We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Horse Inn

Save Saved
You added Black Horse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   8393 Meetze Road, Warrenton, VA 20187   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Warrenton B&B and Inns
Warrenton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Black Horse Inn in Warrenton was everything I hoped for and much more. The Inn is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are as well. I was amazed at the history of this place and to be able to see trees that have been around for hundreds of years was such an added bonus. All of the rooms have private baths and everything you could ever want. The Inn-keeper is warm, friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. I cannot wait to go back. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful setting. Serenity is the word of the day (at least for my stay). Yet - you are close enough to many attractions if you care to have a bit more action.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell (and I checked out all the rooms) there is not a bad one to be found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
46
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I were married on New Year's Eve and spent the first few days of our marriage, as well as the New Year at this historic and lovely Inn. We headed there from Washington right after our wedding reception and were absolutely delighted with our stay.
For us, the coziness of the fireplace in our room, winter afternoon walks, the charm of the decor and marvelous breakfasts each morning were sublime. We also enjoyed wine and cheese as well as delicious cookies each afternoon. We were seeking a very quiet, private and absolutely non-corporate atmosphere and The Black Horse Inn provided that in every way. The staff there is so personable and professional as well as welcoming. Foremost however, it may be the most special quality of the Inn is its reflection of the engaging and dynamic personality of the owner Lynn. The entire atmosphere of the place is that remarkable
mix of elegance without pretension and luxury that stems from the most classic traditions of caring for guests in a private home of traditional beauty. The Black Horse Inn is a true Virginia treasure and a privilege to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Black Horse in is a fantastic place, i had stayed there with my aunt for a night a few days before christmas and the house was beautifully decorated for christmas. and the house itself is a shining star deep in the heart of hunt country, you feel like you have stepped back in time apon driving through the main gates and seeing the big white house surrounded by gardens and rolling pastures. this is a terrific place to stay and i would recommend it to anyone interested in historic buidings or horses. the staff was very helpful and the owner lynn was just terrific she came strolling into the house in the morning and gave us a warm greeting in full formal hunt attire! it was like something out of gone with the wind. she was late for a fox hunt, but had made a point to come in and thank us for staying at the the Black Horse and told us if there was anything we needed to give her a call. My aunt and i were so touched by this, its so hard to find good customer service anymore but at the black horse inn they know how to treat you not like a guest but like family and that is something truely special. Keep up the good work Lynn!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was a bridesmaid in a wedding this weekend and we had the inn for the weekend. The B&B isn't marked as well as it could be, however, it wasn't extremely difficult to find. The Inn itself was very well kept, the grounds were beautiful and they were very accommodating. The reception hall area was quite large and was again beautiful. Each room has a theme, we stayed in the "Garden Room" which was very cute. We would definitely recommend this to our friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at the Black Horse and attended my niece's wedding there this past weekend, and we took over the Inn. The facility where the wedding reception was held is a short stroll from the Inn itself and is a beautiful venue, with a terrific patio adjoining the main room. The owners and housekeeper could not have been friendlier or more accomodating. I would highly recommend the Black Horse for a family celebration. Thank you for your care and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I were in desperate need of a weekend away from the city, and found the Black Horse Inn online. I am so glad we chose it! Everything about our stay was wonderful- Pam and Joyce were so welcoming (and cook up some amazing breakfasts!) and our room, the Fox and the Grape suite, was clean, cool and lovely. We chose it because of the privacy afforded by the private entrance (its an english basement suite) but also loved the exposed rock walls and in-room kitchen.

We also did quite a bit of exploring in the surrounding towns and found a great lake nearby with canoe rentals, a fantastic restaurant in historic Warrenton- Claire's at the Depot, and had so much fun at all the local wineries!

I would recommend The Black Horse Inn to anyone who is looking for an escape from city life and a little bit of Southern charm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

my wife and i stayed here for our anniversary. we arrived just prior to the check-in time of 4pm and wandered the grounds for a bit before checking in. the check-in process was quite personable. beyond that, all amenities within this incredibly old home function properly, the decor is exactly what you'd expect to find in Virginia's hunt country, and the personnel staffing the place were all quite nice and eager to offer up history lessons on the home's and property's history. candidly, aside from the time we spent sleeping, we were probably only on the property for an additional 2-3 hours, as we spent a good deal of time in the town of warrenton walking/shopping/eating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 8393 Meetze Road, Warrenton, VA 20187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn, Warrenton, Virginia is the ideal escape for business meetings, brainstorming sessions or revitalizing retreats. The natural solitude of this historic, hunt-country estate encourages effective meetings and creative thought. Just 45 minutes from Washington, D.C., this spectacular setting will lead to creative ideas and a clear mind to tackle even the most difficult tasks and problem-solving sessions. Ten rooms with private baths, corporate center for 200. Lunches and dinners upon request. Team-building activities, WiFi & televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Warrenton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.