We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
Black Horse Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   8393 Meetze Road, Warrenton, VA 20187   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Warrenton B&B and Inns
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cozy, relaxed, beautiful scenery, warm and welcoming hostess. Quiet, stately bedroom with an inviting, comfortable bed. The bedroom was on the chilly side for a warm evening, just the way we like it. We slept well. The opportunity came up at the last minute to get out of town for my wife and I. The Black Horse Inn provided a place to get away, relax, and forget for a moment the stresses of the week. Excellent restaurant choices in Warrenton provided a memorable dinner. We relaxed and enjoyed the shade and sun on their idyllic grounds prior to having to leave to re-engage and attend to family obligations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
46
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

If you believe you need to spend a great deal of money and long flights to get away, you need to stay at Black Horse Inn first. This inn takes you back in time when hospitality is personable and non-invasive. Guests have full use of the facilities, inside and outside of the main house, and snacks and refreshments anytime during your stay. My husband and I made the decision to stay local for our anniversary and this was the best stay-cation we have ever experienced! Thanks to all the staff and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a weekend get away for our anniversary. Black Horse Inn Bed & Breakfast was an incredible find! The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If you are going to stay there be sure to talk with Stephanie especially for suggestions on activities in the area. Also if you want to make dinner reservations in town, be sure to talk to her for suggestions. We also noticed a higher level of attention at the restaurant when we booked the reservation through Stephanie.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I went the Black Horse Inn as a treat for Valentine’s Day. We were looking for something different and out of the country, away from the rest of the family to have a romantic and quiet time together and enjoy each other’s company.
When we arrived it was breathtaking and our hostess was so polite and helpful. She arranged dinner reservations and anything else we needed . We enjoyed wine and cheese by the fire. Our room was delightful in the style of a beautiful Civil War time.
Now, being from Canada we could not help but feel we had stepped into another era of time.
We were totally overwhelmed by a very large queen sized bed with four posters and a canopy as well. The bathroom had a claw foot tub which added more to our romantic night along with the fireplace which made it feel cozier. Looking out the window there was a wonderful view of the stables and front yard where the horses would graze.
It was the most romantic nights we had enjoyed in a long time and were well pleased with the décor and service . It was almost as if the staff went out of their way to please us in every way.
Further into the evening, there was a cocktail hour, which was nice It was cheese and crackers, some Valentine’s Day sweets along with wine ,waters, and soda. It was delightful and the ambiance was so breath taking.
We awoke and went for breakfast it was hot and good. We had eggs, ham, and fruit along with a coffee.
We were given a special escort around the estate and then served chocolate covered strawberries which were delicious.
We went out and see the rest of the town and while we were site seeing the housekeepers cleaned our room. When we came back and it was spotless it looked as if no- one had been there also smelled very delightful and fresh.
We were very happy and plan to return the following year. Over all everything was perfect. Except next year we will spend more time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fiance' and I stayed here for our "engagement moon" on New Year's Eve, and we absolutely fell in love with this place. The mansion is gorgeous, the history and charm make each room enchanting. With a fireplace in your room, the most comfortable bed and a jacuzzi tub you are sure to have a romantic weekend, and we definitely did! The property and grounds are well maintained. The staff is extremely helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was delicous. We took a tour of the property and ballroom where the wedding receptions are held is phenomenal. We would love to plan a wedding here.. Thank you Lynn & Jimmy for a unforgetable weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thank you! Your staff's hospitality made us feel wonderful. We enjoyed our stay at your establishment and would recommend your place to anyone. The food, the room, and the ambiance was totally amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Black Horse Inn and had a fabulous time. The inn was beautifully decorated and the staff were warm and friendly. The innkeeper took us on a tour of the grounds and we loved visiting the horses. We felt right at home sitting on the porch with some wine and hors d'oeuvres watching the sunset. The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing that we didn’t want to leave. This might have been our first time at the Black Horse Inn, but it definitely won’t be our last!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 8393 Meetze Road, Warrenton, VA 20187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn, Warrenton, Virginia is the ideal escape for business meetings, brainstorming sessions or revitalizing retreats. The natural solitude of this historic, hunt-country estate encourages effective meetings and creative thought. Just 45 minutes from Washington, D.C., this spectacular setting will lead to creative ideas and a clear mind to tackle even the most difficult tasks and problem-solving sessions. Ten rooms with private baths, corporate center for 200. Lunches and dinners upon request. Team-building activities, WiFi & televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Warrenton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.