We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Inn at Gristmill Square
Save Saved
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list
124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

After disappointing stays at The Homestead, a number of couples booked rooms here for a visit recently. We stayed in the Loft room which was a mistake. The staff arrives around 7:00 am and their conversations in the office beneath are audible in this guest room.
The inn phone rings at all hours and can be heard too. The staff is friendly and dinner in the restaurant was good. A continental breakfast is delivered to the room with coffee, tea, cartons of juice and cold croissants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
72
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

On a whim, we booked the "Silo" room at the Inn, it was very spacious, clean and well appointed. While we were just weeks too early to enjoy the fireplace, we did enjoy the jacuzzi. The Warm Springs area is about as quaint as it gets, and a ride through the country is most enjoyable. We stopped in Hot Springs at "Lindsay's Roost", a local diner and enjoyed a snack and beverages while watching college football. Both Hot Springs and Warm Springs can be pretty sleepy, most restaurants not opening until 5pm. We opted for dinner at the Inn's, Waterwheel Restaurant and it was amazing, I had the trout and my husband had the prime rib special. Do not miss the wine cellar. Breakfast was a continential breakfast brought to your door, of pastries and coffee/juice. We also visited the Jefferson Pools, $17pp, an hour, then had lunch at The Homestead, which was a nice treat. A drive around Lake Moomaw and our "free" time had come to an end.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

For several years I have been playing in a VSGA Golf Tournament at The Homestead the last week of July. The Homestead quality and service has been rapidly deteriorating in the past couple of years and the cost of staying there continues to rise. A group of friends decided to try a new place this year for the tournament. The Inn at Gristmill Square was an absolutely wonderful place to stay for a great price! The rooms are availabe in several buildings and offer a variety of options. I stayed in the Cromley room which was beautiful, sunny and comfortable. There are a variety of porches to sit with friends as well as picnic tables and Adirondack chairs under the shade trees. A small but adequate pool is available as well as tennis courts. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. If golfers had to leave before breakfast service starting at 7 AM, the breakfast was brought the night before with piping hot coffee in a thermos pot. I had a wonderful massage at the Warm Springs Spa that is located in the Steel House. We talked with one of the gallery owners who recommended both of the Massage Therapists. We went into 2 very nice galleries as well as a gem shop in the town.The owner of The Gallery at Seven Oaks opened the gallery especially for several of us even though it was not her regular opening hours. It is well worth a stop! If you feel that you need central air-conditioning you can arrange a room in the Miller House. The window air-conditioners in our other rooms kept our rooms more comfortable than any of the rooms I've stayed at in The Homestead. The rates of the rooms are very reasonable. I stayed in a room by myself for less than a shared room at The Homestead. The Waterwheel Restaurant was very good. We also ate at the Country Cafe, Sam Snead's Steakhouse, Johns Steak House and ordered pizza from Cucci's one night. I would highly recommend this cute inn to anyone who is visiting the area. We have made our reservations already for next year!

  • Liked — Quiet comfortable setting, friendly staff, good value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We drove to Warm Springs for a soak in the fabulous Jefferson Pools (which we loved) and spontaneously decided to spend the night. We ate brunch at the Gristmill restaurant and inquired about staying over at the inn. It was a weeknight and there was plenty of room. We were invited to view all the available rooms; we selected the Rye Suite in Miller House and loved it. Had the entire house to ourselves, so very quiet. Our suite was huge and filled with conveniences like a fridge. The nearby restaurant also has a charming tiny pub area that serves food; we ate dinner there. For breakfast we were told to dial 0 in the morning whenever we wanted it; we did, and a tasty continental breakfast in a basket appeared within minutes. This was really convenient for us. Great price for the room. We didn't have time to enjoy the outdoor pool or tennis courts, but they looked nice. The town is in a beautiful setting. Nearby Hot Springs is a cool place to check out as well.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tifgmu2003
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

This past weekend we stayed at the Inn at Gristmill Square to attend a wedding at the Homestead, about 4 miles away. When we found out the Homestead's basic room was $400+ a night, we decided to look at the bride and groom's list of B&Bs around the Homstead that were more affordable. From the websites, the Gristmill looked the most quaint, so that's how we chose it.

We had Apt #1, which was a 2 level, 2 bedroom, 1.5 bath apartment. It was huge! It sleeps 4, with a king in one bedroom, and 2 twin beds in another. When we first arrived, we checked in at the office and then parked across the street at our building. It is a simple duplex away from the main complex, which is a small cluster of rooms. Our room was $150 a night, which was amazing compared to the Homestead. Our apartment had one of those small, curling staircases that took you up to the 2nd level. Pretty tricky to navigate with luggage, but doable. Very quaint.

Our king bed was very comfortable and the master bedroom is huge. They had plenty of extra towels in the linen closet, which was convenient. There are 2 balconies, which were great for viewing the beautiful fall scenery, especially the little brook that runs right out front. We read on tripadvisor that the furniture is a little outdated, which was true, but who cares?? It felt like a very historic building and it added to the appeal of being in a B&B in the mountains.

Each morning, you can call the front desk and they bring you muffins, coffee and juice to your room! All the way up until noon. Such a nice touch.

What made life especially easy was that the Homestead provided a free shuttle for offsite guests of the wedding, so none of us ever had to drive to the wedding events. I think they do this for anyone coming to and from the Homestead, whether you're staying there or not.

If you're like us and are looking for a B&B around the Homestead - stay here! From what all our friends said about their respective hotels/B&Bs around the area, ours was the nicest.

  • Liked — Breakfast in the morning, location to the Homestead, the size of the room for the price
  • Disliked — Toilet upstairs kept running
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed here last month as we were in town for a wedding. What a mistake!!! We stayed in the bedroom upstairs from the office (I think it was The Loft) and we could hear EVERYTHING from downstairs. When we arrived, we were exhausted as we had just driven 7 hrs and all we wanted to do was lay down and take a nap. No such luck. We were kept up by the constant gibbering downstairs in the office. And we were woken up early (7 or 8 am) by people talking downstairs. It felt like someone was practically in our room.

Not to mention the room itself. The decor was something out of my great grandmother's house and the rug was dirty and stained.

We ended up only staying one night (thank goodness) and spent the next night and the Homestead, which I highly recommend and was well worth the price.

In summary, if you're traveling to this area, save your time (and money) and head to the Homestead. Don't waste your time here!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

Gristmill Inn near Warm Springs is an assemblage of very old buildings with only 17 rooms, along with the restaurant (at the Mill with extant wheel), pub, terrace, and office/store. The varied buildings remain grouped around what is now a courtyard, making it feel like what it is - a very small, old, town center. Several other historic buildings and yards fall away at the charming intersection, lined by two creeks, with wooden walk bridges and many country flower beds. Our room, Jennie Payne, was charming and the real deal - really a suite with a large dressing room, separate toilet, and hall with fridge. (Fans of hotel chains need not apply!) Our room was next to the dreamy , flowered balcony overlooking the country road. Wish we had time/$$$ for the spa treatments; the rooms look marvelous! Lovely continental breakfast delivered to your room at the time you request. Affordable $110 is made up (for them) from at least that for dinner for two!!! (I usually wish I had gotten two appetizers.) Warm Springs has two excellent, tasteful art galleries as well as the not-to-be-missed historic Jefferson Pools. The natural beauty of Virginia makes me wonder why I spend all that money on France!!!

  • Liked — Historic charm, urban design
  • Disliked — Brown carpet - not a big deal!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the back way to/from the Jefferson Pools to see the old town!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: 124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.