We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended couples getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Gristmill Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Gristmill Square
P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended couples getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay here in the "Loft" room. Our room was spacious (although I believe it was one of the smaller rooms) with a nice king sized bed, and comfy linens. The inn itself is very charming and historic, comprised of several old buildings in a square configuration. The WiFi, satellite TV and small in room fridge were all nice modern amenities. Everything was impeccably clean and the furnishings were antique. The breakfast was delicious and I love how it was delivered to your room upon your request in a cute picnic basket. There is plenty to do and see nearby. We spent our days exploring the surrounding countryside, enjoying fine dining, and taking walks around Warm Springs and Hot Springs (right up the road). Overall affordable, very comfortable, feels like a much more expensive Inn! Book your next getaway with your sweetheart here for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in the Loft. It is one of my favorite rooms too. We hope to see you again soon. Best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
68
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed in Croft Room in Steelehouse. Room was well appointed with classic contemporary furnishings and soft, warm colors. The service was friendly and welcoming, yet professional. (The new owners advised they had previously worked many years at both the Greenbriar and Homestead). Classic Virginia countryside motif, the owners provide numerous seating nooks at strategic areas on the grounds to enjoy a bottle of wine from the cellar, or the delicious breakfast basket in order to enjoy the babbling stream and surrounding scenery. The inground pool has recently been refurbished and is unfortunately unheated. However, it receives very little use and to have a pool exclusively to one's self, being unheated is insignificant. We asked for breakfast delivery around 9:30 am, and it was delivered at that exact time. We were so satisfied with our stay that we immediately booked on checkout to return for Thanksgiving and have shared our experiences with numerous people. Would I return? Absolutely! I would live there, if they would let me!

Room Tip: Silo room has jacuzzi, Croft room has real wood burning fireplace opening in October in which they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable, charming small inn with most modern conveniences in a lovely, bucolic hamlet. We spent the night and didn't dine there although breakfast was more than adequate with lots of good coffee, scones and granola/yogurt served in a mason jar.Quite reasonably priced, too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in the Rye Room for two nights. It provided a separate living area from the bedroom. We appreciated the extra space. The room was appointed with dated furnishings, but this added to its charm. The room had central air conditioning although we had some unusually cool nights in August. The continental breakfast was sent to our room after calling the front desk in the morning. The food included ample hot drinks, OJ and delicious homemade blueberry scones as well as yogurt with granola. It was served in a large, delightful basket by a woman with the most cheerful personality. The food and her tone were great beginnings to our days filled with sight-seeing. We would like to return here during the autumn season where we can enjoy the aforementioned as well as breathtaking views of the beautiful wooded surroundings.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the rear of the Inn. Road noise in the front may hinder sound sleep if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked this based on the online reviews and am delighted to say we were not disappointed. Travelling as a couple with 2 friends we found they have a Tower Apt with a double and a twin which was perfect and meant we could socialise together in the lounge as well as the onsite restaurant/bar. Upon arrival we checked in at the restaurant and were shown to our apartment by the owner (who was very hands on through out our stay) who showed us the Tower's facilities and then headed back to the Waterwheel Restaurant for dinner. It's lovely inside, very romantic setting, candles on the tables, beautifully laid tables and good service. The steak was cooked exactly to our requests and the desserts were yummy. There is a great wine choice and a cellar you take a look in. There is small bar area - The Simon Kenton pub with additional seatig outside in the courtyard. You can also take your drinks back to your rooms. The food is quite expensive and you would need to consider this if staying multiple nights but the apartment had a fridge and microwave and toaster and we ate there the second night after a few drinks in the bar. the grounds are very well looked after with a lovely courtyard. The tennis court and swimming are just over the road from the main house as are some of the accommodations.
The Tower Apartment itself, aside from the 2 bedrooms had 2 bathrooms (1 with shower), the lounge and kitchen, with access to the outside balcony. The bedrooms have a very comfy country look with soft chairs and pillows and nice decor. The bedrooms and lounge had ac units. The property is navigable for people with disabilities.
The Jefferson pools are just a handful of minutes away and so is Hot Springs, where it seemed everyone knew this property and it's lovely owners.
Would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nestled in a scenic and historic area of Virginia, providing you with many opportunities of adventure. We reservered a room (Bromley Room) for a getaway to a part of Virginia, we had never adventured to before. Our mini vacation was graced by rain and storms creating a muggy atmosphere for our adventure. No worries, the trip was filled with great memories, and the Gristmill Square Inn was a great find. Our room was a large King suite with a fireplace and a small balcony overlooking a view of the street and the Miller's House. Just across from our room, the Waterwheel Restaurant & Pub proved to be another pleasant part of our getaway. The pool, tennis courts, and a spa grace the property for your relaxation. Enjoy a morning basket of fresh baked pastries, and jar of fruit and yogurt, along with juice, coffee/tea delivered to your room. Loved it ...will be back for more, Bravo to the Gristmill Square Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It's a classic little bed and breakfast, but with a local pool across the road one can use (and virtually deserted 24/7), and a surprisingly lavish restaurant next door. The room was cosy, all carpeted floor and very low ceilings - I appreciate could be an inconvenience for some - but if you're not freakishly tall you can't help but love it. Wifi too! The staff are all a family and very friendly and eager to help. The restaurant continues the homely feel of the accommodation, everyone is friendly and create a great atmosphere. The food is surprisingly good and there's something there for everyone. A very happy place with little to complain about, it really helps you enjoy whatever you're doing in that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: None to report.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: P.O. Box 359, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Gristmill Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Gristmill Square to your Saves list