We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Gristmill Square
P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Cleburne, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on July 19 while passing through to Chesapeake. My wife and I stayed in the virginia room and my daughter and family were in the board room. We loved every minute of our stay. The rooms were just as I expected fo the age of the buildings but were very well kept. We arrived too late for dinner but found Cuccis Pizzeria just down the road. Breakfast was a true treat. The scones were the best we have had anywhere! Sitting on the upper porch at the Steele house enjoying what had to be fresh squeezed orange juice made us wish we were staying a little longer. I've read some of the past reviews and it seems the new owners are making every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I would highly recommend the Inn at Gristmill Square to anyone. Just make plans to stay more than one night!

Room Tip: For families with kids I would recommend the board room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest feedback and review of the inn. It is very much appreciated as we continually try to grow and improve. We need to hear from guests to know how we are doing. It is with your help that we will grow and be successful. We look forward to seeing you back on a future visit. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
68
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gristmill for three nights in July. On balance, we were very pleased with our stay. The Gristmill is a cross between a B&B and small boutique hotel. I describe it as "eclectic" because the properly is a collection of connected buildings, the main portion of which is a "U" shaped area anchored by a turn of the (20th) century gristmill. As one would expect, the buildings that comprise the property are older with all the good things (character) and bad things (window air conditioner, odd smell in our room) that come with age. Still, we were quite comfortable.

A Principle draw for the Gristmill comes from its location (lovely spot in Warm Springs), and the relaxing (read a book), cultural (Garth Newel Music Festival) and recreational (hiking, etc.) activities available in the area. The second draw from the Gristmill is the quality of its restaurant. Simply, GM restaurant is exceptionally good. Indeed, some dishes (for me, the French Onion Soup) are among the best I have ever enjoyed. The wine cellar invites one to linger to the point of missing courses as these are served. The restaurant's very small bar is quite friendly and provided the opportunity to chat with a couple of locals who offered great suggestions on area "see and do".

Recognizing the GM is a bit eclectic and a bit old (both characteristics in good and bad ways), I highly recommend the properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For a recent birthday getaway, my wife and I spent two nights at the inn. A previous recommendation by a friend led us there, and we were not disappointed. The inn is a collection of buildings around a central courtyard with some additional rooms in other buildings nearby. The property is very attractive and appealing to the eye. The rooms are all different with individual themes. We stayed in the Spring Suite which was a spacious two-room area on the ground level with a private enclosed patio beside the babbling mill stream. Breakfast was delivered to the room each morning packed picnic-style in a peach basket with all necessary tableware and cutlery. The fruit was freshly prepared and the orange juice was freshly squeezed and served in an old-fashioned milk bottle carafe. The coffee was hot and tasty. Offerings varied from day to day but included warm ham biscuits, scones, cinnamon-sugar donuts and croissants. The servings were plentiful and more than we could eat. The staff of the inn were helpful in making suggestions about special places to see in the Warm Springs area. I would offer three constructive thoughts about our accommodation: (1) The small green-house window in the front of the suite looks into the sitting room but lacks an interior blind/curtain thereby limiting the privacy of the sitting room. (2) An area of obvious wear in the carpet on the step into the bathroom detracts from the otherwise pleasing aesthetics of the space. (3) The addition of a robe/towel hook in the vicinity of the shower would be a functional benefit. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Gristmill Square and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest feedback and review of the inn. It is very much appreciated as we continually try to grow and improve. We need to hear from guests to know what we are doing, both right and wrong. It is with your help that we will grow and be successful. We have since added a large plant in the window facing the courtyard to assist with privacy. Additionally, a hook has been added next to the shower per your suggestion. We are still working on a carpet alternative to that room, so hopefully next time you return that issue will also be fixed. We look forward to seeing you back on a future visit. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn many times and just returned. This time we stayed up the road, however we enjoyed the BEST meal of our visit at the Gristmill. TERRIFIC food and even better service. Prices about 25% less than Homestead for much better food and service. Well cared for property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us and making us a regular stop during your visits to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Tower Apartment with another couple for 3 nights. It was very spacious, clean and well maintained. The breakfast each morning was delightful. We ate in the courtyard or on our private balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were driving to the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament each day so did not enjoy the restaurant except for delicious desserts one evening. We would highly recommend The Inn at Gristmill Square to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We called the Inn a few days before we were coming to Warm Springs, and luckily were able to get the last available room. I was a little concerned as it was the 'last room', however it was wonderful (and really reasonably priced). We stayed one night in the Wheat Room. Our friends had the Barley Room. They were identical, except the Barley has a little porch, which was a wonderful spot for our morning coffee and breakfast. The service could not have been better. April checked us in and could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. The Inn was the town square and each building was once a business: Hardware store, Miller, Blacksmith, etc. There are cute little seating areas around every corner. The pool is small, but quiet, attractive and adequate. The morning breakfast is really a wonderful touch. We called at 6:45 and our basket arrived by 7. Tiny quiches, a fresh made donut, fruit, juice and coffee. We had a lovely, quick breakfast on the front porch of the Barley Room. I will most definitely return to the charming hotel and will highly recommend to anyone. Don't miss the fabulous restaurant!!!

Room Tip: You can look at the rooms online. Next time we will book earlier and try for a room with a king siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Neslted in the gorgeous countryside, the Inn at Gristmill Square is a truly remarkable place. Very large a spacious rooms, with classic charm, and well-picked decor that fits with the theme. It is nearly impossible not to find complete relaxation while staying in this special place. The dining room absolutely exceeds expectations. Being welcomed at the door by the innkeepers who ensure that every detail is looked after. The food, in a word, delicious. Elegantly prepared, and very reasonably priced. Take a trip down to the wine cellar to pick out a perfect pairing to your meal. Stop in at the quaint little pub for a cozy after dinner drink. Then wake up to a country breakfast basket brought right to your room. We can't wait to return. It is truly worth the trip.

Room Tip: Just relax and put yourself in the hands of the very capable innkeepers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list