We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful (Expensive) Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Little Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Little Washington to your Saves list
The Inn at Little Washington
Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Washington B&B and Inns
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful (Expensive) Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in the Julia Childs room. It was spacious, well-decorated, with a large bathroom. The Inn upstairs has a common area with various cookbooks, a garden where they serve (delicious) afternoon tea with tea sandwiches and pastries--and of course we stayed for their infamous dinner.
The food was delicious and I loved every bite.
I was brought here I was told as a birthday present (and the dinner menu DID have 'happy birthday' printed on it for me), but after dinner and before the dessert course, my husband took me for a walk in their garden and he proposed!!! When we came back in the dessert menu had 'Congratulations' emblazoned across the top. We also got to meet the chef. Service is impeccable--they really try to anticipate your needs and exceed them. Breakfast the next day (we just had the regular continental, didn't pay extra) was also delicious and we went on our way with a full stomach.

Since the getaway was a treat for me, I didn't have to deal with the cost, but since the dinner prices are on the menu, I could tell dinner alone was QUITE expensive. Stay there for the night I'm sure was exorbitant as well. I think its a delightful experience that you should try at least once, but don't make a habit of it just due to cost. I do feel that for the price you're paying already to stay here, there is no need to charge a $20 upgrade for the "hot" breakfast...but the complimentary continental breakfast with the cute "flight of juices" display was certainly sufficient. If you decide to visit, just accept that its going to be expensive and pricey...and then don't dwell on it anymore. That way you can just arrive, and enjoy the hospitality here to its fullest--and don't arrive too late!! You WANT to be here to enjoy their afternoon tea,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was certainly our honor to have the opportunity to be part of such a memorable event in your life. The beautiful gardens at The Inn at Little Washington are a sublime place to create lasting memories and we extend our sincerest congratulations on your happy occasion. We are certainly pleased that your romantic gourmet getaway was so enjoyable and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    40
    16
    19
    4
See reviews for
12
206
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Really! $425 for a miniature room with a shower where you are in big trouble if you drop the soap. A room So tiny they could not put a door on the closet just a drape. Beautifully appointed with great ammenities but seriously lacking in value, in my opinion. Same opinion for the restaurant. No complaints on the food or service except the portions were so small you could not share a bite with your partner. We are very experienced high end travellers, not private jet type though. We are all about value and we did not get our money's worth.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It is truly disappointing to hear that your experience did not exceed your expectations. The unique character of our accommodations, from well-appointed bedrooms to our magnificent suites, provides our guests with an exquisite atmosphere and with luxurious amenities, and we wish you were able to experience more of that. We do appreciate your opinion and hope to welcome you back in the future for the experience you deserve. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Long overdue review as we stayed for 1 night in November 2010 (the Tripadvisor review did not give an option to select that far back so please ignore the April 2012 below).

We stayed at the IALW for the occasion of proposing to my now wife. Every detail was incredible and the service was impeccable. I won't rehash too much from previous reviews but from the arrival cocktail to the tea service in the courtyard (the weather was beautiful for November) we were in awe. As far as the room, we couldn't have been more pleased. We loved sitting on the balcony, the bathroom was huge and the bed super comfortable.
What really impressed me about the service was how they helped and handled my proposal. Towards the end of our dinner (which was divine) they arranged a specially decorated dessert to be presented to my financee. It was a small multi-layed cake decorated like a present that included a gold accented frosting bow. Atop the cake the put the ring around a mini-rosebud and placed that on top of the cake. Finally, they made a wicker dome out of hardened sugar to encase the whole thing. Unfortunately, I didn't get a picture of this but I did get a wonderful wife and exceptional memories. We can't wait to find an excuse to return.

Room Tip: Julia Child Suite (#1 I think) is a corner room with 2 balconies, 1 overlooking the courtyard and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are delighted to hear that your experience was so enjoyable. Enjoying a relaxing beverage in our courtyard while taking in the views of the beautiful, peaceful meadows and striking Blue Ridge Mountains is priceless and we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to do so. It was certainly our pleasure to be a part of a special time with you both and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you for your most gracious review of The Inn at Little Washington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a Monday night in Room 8. The inn is lovely, the staff is friendly & the flowers & details over the top. Our room was snug but beautifully appointed. The only problem was when trying to sleep, 2 motors or compressors cycled on & off all night. On the other side of the wall, or outside, they ruined a night of sound sleeping. The village is a sleepy place & driving so far out into the beautiful countryside, you want to sleep with the window open, or at least expect for it to be quite.
This was not the case. At this price point this is a big misstep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Been putting off a visit to the Inn at Little Washington for years. Finally saw a "special" announcement so we called. Reservations were considerably discounted, so we picked a mid-priced room in the main inn. It was more than we could have imagined. The quiet, rural streets of the little town were charming, and free of the bustle of touristy areas, which this is definitely not. Can't say enough about the hospitality of the entire staff, as well as the wait staff during dinner. This is the kind of place that you should save for a special occasion. No question that everything's expensive, but for a special event, this is exactly what you want. It's out in the rolling green foothills of Virginia, probably a couple hours' drive from DC. Well off the beaten path. Most cell phones don't work here, which is a blessing. If you're a person who counts pennies, and thinks the food portions are too small, and you're thinking of a big fat hamburger and fries somewhere, then the luxury of the Inn at Little Washington will be lost on you. Just savor your hours or days here, and be prepared for something out of Southern Living magazine.

Room Tip: Though the main Inn sits direcly on the main thoroughfare, it may take 15-20 minutes before one car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

we stayed 2 nights in a Jacques Pepin room (suite with fireplace). Yes, the room per night is $1k per night after taxes...but, it is worth it. The dinner at $168 for top notch food really isn't that expensive. You would spend that at many of the top end restaurants. The wine is the least value for the dollar. Do your homework on the wine list. I found a good dozen or so bottles with 90+ points; but, the markups on the high end were the same proportion as the mid-level price point wines...so, the higher price-point wines were not worth the money. You could easily spend as much on the wine as you do for the meal. I brought a couple of nice bottles for the room. That way we could enjoy a really good bottle with some cheese. To really appreciate the multitude of minute details they attend do 24/7 you really need to watch the staff during the breakfast and afternoon tea. A breakfast of juices, pastry, build your own parfait, and jams and jellies is included in the room price...which would be entirely adequate for breakfast...but, you can order off of the menu for a breakfast item. The Eggs Benedict was simply perfect. Never had I had a perfect soft-boiled egg and sauce Bearnaise as I had here. And along with the menu item, they bring out bacon and sausage. The quality of the bacon and home-made sausage, well just awesome! The afternoon tea is a great way to relax after a few hours of visiting local wineries. Attention to detail with a pot of exceptional tea and pastries.

Room Tip: Real quite location for all rooms. I had suite in corner second floor. Real nice...haven't sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We celebrated our 30th anniversary there although we had meant to go there many times, but never found the time.

Beautiful place , rooms, fabulous food. We had a great time on our short stay. We even took a walk out to the garden where produce is grown and saw the sheep and talked to the person caring for the sheep. We walked around the town as well. We felt we had the full experience on our overnight stay and would run out of things to do other than eat if we stayed longer.

So for a honeymoon where you are cocooning or for a gastronomy experience, it is great . The buffet breakfast in the morning was fabulous .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Little Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.