We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Gristmill Square
P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We chose this location because of its close proximity to the Jefferson Pools and the restaurant menu listed on their website. I have never been more impressed with a location, treatment by staff for our nightly accommodations or a restaurant.
The night we had dinner there the main dining room was reserved by a private party but we were served in an upstairs dining room for in-house guests. THE DUCK IS AMAZING! Choosing your own wine bottle from the cellar is great. Our room had a private patio which we made use of with a couple of cocktails. Also, the "courtyard" on the property has several cozy spots to do the same throughout.
Breakfast was a mere phone call away and shortly after a big basket was delivered to our door. It had wonderful treats and homemade savory pastries. It was a wonderful compliment to our stay.
We were traveling with our dog who we boarded at the vet down the road, as their website suggested. Even that was fantastic, especially priced at $15/ day for an early drop and early pick up.

Fantastic accommodations, service, food and staff!
(GPS on phone spotty but free, easily-accessible WIFI throughout property)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    27
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
67
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Exquisite experience on the whole. Thoroughly professional service, delicious and well presented food, and a rustic, extremely well stocked wine cellar in which you make your own choice of wine and bring the bottle back to the table. How neat can that be?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you; we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. We do hope that you will give our inn a try sometime. We think you'll find it is a great compliment to the entire Bath County experience. Thank you for visiting the area. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Gristmill over the Labor Day 2013 weekend and we were absolutely impressed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our continental breakfast was brought to our room each morning with coffee and it was delicious each time. They even made changes to what they brought us based on my wife's food allergies with zero grief. We ate dinner twice at their onsite restaurant and it was some of the best food we've ever had. We also had brunch and it was fantastic....possibly the best omlette ever! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu and you'll pay less than at the Homestead. Our room was clean and well decorated and exactly what you'd want in bed and breakfast. Don't waste your money at the overpriced, overrated Homestead.....you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Singapore room. Keep in mind that this room is ground level and next to a small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We love the Singapore room too. It was one of the first to be redecorated. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on July 19 while passing through to Chesapeake. My wife and I stayed in the virginia room and my daughter and family were in the board room. We loved every minute of our stay. The rooms were just as I expected fo the age of the buildings but were very well kept. We arrived too late for dinner but found Cuccis Pizzeria just down the road. Breakfast was a true treat. The scones were the best we have had anywhere! Sitting on the upper porch at the Steele house enjoying what had to be fresh squeezed orange juice made us wish we were staying a little longer. I've read some of the past reviews and it seems the new owners are making every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I would highly recommend the Inn at Gristmill Square to anyone. Just make plans to stay more than one night!

Room Tip: For families with kids I would recommend the board room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest feedback and review of the inn. It is very much appreciated as we continually try to grow and improve. We need to hear from guests to know how we are doing. It is with your help that we will grow and be successful. We look forward to seeing you back on a future visit. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gristmill for three nights in July. On balance, we were very pleased with our stay. The Gristmill is a cross between a B&B and small boutique hotel. I describe it as "eclectic" because the properly is a collection of connected buildings, the main portion of which is a "U" shaped area anchored by a turn of the (20th) century gristmill. As one would expect, the buildings that comprise the property are older with all the good things (character) and bad things (window air conditioner, odd smell in our room) that come with age. Still, we were quite comfortable.

A Principle draw for the Gristmill comes from its location (lovely spot in Warm Springs), and the relaxing (read a book), cultural (Garth Newel Music Festival) and recreational (hiking, etc.) activities available in the area. The second draw from the Gristmill is the quality of its restaurant. Simply, GM restaurant is exceptionally good. Indeed, some dishes (for me, the French Onion Soup) are among the best I have ever enjoyed. The wine cellar invites one to linger to the point of missing courses as these are served. The restaurant's very small bar is quite friendly and provided the opportunity to chat with a couple of locals who offered great suggestions on area "see and do".

Recognizing the GM is a bit eclectic and a bit old (both characteristics in good and bad ways), I highly recommend the properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For a recent birthday getaway, my wife and I spent two nights at the inn. A previous recommendation by a friend led us there, and we were not disappointed. The inn is a collection of buildings around a central courtyard with some additional rooms in other buildings nearby. The property is very attractive and appealing to the eye. The rooms are all different with individual themes. We stayed in the Spring Suite which was a spacious two-room area on the ground level with a private enclosed patio beside the babbling mill stream. Breakfast was delivered to the room each morning packed picnic-style in a peach basket with all necessary tableware and cutlery. The fruit was freshly prepared and the orange juice was freshly squeezed and served in an old-fashioned milk bottle carafe. The coffee was hot and tasty. Offerings varied from day to day but included warm ham biscuits, scones, cinnamon-sugar donuts and croissants. The servings were plentiful and more than we could eat. The staff of the inn were helpful in making suggestions about special places to see in the Warm Springs area. I would offer three constructive thoughts about our accommodation: (1) The small green-house window in the front of the suite looks into the sitting room but lacks an interior blind/curtain thereby limiting the privacy of the sitting room. (2) An area of obvious wear in the carpet on the step into the bathroom detracts from the otherwise pleasing aesthetics of the space. (3) The addition of a robe/towel hook in the vicinity of the shower would be a functional benefit. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Gristmill Square and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest feedback and review of the inn. It is very much appreciated as we continually try to grow and improve. We need to hear from guests to know what we are doing, both right and wrong. It is with your help that we will grow and be successful. We have since added a large plant in the window facing the courtyard to assist with privacy. Additionally, a hook has been added next to the shower per your suggestion. We are still working on a carpet alternative to that room, so hopefully next time you return that issue will also be fixed. We look forward to seeing you back on a future visit. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn many times and just returned. This time we stayed up the road, however we enjoyed the BEST meal of our visit at the Gristmill. TERRIFIC food and even better service. Prices about 25% less than Homestead for much better food and service. Well cared for property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us and making us a regular stop during your visits to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list