We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but goodie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Pools

Jefferson Pools
7696 Sam Snead Highway, The Homestead, Warm Springs, VA 24445
540-839-5346
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers
Attraction Details
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Don't let the delapidated building fool you!! A fabulous relaxing experience!! Wished that I lived really close, would go often!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting yet dilapidated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Jefferson Pools should be a fantastic destination, however, it's dilapidated condition is deplorable. This is a prime example of historic associations and preservation societies doing more harm than good. My understanding is that these groups have quarreled for decades and prohibited any improvements from being made to the historic buildings. I agree that the buildings historic character should be kept intact. However, they should be made safe, comfortable and fully functional.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have visited The Homestead many times, but have never given much thought to "taking the waters" at the historic Jefferson Pools. When we visited in Hot Springs recently we decided to take the plunge and are so glad we did. Despite the dilapidated condition of the men's and women's bathhouses, the pools were a wonderful experience. Soaking in the 98 degree, crystal clear spring water was soothing. Thomas Jefferson was on to something when he came here. We really hope that the Omni will do what is necessary to restore this important historic site.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jefferson pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A nice place to relax in the warm water. Call before visiting. They have funny hours and sometimes it's adults only nude bathing.

A great way to end a day.... or begin an evening !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Marvelous Trip Back In Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am lucky enough to have found this delightful place through a Google search and am thankful I was able to visit. It felt like a historical journey to the heyday of "taking the waters" in the 1920s and 1930s. This isn't your high end spa for nails and facials but a relaxing and rejuvenating time to heal your body. I hope it never changes and I look forward to the day I get to return.
This place is located in a gorgeous geographical setting (we also stayed at The Inn at Gristmill Square) and it was truly the most peaceful vacation I've had. My phone GPS service was spotty so bring a map!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Pools also viewed

 
Hot Springs, VA
Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Jefferson Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jefferson Pools to your Saves list