We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing stay in this quaint inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Gristmill Square
P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay in this quaint inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I’ve stayed at the Inn at Gristmill Square on several occasions and it is starting to become one of my favorite places to get away from it all. The inn is nestled in a valley and after a beautiful scenic drive in the mountains (I’ve joked that these mountains remained me of Costa Rica – windy but beautiful) to get to Warm Springs, you’ll arrive in a quaint village of several buildings that are all part of the inn.

The new owners seem to be stepping up their game every time I come back. It was already one of my favorite places when the previous owners own the Gristmill. However, nothing can beat continuous improvement where possible.

For the breakfast that is delivered to your room, there was also improvement and change. Last February when I stayed at the inn, we were served chocolate croissants and yogurt/granola in a wine glass – that was enough to satisfy and impress me. During a summer stay, we were served blueberry scones and yogurt/granola in mason jars, which was pretty adorable. For this stay, breakfast changed every day. The first morning, we were served biscuits (one of my favorite treats every time I cross south of the Mason-Dixon line) with Virginia ham with honey and orange marmalade – this in itself was divine! Accompanying this were some of the best blueberry scones that I’ve ever had and yogurt with granola and blueberries. I do admit, we were hoping to get the same breakfast the next day since that breakfast was nothing short of spectacular, but I think that the breakfast changed possibly due to a previous Tripadvisor complaint that the breakfast was the same – can’t please everyone. With that said, the breakfast for the next couple of days was also good and since it was different, we got to experience different foods (cinnamon roll, cheese and ham croissant, egg soufflé, fresh squeezed o.j. and fresh coffee).

Dinner at the Waterwheel restaurant was also great. Although, we ate too much lunch to finish everything, so we packed up a lot of it, including a more than half-full bottle of wine and dessert with ice cream to go. We ended up eating the dessert shortly after and saved the rest for the next day’s dinner at home, which was a nice treat after a long drive back home.

Some things to do while at the Gristmill:
1. Hiking at Hidden Valley trails (very close to the Inn and you get to see where Somersby was filmed). There are plenty of other trails too.
2. Explore Hot Springs (has some restaurants and shops – The Homestead also has shops)
3. Soak in the Jefferson pools (This is a must. Several Presidents have soaked in this pool, including Jefferson and Madison, and we were told that the structure was the original structure from the 1700s)
4. Take a scenic drive along route 39.
5. Visit the Garth Newel center for music. The staff and supporters there are very nice and welcoming and the scenery is breathtaking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for a review that made us smile ear to ear when reading! We have stepped up breakfast a bit and we are glad you noticed. Since we took over, breakfast was one of our biggest struggles. What to do? How to do it? Well we finally found, what we hope is, the right mix of items to please everyone, yes we are going to attempt that. Reading about your enjoyment of breakfast just confirms that what we are doing is a step in the right direction. We hope that you will get away to our area again and stay with us on future occasions. If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to ask. Kind Regards, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    28
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
69
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are looking forward to a relaxing stay at a comfortable, cozy Inn this is the right place. We stayed Saturday Feb. 2 in the Bromley room. The room was preheated ahead of time. It was extremely clean. The staff was great as well. It was snowing when we arrived so we decided to ask the front desk for reservations at the Water Wheel restaurant on the property. The meal was absolutely wonderful as was our server. Our dinner was superb and the desserts were fabulous. We had high expectations for the breakfast next morning. It was touted as the breakfast in bed Inn. You have to call and they bring it right to your room. I must say it was very, very quick. It arrived in a quaint basket. Inside the basket was 2 mason jars with what was a stone cold yogurt, cereal and fruited pie topping combo. It was complemented by 2 chocolate chip scones. The scones proved to be stone cold as well and as dry as an Arizona desert in late August. They were terrible! This breakfast was the “breakfast you would not want to get out of bed for”. We drank the coffee and I had tea. The only “black “ tea they had was Earl Grey. Earl Grey is a fine sipping tea but it is a not great with food. The bergamot overs take other favors. Please stock a good black tea.
At check out, I took the scones down and let them know how bad it was. I was told the house keeping staff was in charge of the morning breakfasts. I immediately knew exactly why the breakfast was so dismal. They did ask if they could get us something else. I declined because we were all packed and leaving to go home. I have to say that the breakfast is the reason why I can only give the Inn a grade B minus when otherwise it would have been an A plus. We would look forward to going back if they improve the breakfast making it as great as the rest of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bromley it has a wood burning fireplace and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Again we apologize that our continental breakfast was not up to par for you. After we spoke I immediately went to the kitchen to discuss breakfast with our chef (who carefully plans out each breakfast and leaves instructions for our very competent housekeepers to follow when preparing breakfast each morning). A room that checked out after you raved about breakfast and stated they were so impressed since it is advertised as a mere continental. We hope that your breakfast experience was just a fluke since I got no other complaints or issues. We are certainly sorry about that. We do hope that you will return and enjoy breakfast as our other guests do. As for tea, we do just carry a limited variety of teas. Our offerings include, English breakfast, earl grey, green, mint, and chamomile. We are open to other suggestion for a breakfast tea that we might not have in stock. Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent a delightful long weekend at the Gristmill Inn this month - January. I can only imagine how beautiful the area is in spring/summer/fall. I enjoyed everything about my stay there - the warm, cozy rooms with each room having it's own private bathroom, tv and wifi. The food at the restaurant was excellent and I loved the breakfast delivered to the room (something different each day). The owners have done a wonderful job with the inn and they were on site attending to all the details that make a stay there so very pleasant. I will definitely return if I get the opportunity.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate your feedback. It is great to learn that you enjoyed your experience and hope to return soon. We are very delighted to know that you loved your breakfast and dinner. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future! Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on a cold evening in January 2012 and had a wonderful time! We had stayed here several years ago, and encountered some issues, however, I believe the Inn is under new ownership and we've seen marked improvements in cleanliness and friendliness of staff. We rented a room in the Miller House and everything was spotless. The bathroom was huge and we had the place to ourselves. The bed was comfortable and everything was very peaceful and quiet during the night. We had dinner at the Waterwheel restaurant and had a lovely meal by candlelight. The food was so good that we decided to have brunch in the restaurant the next morning (brunch is only served on Sundays), otherwise, a basket of goodies will be delivered to your room in the mornings, along with coffee and juice. We hope to return in the summer so we can sit by the pool and enjoy the place during the warmer months.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are pleased to know that you didn't encounter any of the issues you did on your previous stay. It will be nice to have you back in the warmer months. Spring and summer are both wonderful seasons to visit the inn, and the pool is definitely a nice summer amenity. If we can assist you with a future stay please let us know. Kind Regards, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A group of old friends, including me, met for a long cold winter weekend in Bath County at the Gristmil. We had an entire house on the property to ourselves, the Steele House, complete with living room, fireplaces, and beautiful bedrooms. It felt very much like being at home which made the Inn experience so nice. We had amazing dinners in the candlelit restuarant, complete with a true wine cellar. Breakfast served to the rooms in baskets in the morning. Wonderful place!

