We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the wine cellar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterwheel Restaurant

Waterwheel Restaurant
124 Old Mill Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540-839-2231
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Visit the wine cellar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

One of the staff at homestead suggested this restaurant. It is hard to find in the dark, it is not on the main road. We arrived without a reservation, it is best to book as it is busy and not very big. Our greeting was good and we got the only empty table. The food and service were very good, but I most enjoyed the wine. They have a small wine list, it o.k., but they invite you to visit the cellar! DO SO. The cellar is a sub basement in the centre of the restaurant and accessed by just a few steps. You need at least ten minutes to do it justice. It is a mixture of alladin's cave and a small rabbit warren! We found a fairly local white, it was tasty, not over priced and quickly chilled, but not in that order.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you; we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. The wine cellar is fantastic and we are glad to know to you took the time to take it all in. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    139
    35
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the best prepared food in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well put together menu with good selections. The best chef the Warm Springs and Hot Spring area.Wine selection can be very unusal, you may go into the cellar and select your bottle.(the price is on the bottom of the bottla) Decor is fun, this is an old grist mill. The owner is available to explain the menu and wine service.Not to be missed for dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you had a nice time dining with us. We are passionate about food and wine and it is nice when guests recognize that. If we can ever assist in making your future dining experience more enjoyable please do not hesitate to ask. All the best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quirky salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had some fantastic meals at the Waterwheel Restaurant. The menu is limited, however everything we had during our three nights at Gristmill Square was delicious. We loved the quirky salad course which was served prior to the main course. I really must try doing that at home ...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you; we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. That salad gets the most feedback. The presentation is not what you'd expect. So glad that you enjoyed it and we hope you've since tried it at home. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had brunch here, wonderful cream cheese pancakes and mineral water. Great service, food, and atmosphere!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us during your visit to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When in Warm Springs, this is the place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We learned that we should make reservations well in advance as this restaurant is worthy of its reputation.

From the moment we arrived, the experience was nice. We were greeted and shown our table quickly. The décor was eclectic and charming as the building was an old mill with a waterwheel; hence the name.

The sommelier, Steve, showed us around the wine cellar which was in the old mill room. It was charming and had a wonderful selection of wine from $20 to several hundred dollars. They had an outstanding collection which included French Bordeaux blends as well as Chateauneuf du Pape, which I loved. Steve was especially knowledgeable about pair wine with the dishes upon which we decided.

If beef is your thing, the filet with mushrooms and asparagus was outstanding. The duck was another dish that the chef prepared perfectly.

Desert, coffee, after dinner cordials, everything was perfect and we would definitely go back again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you had a nice time dining with us. We are passionate about food and wine and it is nice when guests recognize that. If we can ever assist in making your future dining experience more enjoyable please do not hesitate to ask. All the best, John and Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterwheel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.