We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true irish fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMahon's Irish Pub & Restaurant

McMahon's Irish Pub & Restaurant
380 Broadview Avenue, Warrenton, VA
540-347-7200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 78 Restaurants in Warrenton
Price range: $5 - $45
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Bealeton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“true irish fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a true Irish atmophere type restaurant. They have the best rueban and the asortment of Irish drinks go on and on. We stop for lunch on occation and its never crowded. try the fish and chips

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Emmet saved the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I can't rave enough about the warm welcome, great service, and tasty food from McMahon's Irish pub in Warrenton. My fiance and I were in a bind last fall-- we had 80 guests coming to town for our rehearsal dinner in two weeks and our other venue had fallen through!
Emmet, the manager, came to the rescue-- we ate dinner at the restaurant and he took us through the menu, explained all of our options, let us sample the wines, and more. He was so thoughtful and reassuring during our trial dinner that we knew McMahon's was the right place. He continued to stay in touch with us in the days leading up to the wedding, designed a personalized menu for us, and was available at any time we had questions or concerns.
The night of the event was a complete success- our families had a great time, the food was wonderful, and the service was top notch. Thank you, thank you, Emmet and the McMahon's staff!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Burgers are ok, beer selection is good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The burgers were average but the beer selection was good and if you like authentic "black and tan" from the tap, you will like this place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Irish food - but more importantly (and surprising) - good flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Let's face it. Irish food can be a questionable choice -- even in many Irish pubs. This pub has given some thought to its menu and had a nice cross-section of food choices. We sharing dinner plates to get more options: The roast beef dinner (not prime rib dinner); and the fish and chips. Both were excellent. The beef was several hearty slices served over roasted veggies with some gravy. Very impressed with the seasonings, tenderness and flavor of the beef and the richness of the gravy. The waiter confirmed the Roast Beef was NOT leftover Primeribs and cooked specifically for the Roast Beef Dinner. For the fish, I was concerned about it being too greasy. It was a little greasy, BUT, the fish was so excellent and did appear to be hand dipped. Very white and very clean tasting. Fish 'n chips is my go-to meal in Irish restaurants to measure how good the kitchen is. This was a winner. The tartar sauce was hand-made and that really spiked the flavor up several notches. Both dishes were piping hot. Too full for dessert. I would have preferred some additional potato offerings to chose from since I didn't want the fries. My choice of mashed were okay but they didn't exactly go with the fish.

LOCATION and LOGISTICS:
On the northwest side of Warrenton where all the highways (17, 29, 15 and 211) merged and named Lee Highway or Broadview Ave. Travelling west, it's on the right side and sits in front of a motel.. A two-story standalone building, it's easy to spot. Plenty of parking. Inside, on the way to the dining area, it had a nice meeting place for darts and casual dining. The main room is not fancy, but appropriately pub-like. They had a nice fire in a fireplace, and a group at a table near us quietly harmonizing Irish tunes. My guess is they were discussing a future event. They weren't there to entertain.

Recommended by the hotel clerk who eats/drinks at the restaurant.

The manager stopped by to ask about our meal,. The waiter was efficient. Cost $15-20 range for what we had. Has a varied menu with good pricing. Don't think anything was over about $20.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A true traditional Irish place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a party of 15+ and the staff was quick to accomidate. Very friendly and the food ... Yumm!! It was a true reminder of my trip to Ireland. Very delish.

The prices are fairly average, but due to the portions and good taste, money well spent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMahon's Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McMahon's Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMahon's Irish Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.