Room Tip: every room is unique and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent girlfriend's getaway. Having the entire Steele House to yourselves was perfect and gave you the space to spread out, yet gather together comfortably. It seemed like you all had a perfect weekend. We hope that you will consider visiting the inn again sometime. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After staying at the Homestead for a few days we needed to stay an extra night to avoid a snowstorm. Luckily there was room at the Inn. :) We stayed there with our two children in the two bedroom apartment. It was incredibly spacious and so comfortable. We loved the fact that the wood was already placed in the fireplace and just needed to be lit for a cozy fire. The heated floors in the living room were awesome on a cold morning. We had already been to the restaurant earlier in the week so knew we'd get fantastic service and great food. He and I walked over while the kids were finishing up a movie in the room. We had some wine and appetizers and were joined by the kids right when the main courses arrived. So perfect. We were impressed by the food, service, and prices. We loved the delivered breakfast - plenty of food, very tasty, and so quaint! Our room was a bit musty when we first arrived and yes, the decor needs updating but for the price, space, location, and homeyness, we can easily overlook those details. If we go back to Hot Springs for skiing, fishing, or other outdoor experiences, it's likely we'll be back to the Inn!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad that you opted to stay another night in the area and chose our inn. It was nice to meet you and your family. We are glad you enjoyed the Tower Apt even though some of the furnishings are a bit out of date. We upgraded the living room furniture recently, but still need to tackle the beds and dressers in the two bedrooms. At least everything is comfortable, even if the furniture is vintage. We hope that you and your family will return to the inn one day. Best, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The inn is a collection of historic buildings around a mill with water wheel over a warm water creek. The restaurant and bar have great atmosphere and good food. We rented 3 of 4 bedrooms in one old house...very homey. The pool behind it was kept warm. It's in a beautiful area for motorcycle ride.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
MissAgain, thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. You must have visited us over the summer when the pool was open. We are glad to hear that your group had a nice time in the Steele House. Both and Steele and Miller Houses are great for groups who want their rooms clustered together. We hope that if you are in the area again you stop by and see us. Happy Holidays, Kate and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list