We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good..friendliness not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John's Steakhouse - CLOSED

John's Steakhouse
Box 194, Charger Lane, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540 839 2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food good..friendliness not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were in Hot Springs, VA last month celebrating my birthday with family. We went to John's for some German food since we read that while a steakhouse, their German cuisine was very good. We asked to speak to the chef twice, and he never came out. The chef and owner are one in the same, and his wife is the hostess and server. She was not very warm or friendly. We actually felt we were imposing by making reservations and dining in the restaurant. By the way, there was only one other group of four people who came in all evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    13
    4
    5
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to attend while in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The restaurant has the best steak - gralic steak was done to ordert, and I liked the dessert - very European

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner at John's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the wiener snitchzel (sp) and the sausage plate. Both were very good. will return on our next trip to Bath County

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, great view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went with the wife while on a trip in the area because it was highly recommended by some friends, we had a pleasant meal, service was good and the view from the outside porch was amazing. I didn't think the food was great though it wasn't that it was bad it just wasn't what I normally expect when spending 50 to 60 dollars per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenbridge,Va.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Trout and German cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Don't miss this wonderful authentic German restaurant. Fresh trout was also on the menu.
The food is homemade and delicious, the hilltop view is fantastic and the owners are warm and welcoming.
You will not be disappointed!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.