We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Gristmill Square
Save
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list
124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Weekday Package
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the Wheat Room for one night as we had a wedding to attend at the Old Dairy Barn. The hotel room was really cold and there was a spot of blood on the white bed spread which kind of grossed me out. For the most part we really liked it. The hotel staff was all very friendly and they brought us coffee, orange juice, and scones to our room in the morning. This was a very nice touch. The grounds are definitely beautiful and we really liked the small pub inside of the restaurant. It was very well decorated and the actual bar was a really cool sliver from a tree trunk.
We arrived at around 3:30 in the afternoon and called to the front desk to ask if there was anywhere on the grounds where we could get some coffee as we were wiped out from driving. They said no, the hotel restaurant wasn't open yet, and we would have to do down the road to a café. This was fine, but it would be great if they put a keurig or something in the office for guests when they arrive. Overall it was a really nice stay and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your honest feedback and review of the inn. It is very much appreciated as we continually try to grow and improve. We need to hear from guests to know what we are doing, both right and wrong. It is with your help that we will grow and be successful. We look forward to seeing you back on a future visit. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    29
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
74
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I just spent our 10th wedding anniversary at the Inn at Grist Mill and we could not
have picked a better place! We had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before and were a little
skeptic, but let me tell you this place is a little slice of Heaven! The owners and staff go out of
their way to make sure your every need is met and make you feel like family the entire stay. We
stayed in the "Loft" room which is in the top of the office. This room is the only room in this space so you have total privacy in the evenings. There are a flight of steps to get to the room but if you have no issues with that then we totally recommend it. The food was some of the best we've ever had and people were coming from the Homestead to eat here! My wife has a gluten
allergy and they made sure her breakfast and dinner was especially prepared. The spa is top
notch as well so be sure to get your special someone a treatment! We are in our 40's and still
like to have a good time so we were a little worried about being out of place but we would go
back in a minute and plan to do so. Beautiful place with wonderful people and all your needs
met right there...you can't ask for much more then that! Enjoy your stay!!!!!!

Room Tip: The "Loft Room" is a winner. Have steps to climb but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. The Loft is great and often overlooked. We are so glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. We hope to have you back for another visit. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our two visits to the Inn at Gristmill Square have been perfect. Charming, romantic, quiet, full of character. Photos of rooms on website do not do them justice. The Inn offers an escape to tranquility in the mountains with all the desired perks (restaurant, spa). The restaurant is excellent-better food than the nearby HOmestead resort and breakfast delivered to the room caps off the stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We enjoyed having you with us and take great pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the inn and in the restaurant. We hope that you will be back again sometime. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled upon this wonderful inn. I am not a big fan of B&B inns. I usually stay at name brand hotels. My party of four were on a dual sport motorcycle trip which involved riding off pavement motorcycles on the dirt backroads and trails of VA. We emerged from the woods in bad weather and this inn was the only place within 20 miles that came up when we looked for lodging on our GPS. Even in our disheveled state, the innkeeper welcomed us and gave us great accommodations in this fantasticly historical gristmill. While we did not eat at the associated restaurant, everyone we talked with who did eat there said it was great. In the morning, the innkeepers delivered a fantastic continental breakfast to our rooms. I will definately bring my wife back to this place for a romantic weekend in the near future. This place has charm and character....and a great staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for such a kind review. It was very thoughtful of you to sit down and take the time to share your experiences and opinions. We greatly appreciate feedback of all kinds and always enjoy reading about the wonderful experiences our guests have. We look forward to welcoming you back with your wife. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had the Barley room with a porch and dining room sized bathroom!
The accommodations are luxurious, the setting is relaxing, the staff are marvelous!!
I suppose there could be noise from the street that runs by the Barley room on the porch side but the bed is so comfortable you'll sleep so well you won't notice.
A continental breakfast is delivered to your room when you call - the morning we were there they had little sweet rolls with bacon baked into them and pints of yogurt w/fresh blueberries and granola, a carafe of oj and a thermos of coffee...another thermos of coffee was cheerfully delivered when I called for more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in the Barley room. We think it is a great space with the large front porch for sitting and watch the town buzz by. Should your travels ever find you back in Bath county we hope that we will once again have the pleasure of your company. All the best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicktown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great place for a weekend gateway. The rooms re spacious ,clean and romantic. You have the Jefferson pools, natural warmsprings only a mile away. Prices are about normal . They will bring a continental breakfast to your room each morning. Adjacent to the rooms is the Waterwheel restaurant, the food is excellent, though little high priced, but worth it for a special weekend. Wine cellar where you may choose your wine if you wish. Enjoyed my weekend very much.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Steele house in quilt room. Beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent visit to the inn. We hope that your travels find you in our area again. If there is anything we can do to make a future stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to ask. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just returned from a three-night stay at Gristmill Square. It was truly lovely. We stayed in The Tower which had two bathrooms (two toilets, two sinks, one with tub/shower). The kitchen was adequate with a small sink, dorm-size frig and entrance to a nice deck. The living room was perfect for us; we were 4 women from as close as Lexington, VA and as far away as Charleston, SC. There was a nice fireplace which was supplied daily with fire-starting supplies and firewood. There was a large screen TV but we didn't get around to turning it on. One surprising feature is the heated tile floor in the living room. The restaurant ambiance is very nice with candles, tablecloths, no electronics allowed and good food. There's a small bar area which we meant to use but never got around to. My favorite part was that you could have your breakfast delivered. Our breakfast was a large portion of vanilla yogurt with cereal and blueberries, a sweet pastry and a savory pastry, freshly-squeezed OJ, coffee and/or tea all delivered in a basket. There were also chocolate chip cookies for us in our 'rooms' when we arrived. We had 4" of snow and the staff obligingly came out and swept the snow off my car (I live in SC and have NO snow equipment). Views were pleasing from all our windows.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Ladies, thank you for such a nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Tower. It really seemed like the perfect room for you. We hope that if you plan another getaway you will opt to meet here again. Next time please bring some SC sunshine, we could have used it in March when it seemed to snow here every other day. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: 124 Old Mill Road, P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.