We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was heavy and overdone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John's Steakhouse - CLOSED

John's Steakhouse
Box 194, Charger Lane, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540 839 2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was heavy and overdone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visiting Hot Springs and Warm Springs, if you are not eating at the Homestead, your dining choices may be somewhat limited. When we asked our innkeeper about John's, he told us it was "good." We should have interpreted the lukewarm endorsement as a warning from someone trying to be polite. Unfortunately, that night, our first choice, The Waterwheel, had no openings.

The building was nice and evoked a sense of a European chalet. The inside décor consisted of a lot of kitschy souvenirs from Germany and Austria. The place was not busy which should have been warning sign number 2.

The staff was friendly, but perhaps under-attentive. They were not consistent with checking on us.

As for the food, it was uninteresting. A good steak is nice. Theirs were overdone and had too much gristle. The sauces were way overdone and they tended to drown all the food in very strong overbearing sauces. Wine selection was mediocre.

For the price, it was a poor value. If it was some low budget family steakhouse, it would be more forgivable but John's had pretensions of being a fine dining experience. It was not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Salomon297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Houston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food good..friendliness not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were in Hot Springs, VA last month celebrating my birthday with family. We went to John's for some German food since we read that while a steakhouse, their German cuisine was very good. We asked to speak to the chef twice, and he never came out. The chef and owner are one in the same, and his wife is the hostess and server. She was not very warm or friendly. We actually felt we were imposing by making reservations and dining in the restaurant. By the way, there was only one other group of four people who came in all evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fishingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to attend while in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The restaurant has the best steak - gralic steak was done to ordert, and I liked the dessert - very European

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inkakom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner at John's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the wiener snitchzel (sp) and the sausage plate. Both were very good. will return on our next trip to Bath County

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great location, great view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went with the wife while on a trip in the area because it was highly recommended by some friends, we had a pleasant meal, service was good and the view from the outside porch was amazing. I didn't think the food was great though it wasn't that it was bad it just wasn't what I normally expect when spending 50 to 60 dollars per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing