We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was heavy and overdone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John's Steakhouse

John's Steakhouse
Box 194, Charger Lane, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540 839 2333
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food was heavy and overdone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visiting Hot Springs and Warm Springs, if you are not eating at the Homestead, your dining choices may be somewhat limited. When we asked our innkeeper about John's, he told us it was "good." We should have interpreted the lukewarm endorsement as a warning from someone trying to be polite. Unfortunately, that night, our first choice, The Waterwheel, had no openings.

The building was nice and evoked a sense of a European chalet. The inside décor consisted of a lot of kitschy souvenirs from Germany and Austria. The place was not busy which should have been warning sign number 2.

The staff was friendly, but perhaps under-attentive. They were not consistent with checking on us.

As for the food, it was uninteresting. A good steak is nice. Theirs were overdone and had too much gristle. The sauces were way overdone and they tended to drown all the food in very strong overbearing sauces. Wine selection was mediocre.

For the price, it was a poor value. If it was some low budget family steakhouse, it would be more forgivable but John's had pretensions of being a fine dining experience. It was not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    13
    4
    5
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food good..friendliness not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were in Hot Springs, VA last month celebrating my birthday with family. We went to John's for some German food since we read that while a steakhouse, their German cuisine was very good. We asked to speak to the chef twice, and he never came out. The chef and owner are one in the same, and his wife is the hostess and server. She was not very warm or friendly. We actually felt we were imposing by making reservations and dining in the restaurant. By the way, there was only one other group of four people who came in all evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to attend while in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The restaurant has the best steak - gralic steak was done to ordert, and I liked the dessert - very European

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner at John's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the wiener snitchzel (sp) and the sausage plate. Both were very good. will return on our next trip to Bath County

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, great view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went with the wife while on a trip in the area because it was highly recommended by some friends, we had a pleasant meal, service was good and the view from the outside porch was amazing. I didn't think the food was great though it wasn't that it was bad it just wasn't what I normally expect when spending 50 to 60 dollars per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to John's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.