We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn at Gristmill Square Warm Springs, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Gristmill Square
Save Saved
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list
124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Beckley, WV
1 review
“The Inn at Gristmill Square Warm Springs, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I just returned from a stay at The Inn at Gristmill Square. My room was the "Jennie Payne" room and was very large with a fireplace. The fireplace was set up so that all you had to do was light a match. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had dinner in the Waterwheel Restaurant which is on site. The food and service were the best. The Inn also has a swimming pool and tennis courts. My favorite part of the weekend was breakfast. It is delivered to your room and the items change daily. The basket had tea, fresh squeezed orange juice, cherry scone and ham & cheese quiche. So nice to enjoy breakfast without having to go out. There is not much to do around town, but if the weather was better it would have been fun to go hiking or fishing. I was very impressed and pleased with everything. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    28
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've stayed here twice over the last 2 years and really enjoyed it. The Inn is in an old Mill from the 1700's. Each room is unique. Our room this past weekend was the "Silo" room. Circular, fireplace. Large bathroom with a 2 person jacuzzi tub. Very nice. Breakfast is delivered by basket in your room each morning and each day different. Fresh, warm pastries, yogurt fruit parfait, fresh orange juice and coffee. The on premise restaurant was also very good. A small menu, but everything excellent with in season ingredients. Kale, carrots, etc were prevalent on the menu. I had a chicken dish served over cassoulet with duck confit. Very rich and delicious. Perfect for a cold fall night.

Room Tip: Check the website for a description of their rooms as each one is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

In town for work. Stayed 3 nights in the Virginia room. The property has several houses. I was in the one across from the restaurant while some of my companions were a few doors down. All of the rooms were warm and inviting. Breakfast is brought to your room at your request in a basket. Home made breads, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. with a different menu each day. The Inn had all of the ammenities of a large chain with the feel of a B&B. The staff is very friendly. If you're ever in the area, I definitely recommend staying at the Inn at Gristmill Square.

Room Tip: The Virginia room has a high bed with steps to get into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for three nights. We weren't too sure what to expect as we had booked purely for location and were very pleasantly surprised at what we found. We stayed in The Quilt Room (in Steele House) over the road from the main hotel reception/restaurant but this was never an issue. We loved the fact that we could have breakfast in our room, especially as The Quilt Room has a large separate lounge. Breakfast was always plentiful - we ended up taking a bun with us to eat whilst we were out! The food in the restaurant was very good, however after staying for three nights we may have exhausted the menu. Especially loved the salad course which was delivered before the main course - I've never seen salad served in such a pretty way before. We weren't the only ones considering the number of people taking photos of their salad before eating it! Liked the wine cellar idea, and loved the cosy little bar which if I recall correctly sits about eight people. Great selection of beers! There are some good hikes in the area and we saw some beautiful countryside and we certainly enjoyed returning to the Inn each evening.

Room Tip: The Quilt Room has a separate lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner upstairs in the Trophy Room, and thank you for your understanding. We appreciate you noting your experience with the local vet for pet boarding. It is a great service they provide, at such an affordable rate. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We chose this location because of its close proximity to the Jefferson Pools and the restaurant menu listed on their website. I have never been more impressed with a location, treatment by staff for our nightly accommodations or a restaurant.
The night we had dinner there the main dining room was reserved by a private party but we were served in an upstairs dining room for in-house guests. THE DUCK IS AMAZING! Choosing your own wine bottle from the cellar is great. Our room had a private patio which we made use of with a couple of cocktails. Also, the "courtyard" on the property has several cozy spots to do the same throughout.
Breakfast was a mere phone call away and shortly after a big basket was delivered to our door. It had wonderful treats and homemade savory pastries. It was a wonderful compliment to our stay.
We were traveling with our dog who we boarded at the vet down the road, as their website suggested. Even that was fantastic, especially priced at $15/ day for an early drop and early pick up.

Fantastic accommodations, service, food and staff!
(GPS on phone spotty but free, easily-accessible WIFI throughout property)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Exquisite experience on the whole. Thoroughly professional service, delicious and well presented food, and a rustic, extremely well stocked wine cellar in which you make your own choice of wine and bring the bottle back to the table. How neat can that be?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you; we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. We do hope that you will give our inn a try sometime. We think you'll find it is a great compliment to the entire Bath County experience. Thank you for visiting the area. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Gristmill over the Labor Day 2013 weekend and we were absolutely impressed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our continental breakfast was brought to our room each morning with coffee and it was delicious each time. They even made changes to what they brought us based on my wife's food allergies with zero grief. We ate dinner twice at their onsite restaurant and it was some of the best food we've ever had. We also had brunch and it was fantastic....possibly the best omlette ever! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu and you'll pay less than at the Homestead. Our room was clean and well decorated and exactly what you'd want in bed and breakfast. Don't waste your money at the overpriced, overrated Homestead.....you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Singapore room. Keep in mind that this room is ground level and next to a small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We love the Singapore room too. It was one of the first to be redecorated. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: 124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.