We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting food, but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Torino

Cafe Torino
388 Waterloo St, Warrenton, VA 20186-3114
540-347-2713
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 75 restaurants in Warrenton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Advance, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tasting food, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had two meals here, both chicken parmesan. Delicious! Only strange thing was that for $9 I expected it to come with pasta. When I opened my to-go container, it was just the chicken breast with a side salad (lettuce with yummy dressing) and some bread. Despite this, I went back the next day and got the same thing, it was that good. Atmosphere is lacking, but it is a small town place, no biggie. Desserts are soooo good, authentic Italian pastries. I did not have any, but they offer gluten free pasta on the menu, which is always very nice! So despite being a little pricey, and missing some pasta, I would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    27
    18
    1
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amory, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cafe Torino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

In town for a wedding and looking for a local place to have lunch. Getting online, Cafe Torino was in the top-5 recommended places to eat. Boy! Am i glad we went! Great food, staff & atmosphere. When visiting the area, it's a place I'll revisit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food. Bland environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Sorta like eating in a small school cafeteria that has great food and friendly service. The proprietor and his family are the staff and they work hard to make your visit enjoyable. Note: if you are a beer drinker, ask the boss to recommend something; he keeps the good stuff in the back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, but service was terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've always like the food there, but the last few times I was at Cafe Torino the couple who owns it was publicly arguing. This affected their attitudes toward me when I ordered my lunch. I wish I could say the service was better.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea F, Owner at Cafe Torino, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Wow...Not sure how to take this because My wife hasn't been here for the past 6 weeks and to my recollection I haven't argue with anybody in a long time....but in any case sorry for the inconvenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Passionate about cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food and Always consistent. They are always busy. Fairly plain interior, great for lunch not dinner (if you are looking for ambiance). Owner is lively with a great sense of humor. Try the various desserts, too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Torino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Torino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.