We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterwheel Restaurant

Waterwheel Restaurant
124 Old Mill Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484
15408392231
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Inn at Gristmill Square showcases regional American farm-to-table cuisine in the Waterwheel Restaurant. Our menu changes with the seasons to guarantee the freshest most authentic flavors. Freshly prepared ingredients from local and regional growers fill the menu, offering guests an exceptional dining experience. Beyond the menu, guests will enjoy a romantic, intimate atmosphere inside our renovated Mill.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went for dinner based on reviews while at Homestead Resort. Good food Great service. Reserve in advance which we found out when got there. But they accomodated us. good atmosphere and 1/3rd the price compared to homestead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nba519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you; we appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Best, John and Kate Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I were staying at the Homestead for 5 days. We ate brunch (eggs benedict), and two dinners (eggplant parmesan and trout) at the Waterwheel. I loved the quaintness of the mill, white walls, rustic, candle light, little spaces. For me, that is the main attraction. The food was delicious and service warm/friendly. Make sure you try the sour cream maple cake! Also, visit the wine cellar even if you are not having wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us during your visit to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming old mill with great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic value compared to the restaurants at Homestead - it is a quick 10 min drive just down from the Jefferson Pools.The service was excellent, food delicious and the restaurant so quaint. I had the cheddar and ale soup (still dreaming of seconds), salmondt and it was perfection and my wife had the filet and it was equally as good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and it was so good. The service was excellent, food delicious and the restaurant so quaint.
I had the trout and it was perfection and my husband had the filet and it was equally as good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a charming restaurant with a wonderfully professional, 5-star wait staff. Great wine selection that you can choose from yourself straight from their wine cellar! I never order eggplant parmesan from restaurants (as no one makes it as great as my mother!), but ordered it here as it was the only vegetarian option. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised with this dish! Not the typical soggy eggplant, smothered in tomato sauce & mozzarella. This was almost light & airy, with locally grown eggplant, nearly undetectable sauce, and a scrumptious & crispy top drizzled with balsamic vinegar. Quite a unique & dazzling version of an old time favorite. Would definitely return if in the area again. Cheers!

Helpful?
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GristmillSquare, Owner at Waterwheel Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Wow, what high praise! We appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review. Thank you for visiting us during your visit to the area. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kate and John Loeffler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing