We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and charming - excellent value in Hot Springs area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Gristmill Square
Save
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list
124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet and charming - excellent value in Hot Springs area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Inn at Gristmill Square last weekend, after attending an afternoon chamber music concert at Garth Newel. I had checked the reviews here on TripAdvisor before we went, and chose the Rye Suite as a result. We were very happy with our suite of rooms, which included a small living room with desk, sitting area and television, a bedroom with a king-sized bed and spacious closet, and a bathroom with a large dressing area. We have absolutely no complaints.

The Rye Suite is in the Miller's house, one of several separate period buildings which make up the inn complex. With only four suites - two up and two down - in this house, it was cozy and quiet, and only a few steps from the main inn office. We had thought we were the only ones there that night, only to find in the morning that the adjacent room was occupied. We had not heard a thing until their breakfast was delivered mid-morning.

As a light sleeper, I highy recommend the Rye Suite. There is a single window in the bedroom with effective dark wood blinds, and the room is buffered from the corridor by the living room, so it is quiet and feels very private. Both my husband and I were pleased with the continental breakfast that was brought to our room in the morning when we called for it -- croissants, butter, jam, juice and a carafe of decaf coffee for me, hot chocolate for my husband. This was far preferable for us to getting dressed early and going to a communal breakfast room, especially as it turned out to be a rainy morning -- nice for lying-in and getting a late start.

We plan to stay at the Inn again on our next trip to Warm Springs for a concert later this summer. Next time we'll eat at the restaurant as well, which gets very good reviews. We peeked in, and it has a very inviting atmosphere in the old mill building. (This time we went to the Casino at the Homestead for dinner and were again disappointed with what the Homestead has to offer for dining. We won't make that mistake again.)

I would recommend a trip up to Warm Springs in Bath County for anyone who enjoys chamber music: The summer season at Garth Newel has numerous concerts of a consistently high quality in a wonderful converted barn that makes a great warm-weather music venue. Look them up on the web! The little town of Warm Springs is only about a 5 minute drive from the grounds of Garth Newel, and has a lovely old courthouse and several shops, including the Warm Springs Gallery, one of my favorite art galleries in Western Virginia. (They also have a location in Charlottesville.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    29
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
74
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
williamsburg, va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Arrived at our inn after a full day of sightseeing, very ready to relax…and relax we did! Everything was low key and pleasant. The restaurant connected with the inn was a former gristmill, and the rooms were in several adjacent buildings. Ours was a former hardware store, and it faced the former miller’s house. A unique set-up, with each room different…we actually had a suite, with a separate sitting room, which was really nice (the Craven Room). We had dinner in the Waterwheel Restaurant, which was elegant and delicious. And lots of reminders of the mill it once was.

Staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. Only negative was a rather lackluster breakfast, delivered to your room, but adequate to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed at the Inn at Gristmill Square as part of a Christmastime trip, the focus of which was: RELAXATION. The Inn at Gristmill Square was perfect for serving this purpose. We stayed in the Bromley room which was large and well-appointed, with a balcony, fireplace, and high ceilings (the pictures on their website seem to accurately portray the rooms). The real charm of this inn lies in the small, personal touches made by the wonderful staff to ensure their guests' comfort and satisfaction. We loved the breakfast, which was delivered to our room in an adorable basket each morning when we called to ask for it, and included freshly brewed coffee, orange juice, bottles of water, and croissants with tiny jars of jam. The cleaning staff also made sure to bring in new firewood every day and to position the logs so that all we had to do was light it. The restaurant at the hotel is also wonderful, with great food and a decent selection of wines (it can get a bit pricey though, so watch out for that). In the restaurant area, there is a small corner bar that we enjoyed very much. The part-bartender/part-inkeeper Ginger is funny and friendly and we liked talking with the locals about the area. This inn is close to the Jefferson Pools, which are a MUST-SEE if you are in this area....an amazing experience that will leave you feeling like you just spent the last hour in a dream. The Homewood is overrated and not worth its prices, but the small "Main Street" area next to it has some cute restaurants and shops. We also spent two days skiing at Snowshoe Mountain in West Virgina - it was about an hour and half long drive (each way) from Warm Springs, but we didn't mind at all because it really was such stunning scenery along the way. All in all, this is a nice, clean, friendly inn with a personal touch. I would recommend it highly to couples looking to just get away and relax / spend some romantic time together but not to those who want a vibrant nightlife or lots and lots of activities nearby, as this it's located in a fairly sleepy (though gorgeous!) area. We certainly had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Note: We did not stay at the hotel but loved the restaurant for dinner. We stayed at The Homestead this past weekend; after two nights in the formal dining room we were ready to venture outside of the resort for our third night. I found The Waterwheel on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The restaurant itself has a lot of character, the food was spectacular and the service we received from our server (Debbie) was awesome! We will definitely return.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

