We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but goodie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Pools

Jefferson Pools
7696 Sam Snead Highway, The Homestead, Warm Springs, VA 24445
540-839-5346
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Don't let the delapidated building fool you!! A fabulous relaxing experience!! Wished that I lived really close, would go often!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    60
    25
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting yet dilapidated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Jefferson Pools should be a fantastic destination, however, it's dilapidated condition is deplorable. This is a prime example of historic associations and preservation societies doing more harm than good. My understanding is that these groups have quarreled for decades and prohibited any improvements from being made to the historic buildings. I agree that the buildings historic character should be kept intact. However, they should be made safe, comfortable and fully functional.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have visited The Homestead many times, but have never given much thought to "taking the waters" at the historic Jefferson Pools. When we visited in Hot Springs recently we decided to take the plunge and are so glad we did. Despite the dilapidated condition of the men's and women's bathhouses, the pools were a wonderful experience. Soaking in the 98 degree, crystal clear spring water was soothing. Thomas Jefferson was on to something when he came here. We really hope that the Omni will do what is necessary to restore this important historic site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmac006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jefferson pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A nice place to relax in the warm water. Call before visiting. They have funny hours and sometimes it's adults only nude bathing.

A great way to end a day.... or begin an evening !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Marvelous Trip Back In Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am lucky enough to have found this delightful place through a Google search and am thankful I was able to visit. It felt like a historical journey to the heyday of "taking the waters" in the 1920s and 1930s. This isn't your high end spa for nails and facials but a relaxing and rejuvenating time to heal your body. I hope it never changes and I look forward to the day I get to return.
This place is located in a gorgeous geographical setting (we also stayed at The Inn at Gristmill Square) and it was truly the most peaceful vacation I've had. My phone GPS service was spotty so bring a map!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank webeckop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Pools also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing