We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth scheduling into your drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterwheel Restaurant

Waterwheel Restaurant
124 Old Mill Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540-839-2231
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well worth scheduling into your drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We enjoyed our second visit to the Waterwheel Restaurant at the Inn at Gristmill Square, Warm Springs, VA, as much as we did our first. The menu is varied and engaging, the food masterfully prepared and nicely plated, and well served at the table. The owners, Kate & John, are bright and energetic, applying their credentialed experience to provide memorable and relaxed dining. The Inn at Grist Mill is a real jewel, worth putting on your driving agenda.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    43
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose this restaurant over dinner at The Homestead and are so happy we did. We only have good things to say. Wait staff and hostess were friendly, helpful. Very nice, picture perfect salad. The trout entrée was first class, as were the scallops. Unique, quaint building. Overall a very pleasant evening. Recommend reservations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as the Homestead restaurants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food at the Waterwheel (tiny restaurant in the Inn at Gristmill Square) is fresh and delicious. Service is wonderful. Even though we stayed at the Homestead, we made sure to eat at the Waterwheel!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent two nights at the Inn at Gristmill Square and so happy we chose to have dinner here one of those evenings. Absolutely wonderful. Our party of four experienced the ribeye, scallops and filet. We were all so pleased. Wonderful atmosphere also.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One-of-a-kind experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local. What a great place! We loved the site—it had all of the mill details still intact, including the waterwheel on the outside. I felt at ease immediately, with the friendly, sweet staff and warm atmosphere. The Artisanal Cheese Plate was a wonderful starter. The house salad featured a delicious herb vinaigrette that was the perfect complement to the cucumber and carrot. Entree was Scallops and risotto—flavors were simple yet sophisticated. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterwheel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.