We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jefferson Pool helps with skin problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Pools

Jefferson Pools
7696 Sam Snead Highway, The Homestead, Warm Springs, VA 24445
540-839-5346
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers
Attraction Details
Fryeburg, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jefferson Pool helps with skin problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My worst complaint about Jefferson Pool is that the hours of 12 noon to 5 pm are too short.

One time several years ago, I just drove on past here because it was closed. Some people have skin problems that are making them frantic and they really need this place that heals them to be open at night and early morning hours.

The next thing I noticed was that the walls really need washing and some fresh paint.

The water comes up to your neck and the rocks on the floor of the pool really give it a nice atmosphere.

After 2pm, family hours are over and no men are allowed into the woman's pool and no woman are allowed in the mens' pool and it feels especially safe.

I filled up a gallon bottle with water to take back to my hotel room and this helped me when my eczema came back hours later. Two hour-long stays in this pool were enough to get rid of my skin problems for a while and at this time, my skin is still improved. I also filled up a jug of water to take home with me and this is still helping with the skin problems remaining.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Taking the Waters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is an amazing experience of relaxation of both body and spirit. The day we went was cold, with a few snow flurries, which made the warm spring soak all the more wonderful. The building which surrounds the pool is in pretty bad shape, but it made me feel connected to the long history of the place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Don't let the delapidated building fool you!! A fabulous relaxing experience!! Wished that I lived really close, would go often!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting yet dilapidated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Jefferson Pools should be a fantastic destination, however, it's dilapidated condition is deplorable. This is a prime example of historic associations and preservation societies doing more harm than good. My understanding is that these groups have quarreled for decades and prohibited any improvements from being made to the historic buildings. I agree that the buildings historic character should be kept intact. However, they should be made safe, comfortable and fully functional.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have visited The Homestead many times, but have never given much thought to "taking the waters" at the historic Jefferson Pools. When we visited in Hot Springs recently we decided to take the plunge and are so glad we did. Despite the dilapidated condition of the men's and women's bathhouses, the pools were a wonderful experience. Soaking in the 98 degree, crystal clear spring water was soothing. Thomas Jefferson was on to something when he came here. We really hope that the Omni will do what is necessary to restore this important historic site.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Pools also viewed

 
Hot Springs, VA
Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Jefferson Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.