We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprising ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterwheel Restaurant

Waterwheel Restaurant
124 Old Mill Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540-839-2231
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very surprising ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great food! In my top five restaurants of all time. Wait my top three. The wife loved it as well so I know it was good! She is very picky and hard to please.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    36
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well worth scheduling into your drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed our second visit to the Waterwheel Restaurant at the Inn at Gristmill Square, Warm Springs, VA, as much as we did our first. The menu is varied and engaging, the food masterfully prepared and nicely plated, and well served at the table. The owners, Kate & John, are bright and energetic, applying their credentialed experience to provide memorable and relaxed dining. The Inn at Grist Mill is a real jewel, worth putting on your driving agenda.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“excellent, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose this restaurant over dinner at The Homestead and are so happy we did. We only have good things to say. Wait staff and hostess were friendly, helpful. Very nice, picture perfect salad. The trout entrée was first class, as were the scallops. Unique, quaint building. Overall a very pleasant evening. Recommend reservations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as the Homestead restaurants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food at the Waterwheel (tiny restaurant in the Inn at Gristmill Square) is fresh and delicious. Service is wonderful. Even though we stayed at the Homestead, we made sure to eat at the Waterwheel!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent two nights at the Inn at Gristmill Square and so happy we chose to have dinner here one of those evenings. Absolutely wonderful. Our party of four experienced the ribeye, scallops and filet. We were all so pleased. Wonderful atmosphere also.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterwheel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.