We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with wonderful rooms, history, and hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast
Hidden Valley Rd, PO Box 53, Warm Springs, VA 24484   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“B&B with wonderful rooms, history, and hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

What a great and relaxing place to stay. All the rooms are comfortable and very nice. It will not matter which one you pick, you'll love it. Tour the property, it has many interesting things to see and talk about. This place is an excellent place for a romantic getaway or for an extended family stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here during the Federal government shutdown-we were originally planning to hike in Shenandoah National Park but it was closed. Happily for us, Hidden Valley is in a beautiful area of the Virginia mountains, and there are hiking trailheads just a couple of minutes from the inn.

The drive up to Hidden Valley from Lexington, VA, and through Highland County over to Staunton, is incredibly scenic.

Pam is very knowledgeable about where to eat, things to see, hiking, etc. The house has been wonderfully restored by Pam and Ron. If you're lucky, you might get some fresh goat milk and housemade goat feta cheese for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Owners of this already fabulous location just opened "The Quarters" - the upstairs portion of the freestanding Summer Kitchen. So now, in addition to all of the already idyllic amenities (location on Jackson River and in National Forest, fabulous food, working farm, able to bring dogs, etc..) there is now an absolutely adorable apartment to which amazing attention to detail has been paid. This includes fabulous decor (did I mention the mural depicting Bath County life circa 1800s), full kitchen with dishwasher, bathroom that is nicer than anything I will every have in my own home, and a cozy living area perfect for happy hours and family gatherings. Big dogs are not allow in The Quarters, with good reason - but I can still enjoy all of the perfection of the Summer Kitchen below while my mom and other family members luxuriate above.

This spring I had the chance to go fly fishing with a guide on the Jackson River - the experience was amazing. Wonderful gentleman born and raised in Bath County, very generous and patient trout, and the best part was returning to The Quarters apres-fishing for some luxury and downtime.

Can't wait to get back. With The Quarters on top of the Summer Kitchen, it will be easy for me to bring 7-9 family members along for a quality, relaxing escape from reality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Thomas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What an incredible B&B! Pam and Ron have done a masterful job of bringing this historic plantation home back to life. We loved our stay in the "Summer Kitchen", and got a peek at the newly opened "Quarters" which is also a spacious apartment with all amenities. We regretted having only one night here, and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went the last weekend of June 2013 to participate in the National Butterfly Count, an event the b&b fosters by kindly offering their farm road and pasture for counting and their front porch for meetings, not to mention their rooms for staying in. This is the 3rd year I've done this; but the count has been going on here for (I think) 18 years, always a weekend near the 4th of July. Pam and Ron are very friendly people with a penchant for 19th century design - the period of the house. The rooms are filled with quilts and old fashioned furniture, flowery wallpaper and lots of old books including novels, very wonderful to step into. The rooms are big, air conditioned, and comfortable, with high ceilings. The old house is very sound, for instance the floors and stairs do not creak; there is a lot of privacy in the arrangement of rooms. They have two buildings (plus barns), the main house and what they call the summer kitchen, a two-story brick affair that was built (I learned this time) by a movie company that shot a film there in the 1990s, as part of the story. This building can be rented handily by family groups. It's all very clean. Pam is a wonderful breakfast cook, and we ate very well. There is a back porch that opens onto a garden with a little fountain and many flowers, not to mention the dozen or so hummingbirds that visit the feeder. There's a river nearby that seems to have fish (i.e. people fish in it), and the hot springs are not very far, for instance Hot Springs Resort, and Warm Springs. There are some restaurants which Pam is happy to call to reserve for dinners. We had our project (butterfly counting), but if we had not had anything to do, we still would have been very happy doing nothing. This is a part-time working farm, with goats and chickens,ducks and geese that can be visited, great for children.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance. They close in the winter. There isn't any internet service and our cell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickton, Owner at Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Ron and I have enjoyed hosting the National Butterfly count folks for many years. We are in the process of trying different internet options and equipment to make the internet farther reaching for our guests. The only cell phone service in Bath Co is Verizon, we do have a booster that allows guests with Verizon cell service.
Regards
Pam Stidham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went for my birthday weekend and enjoyed it very much. The old house is in beautiful condition and the owners are wonderful. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and you can rent a separate space with your own kitchen. We did not this time but might next time. My husband is a bird watcher and we took several hikes, I am a painter and had a chance to paint the views. The breakfast was wonderful with farm fresh eggs! Attached are several photos.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were on a group hike in the Hidden Valley area near Warm Springs, VA and happened on this B&B on a 70-acre farm. The inn was basically closed but the gracious hosts, Ron and Pam, took us on a tour of the property including the barn, goat pin, natural spring house and historic inn itself. They served us goats milk hot chocolate, homemade goat cheese and crackers and almond cookies. The kids got to pet the sheep and goats were in heaven exploring the farm. We are definitely going back for stay during their season which is April to the end of October. Numerous great things to do in the area including hiking, hunting, trout fishing, etc. The house has been stunningly restored with ante-bellum furniture and could not be more charming. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hidden Valley Rd, PO Box 53, Warm Springs, VA 24484
Location: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list