We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John's Steakhouse - CLOSED

John's Steakhouse
Box 194, Charger Lane, Warm Springs, VA 24484
540 839 2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, great view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went with the wife while on a trip in the area because it was highly recommended by some friends, we had a pleasant meal, service was good and the view from the outside porch was amazing. I didn't think the food was great though it wasn't that it was bad it just wasn't what I normally expect when spending 50 to 60 dollars per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    13
    4
    5
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenbridge,Va.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Trout and German cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Don't miss this wonderful authentic German restaurant. Fresh trout was also on the menu.
The food is homemade and delicious, the hilltop view is fantastic and the owners are warm and welcoming.
You will not be disappointed!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The owner's family treats patrons horribly.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have patronized three of the current owners restaurants throughout the last 27 years. The experience is the same, the food is hit or miss and the staff, (wife and daughter) are rude and condensending. The problem with the service is this family received a very large settlement from an accident years ago and does not depend on the restaurant for their income. They can treat people anyway they want, they need to show a loss every year to keep their personal taxes down due to the income of the large settlement. The owner told me this himself. This family hates to wait on people, they feel superior to the patrons, and as you can read in the reviews, they are outright rude. Seafood is never fresh here and I have witnessed our dinner companions becoming ill after eating seafood here. People please, you work too hard for your money and it is a slap in your face that you are handing it over it to this family who treat their patrons so poorly. There are not a lot of choices in Bath County for a decent meal, that is what brings the patrons back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

From the reviews we read, we weren't sure whether to eat at John's or not but decided to give it a chance as it was close to where we were staying. The restaurant has a great view of the mountains and we enjoyed watching the hummingbirds that were attracted to the feeder in the window. We were waited on by the wife of the husband/wife owners and could not be happier with our service. She was appropriately attentive and every dish was delivered in a reasonable length of time and was piping hot. My husband and I both had steaks that were cooked to order and delicious. Mine was so large, I had to ask for a take away box. We were happy with our dining experience and would visit again if we were in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am at a loss for words. The food was decent, but the atmosphere and service left something to be desired. There is 1 server who is also the bartender, hostess etc. etc. We actually wondered if she made the food too!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.