We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of the few options in Bath County, this is one of the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterwheel Restaurant

Waterwheel Restaurant
124 Old Mill Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540-839-2231
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Of the few options in Bath County, this is one of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went here for dinner earlier in the month. If you are in the area and looking to treat yourself to a nice night out, consider the Waterwheel. While it is on the pricey side, I thought we got what we paid for in terms of food, service and ambience. If you have an interest in wines, they have a cellar they encourage you to visit and if you wish purchase a bottle for dinner. My sense was that most bottles were in the $40 to $80 range. The service was excellent. Our server was professional and helpful and we received our orders in good time. As far as the food is concerned, my personal experience was it was well prepared and well thought out. The menu is not extensive but is interesting. I got the duck breast and found it to be flavorful, well cooked and interesting in terms of its flavor profile. If you are looking for fine dining beyond the Homestead, this would be an excellent option. We were told by a person not associated with the Waterwheel, that they require reservations. Not sure if that is true, but you may want to make one or at least call in advance of your visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    42
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Onion soup, salad,ambience is great. My crab cake receipt included mustard, which I did not like. My wife wanted her trout cooked well, she had to send it back. One impressive thing- I wanted some pesto, which they did not have. The chef made up some and brought it out. Class

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very surprising ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great food! In my top five restaurants of all time. Wait my top three. The wife loved it as well so I know it was good! She is very picky and hard to please.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well worth scheduling into your drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed our second visit to the Waterwheel Restaurant at the Inn at Gristmill Square, Warm Springs, VA, as much as we did our first. The menu is varied and engaging, the food masterfully prepared and nicely plated, and well served at the table. The owners, Kate & John, are bright and energetic, applying their credentialed experience to provide memorable and relaxed dining. The Inn at Grist Mill is a real jewel, worth putting on your driving agenda.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“excellent, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose this restaurant over dinner at The Homestead and are so happy we did. We only have good things to say. Wait staff and hostess were friendly, helpful. Very nice, picture perfect salad. The trout entrée was first class, as were the scallops. Unique, quaint building. Overall a very pleasant evening. Recommend reservations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterwheel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.