We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages

Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages
Save Saved
You added Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages to your Saves list
646 Meadow Lane Trail, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxation....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

What a great property! There is truly something for everyone at Meadow Lane and in the surrounding areas. We stayed in the Lodge in a wonderful room, The Steinway. The bed and furnishings were comfortable, the entire property was spotlessly clean, and the continental breakfast each morning was nice. During our stay we spent relaxing hours sitting on the grassy banks of the Jackson River listening to the cool clear water, watching blue herons take flight at the slough nature preserve, exploring the other cottages and historical sites on the property, a private dip in the pool, and sat for hours on the front porch reading and enjoying the summer night while watching fireflies that lit up the trees like Christmas. No cell phones, no T.V. It was peaceful and lovely, and the property is diverse and large enough that most times we were the only ones in sight. Glenn, the owner, was generous with her time, recommendations, humor, and it was very cool to learn the history of the property and her family's connection to it. This is a place for you to spend a wonderful time away with your honey, or a fun holiday with family.
There are a lot of fun things to do in the vicinity too: Farmer's Market in Hot Springs on Saturday, falls within 1/2 hour drive, Lake Moomaw, music at Garth Newell, pizza at Cucci's, sandwiches at Milk Dairy, The Homestead, Warm Springs Baths, Cass Mountain Railroad, the gorge at Goshen pass.
We will be back with our fishing poles!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We discovered Meadow Lane while looking for a Xmas getaway in the mountains where we could take our lab...What a gift! Meadow Lane is a real gem; beautiful surroundings in Bath County Va-- one of the most scenic areas in Virginia.
The River Cabin was perfect - overlooking the Jackson River, a pristine very well known trout fishing river and surrounded by 900 or more acres of sheer beauty. We hiked over snow covered fields, seeing deer out grazing, the fish biting and ducks paddling on the warmer days. Our lab was in heaven and so were we.

The owner, Glenn and her staff are exceptional - friendly, accommodating and obviously love and know the area. Locals naturally!
There is a huge notebook in each cabin with details on hiking, eating, fishing, secret spots nearby...very helpful.

Being Xmas week, we were surprised by a lovely decorated tree in the cabin. The cabin is totally furnished with everything; bed linens, towels (bring extras for the doggies as it will keep the cabin in the great condition we found it) .The kitchen was totally prepared for anyone who wished to cook - from pots to wine glasses to spices, detergents, etc.. You need not bring anything but the actual food you would cook. But, why bother...many charming cafes around; we especially enjoyed" Elliotts", the" Wheehouse", and of course the Homestead Resort is a short six miles away with many dining options. There is a great wine store in Hot Springs with helpful employees; a small market nearby and a great gourmet takeout a few miles away.

I was worried that seven nights would be too many; but we really did NOT want to leave...it was a winter wonderland with snow covered fields (they plow the path) and we just loved waking up each morning see the deer, the birds, the sounds of silence (we live in the city and are not used to silence!) Amazing getaway - just 2 1/2 hrs from Richmond.

Magical, especially in the winter.

We discovered the true meaning of Christmas staying at Meadow Lane and are already planning our spring trip for some fishing, and more hiking! Thanks Glenn for keeping the light on for us!
We miss Meadow Lane and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We have been visitors to Meadow Lane for a number of years. We are glad that a new generation of family is providing the nice experience that we formerly had. Breakfast is awesome. Swiggle, the meadow cottage, is as comfortable as we remembered. Just the loveliest setting!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Spent the week-end in the Granary - one of the outlying cottages. My second visit. I Love this place! Close to Richmond, but a world away. Totally relaxing. The entire Lodge and surrounding cottages are so well maintained. A lovely place to enjoy the beauty that is Virginia. The best part - my husband caught his first fish!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I have lost count of how many times we have stayed at Meadow Lane Lodge. We have stayed in Car Barn, the Granary, River House and the main lodge. We leave tomorrow to stay in Steinway. Each time has been wonderful. Yes, gone are the days of Mrs. Hirsch sitting at the head of breakfast table, being the gracious hostess (and reminding gentlemen to remove their caps). The decor has been updated but the serenity of the surroundings are unchanged. Our last stay was at River House with another couple. We sat on the front porch at dusk, sipping our wine. Fireflies began their show in the meadow leading to the river and to our amazement the entire meadow came alive. Thousands and thousands of fireflies held us spellbound for an hour. It is a memory none of us will ever forget.
If you enjoy peace and quiet (except for the peacock), fly fishing and just plain relaxing you cant go wrong with Meadow Lane Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We travel a great deal both here and abroad. There are very few times when a hotel/inn exceeds our expectations. Meadow Lane Lodge website does not do them justice. Situated on over 1,200 underdeveloped acres, Meadow Lane Lodge proved to be a wonderful getaway. The rooms were very well appointed, large and clean. The breakfast was an added bonus each morning. With plenty of rocking chairs and porches and views, it was easy to relax. The property includes 2 1/2 miles of river front. We took several walks along the path. There is swimming, horseback riding and fishing. Warm Springs is a beautiful location and this inn offered great, great value for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We had a wonderful experience at Meadow Lane. The most impressive part of this inn is the property: acres of gorgeous countryside, hiking trails, and serenity. The inn is decorated in good taste, and the innkeeper is very accommodating and friendly. We came to this area for the Garth Newell Music Festival, which was lovely, and the stay at Meadow Lane really made it perfect.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages

Address: 646 Meadow Lane Trail, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.