We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Inn

Save Saved
You added Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   8393 Meetze Road, Warrenton, VA 20187   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Warrenton B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Home sweet home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Black Horse Inn and had a fabulous time. The inn was beautifully decorated and the staff were warm and friendly. The innkeeper took us on a tour of the grounds and we loved visiting the horses. We felt right at home sitting on the porch with some wine and hors d'oeuvres watching the sunset. The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing that we didn’t want to leave. This might have been our first time at the Black Horse Inn, but it definitely won’t be our last!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
46
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff is super nice, they even helped my husband plan my birthday weekend. They suggested dinner places and winaries to attend. They are all so nice, and the place it so lovely. The room was clean and we had out owe fire place, it was just great!

-lots of stink bugs but i think its bc its an older house and its in the medows

Room Tip: Get a fire place in your room if you can opt to. It makes for a much more romantic time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I were gifted a one-night's stay at the Black Horse Inn. After a day full of winery tours we arrived to the Black Horse Inn. We were greeted by the innkeeper and shown our room. I agree with a few of the other reviews that the innkeeper seemed a bit frazzled. She was very nice but just a bit all over the place.

We stayed in the Burgundy Room which was nice but you could hear the rooms around you and every time someone was in the hall (however, we did not see/hear any ghosts!). The room itself was cozy but I felt as though the bathroom could have been updated a bit. Breakfast was good and the server was very sweet.

In a nutshell, the Inn is nice. They do have some small nice touches, but they just don't go above and beyond.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing, romantic and historic environment, look no further -- this is the place! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Black Horse Inn. Our room was just perfect -- we had a corner room in one of the oldest sections of the inn. It was cozy and the working stone fireplace was just an added plus. Stephanie (the inn keeper) was so helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. The breakfasts were delicious and served at the time we requested in the gorgeous dining room. Later in the evening, it was just so relaxing to either retreat to the Library or our room by the fire and pick up a book and read about all the history the Inn and the area has to offer. We will definitely head back to the Black Horse Inn -- it's a keeper!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first stay at The Black Horse Inn and it was superb! The room and decor was beautiful, the bed the most cozy I've ever slept on and the breakfast was delicious. There are so many sitting rooms with fire places, wine and cheese and gorgeous views. The staff were wonderful, especially Stephanie, and hopefully we will be able to take our horses the next time we go. The barn has nice big stalls and the paddocks had nice clean run-in sheds. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I visited the Inn for Valentine's weekend. Our hostess was so pleasant and thoughtful.She arranged dinner reservations and a taxi. We enjoyed wine and cheese by the fire. Our room was delightful and very clean. Breakfast was served w
Hot and on time. We even got invited to the ballroom for a lunch with one of their wedding caters! The cat even gave us a special escort around the estate. It was special Valentine's with fresh made chocolate covered strawberries! Thank you Black Horse Inn we will be back!

Room Tip: All were nice we got a tour of them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have recently stayed at the Black Horse Inn it's a beautiful Civil War Inn. The room I was staying in was something I would say perfect. In the morning we came down for breakfast and sat down at the table and waited for our food to be served, we ate a very nice breakfast. The eggs, sausage, and fruit were very good. The innkeeper was very kind and generous to all the guest. The staff was very polite and helpful. When we went out to town the housekeepers cleaned our room we came back and it was spot less it looked as The first time we entered the room. I really recommend this Inn to all that want a nice relaxing hotel in Virginia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 8393 Meetze Road, Warrenton, VA 20187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn, Warrenton, Virginia is the ideal escape for business meetings, brainstorming sessions or revitalizing retreats. The natural solitude of this historic, hunt-country estate encourages effective meetings and creative thought. Just 45 minutes from Washington, D.C., this spectacular setting will lead to creative ideas and a clear mind to tackle even the most difficult tasks and problem-solving sessions. Ten rooms with private baths, corporate center for 200. Lunches and dinners upon request. Team-building activities, WiFi & televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Warrenton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.