobster omelette was excellent top off with 4 kinds of juices and apple butter on warm mini croissants. What a way to start your day. Overall the food and stay was excellent. The staff was congenial, always willing to help. This was pure decadence, as others would say, Merci et bon travail!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We could almost exactly picture your experience as you walked us through it and we thank you for being so detailed when describing everything you enjoyed. Your gracious compliments for both our staff and The Inn at Little Washington itself are sincerely appreciated. Thank you for your kind review and vous êtes les bienvenus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Little Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.