After disappointing stays at The Homestead, a number of couples booked rooms here for a visit recently. We stayed in the Loft room which was a mistake. The staff arrives around 7:00 am and their conversations in the office beneath are audible in this guest room.
The inn phone rings at all hours and can be heard too. The staff is friendly and dinner in the restaurant was good. A continental breakfast is delivered to the room with coffee, tea, cartons of juice and cold croissants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

On a whim, we booked the "Silo" room at the Inn, it was very spacious, clean and well appointed. While we were just weeks too early to enjoy the fireplace, we did enjoy the jacuzzi. The Warm Springs area is about as quaint as it gets, and a ride through the country is most enjoyable. We stopped in Hot Springs at "Lindsay's Roost", a local diner and enjoyed a snack and beverages while watching college football. Both Hot Springs and Warm Springs can be pretty sleepy, most restaurants not opening until 5pm. We opted for dinner at the Inn's, Waterwheel Restaurant and it was amazing, I had the trout and my husband had the prime rib special. Do not miss the wine cellar. Breakfast was a continential breakfast brought to your door, of pastries and coffee/juice. We also visited the Jefferson Pools, $17pp, an hour, then had lunch at The Homestead, which was a nice treat. A drive around Lake Moomaw and our "free" time had come to an end.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

For several years I have been playing in a VSGA Golf Tournament at The Homestead the last week of July. The Homestead quality and service has been rapidly deteriorating in the past couple of years and the cost of staying there continues to rise. A group of friends decided to try a new place this year for the tournament. The Inn at Gristmill Square was an absolutely wonderful place to stay for a great price! The rooms are availabe in several buildings and offer a variety of options. I stayed in the Cromley room which was beautiful, sunny and comfortable. There are a variety of porches to sit with friends as well as picnic tables and Adirondack chairs under the shade trees. A small but adequate pool is available as well as tennis courts. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If golfers had to leave before breakfast service starting at 7 AM, the breakfast was brought the night before with piping hot coffee in a thermos pot. I had a wonderful massage at the Warm Springs Spa that is located in the Steel House. We talked with one of the gallery owners who recommended both of the Massage Therapists. We went into 2 very nice galleries as well as a gem shop in the town.The owner of The Gallery at Seven Oaks opened the gallery especially for several of us even though it was not her regular opening hours. It is well worth a stop! If you feel that you need central air-conditioning you can arrange a room in the Miller House. The window air-conditioners in our other rooms kept our rooms more comfortable than any of the rooms I've stayed at in The Homestead. The rates of the rooms are very reasonable. I stayed in a room by myself for less than a shared room at The Homestead. The Waterwheel Restaurant was very good. We also ate at the Country Cafe, Sam Snead's Steakhouse, Johns Steak House and ordered pizza from Cucci's one night. I would highly recommend this cute inn to anyone who is visiting the area. We have made our reservations already for next year!

  • Liked — Quiet comfortable setting, friendly staff, good value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: 124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.