We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warm Springs Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warm Springs Inn
12968 Sam Snead Highway, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Point Harbor, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Over the past 10+ yrs. we have stayed in this beautiful Inn when visiting family in Bath Co. or traveling. We recently spent one night enroute to another destination..We understand that the Inn is under new management. Many improvements to the property have been made and it remains a beautiful. The Inn keeper did not introduce herself upon our arrival. When we inquired about breakfast time we were told we could pay extra if we wanted breakfast but it was not usually served and not included in the price. The web site includes it as this is a B & B. The dinning room was not open for dinner. The front door to the Inn was locked when we arrived at 4pm and also in the morning when we left at 9am. Complimentary coffee in the a.m. would have been nice. The room we stayed in was charming but no hangers in the closet, bathroom light blinked, no place to put our luggage.The view is awesome and the porches very nice. Overall we were disappointed in the service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vinton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My family includes myself ,husband,teen-son and my little baby boy(a bichon). The entire family stayed at the Warm Springs Inn during the Blues and Jazz Festival. This 2012 year the event was June 15th thru 17th,(fri-sun). The Warm Springs Inn is a perfect choice! The Jefferson Pools is located right across the street,and only a short distance to the Garth Newel Music Center where the festival was held. Along with being close to other great locations in the area, Warm Springs Inn also has its own restaurant The Table, so we had the experience of it all.

Our room was very nice, it had some modern amenities that added more elegance to the room. The staff is so welcoming everyone is a VIP, (even my bichon) upon our check in we were provide with the most delicious homemade fudge, map of the entire three part area, other information to locations of interest and the best way of travel to reach them.

We had reservations to The Table which was made at the same time as the room. If you don't have reservations "don't fear" for they will go out of their way to accommodate. Now for the best part the food, the appealing menu is just the start. The visual of plating and taste is wonderful to say the least, the food doesn't disappoint. All I have to say at this close is "Try It Your Gonna Be Glad You Did!"

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, US
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the Warm Springs Inn over Memorial Day weekend. We chose Warm Springs Inn because the price was right and they allowed us to bring our dog, and we had read some positive reviews about it.
Pros: Good location - right across the street from the Jefferson Pools. Wonderful restaurant, the Table, on site. Good breakfast in the main building in the morning (not included in room cost). Dog-friendly. Nice porches and hammock. Beautiful area to drive through.
Cons: The building we stayed in was older and could use a few renovations: there were few outlets, the bathtub leaked, the outside door was hard to open/lock, and some other minor disrepair was evident. The bed and bath linens seemed old and thin, and no hand soap was provided in the bathroom. The decor was old-fashioned and at times strange. Lots of character, but a bit on the eccentric side. Some visitors will love the weird little details.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed here for the night during a bike trip.We called at the last minute and were pleased to be greeted so warmly.The cookies at check-in were delicious! We were given a room in the back which gave us alot of privacy. It was a lot like staying at Grandmas.We had dinner at the Inn which was wonderful.I will definitely stay here again the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Spent 4 nights here in October and absolutely loved the room. Most comfortable bed ever. We like history so loved the antiques & historic feel to the room. It is old, it is very rural, but if you are not expecting grandeur or amenities and love beautiful natural scenery it's a great place to stay. A great lower-cost option compared to the other pricey resorts in the area. DirectTV in the room & free wifi. Cell service is spotty because you're in a valley between two mountain ranges. Gorgeous views! So quiet and relaxing! The restaurant in the main building is upscale and only open for dinner from Wed.thru Sun. Make reservations to ensure a table. The food is well worth the prices. For breakfast we enjoyed the Country Cafe about 7 miles down the road past The Homestead. No frills but tasty country fare at very cheap prices. There is also a very excellent international gourmet food/treats/cheese shop about a mile away in The Dairy. There is a nice gas station & a couple basic grocery stores a few miles from the Inn. A highlight not to miss is the Jefferson Pools across the street from the Inn. You can soak in the natural 7' deep hot spring with it's crystal clear, teal blue waters, in a historic 18th century barn-like enclosure, same as when Thomas Jefferson & Robert E. Lee bathed there. There is not much in the area for shopping but plenty of scenic drives. The Goshen Pass was spectacular, as was Falling Springs waterfall. We really enjoyed our stay. We used it as a hub to take day trips around the area. Gorgeous mountain views everywhere you go. If you like views, nature & history, this is a magical, relaxing place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were well impressed on initial check-in but taken to our 2 bedroom suite in house behind restaurant. There was a good size hole in the wall behind chair next to table outside our suite; bathtub and bedroom sink had brown water stains, vanity chair was filthy and put towel over it before sitting down, dirty carpet, torn wall paper, no phone and zero cell service. We asked the owner/manager about dinner and he said they were very busy and suggested we eat at a pizza placedown the road. Even though we were paying for a suite that night, there was no room in the restaurant until later that evening. I will say that the restaurant looked very nice. We had an ice bucket in the room but no ice machines, drink or snack machines. When we asked the owner/manager about breakfast, his response was that he could get up in the morning and fix us something. We had to go back to the main house in the cold and rain to get a coffee pot and cups for in the morning. No amenities of any kind. Customer service is not a priority when it comes to overnight guests. If we had it to do over, we would have packed up and gone some place else for the night. My first clue when I booked this inn should have been when I was told they had plenty of rooms available. No reputable B&B is going to have rooms in the autumn in this part of the country on such short notice. I thought $150 was cheap for a 2 bedroom suite. After our stay, it was way over priced. Will provide pictures later of what we experienced.

Room Tip: No phones, no clocks, no cell service, no coffee pot, basically no amenities of any type other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This inn is located in VERY rural Virginia in the Appalachian mountains.

They have about 20 rooms over three buildings. The place offers breakfast and dinner, but breakfast isn't laid out until 8:00-8:30 or so. By that time I am long gone to the client site. There is a small convenience store about a half mile down the road from the inn which opens at 5:00 a.m. thankfully. There, you can get a fine sausage, egg and cheese biscuit and a cup o' joe.

Rooms include Direct/Dish TV. I forget which. Surf til you can't surf anymore. Free wireless internet is available but the signal strength isn't great everywhere in the inn, so you may have to temporarily relocate while using the service.

There is essentially NO cell service out here. I use Verizon and it was spotty at best at the inn. On mountaintops it worked fine. Like I stated previously, this is rural Virginia.

Wheelchair access can be had in 2 of the three buildings. Check with the owner before booking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warm Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warm Springs Inn

Address: 12968 Sam Snead Highway, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 rooms and 3 suites, each of which has a bathroom, satellite television, and free wi-fi internet. Our rooms are located in three buildings throughout the property; two of these buildings have wrap-around porches where our guests can enjoy the view of the mountains that surround us. We have a restaurant on site that offers five star quality as well as a bar where one may enjoy an evening cocktail. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warm Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warm Springs Inn to your Saves list