We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Backpacker service at a resort price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Save
You added Rimba Resort to your Saves list
Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beware! Backpacker service at a resort price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent the week end there and we were profoundly disappointed by the accommodation and to some extent the service. I have to say that we fail to understand the average rating on Trip Advisor, to the point of finding it suspicious.
We paid about 750 SGD for 2 nights 2 days, with their all inclusive package.
First the positive:
- beach is nice, nearby the forest
- foreign staff is relatively friendly.

Then the negative:
- very old bed with spring mattresses, we slept badly the 2 nights
- room not very clean, no chair/flat surface to put our things
- local staff rude.
- foreign staff needs training despite the fact they are friendly (they disappear during lunch time, scuba diving desk stays unattended most of the time, tables at the bar stays uncleared hours after the guest leave
- old linen
- seems no trained chef in the kitchen.Food was mediocre (e.g. main course cold, or during bbq on sat night the fish and prawn totally overcooked thus super chewy).

We got much better value for money Thailand/Phuket and Indonesia.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed as poorly set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    56
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
72
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The boat trip there is fun with lovely views.

We had booked the suit for a touch of luxury and privacy and boy oh boy that is exactly what it provides. It is large, with a large double bed, bug nets over the bed so you can sleep with the sea breeze and lessoning to the waves, great lined and towels, a nice wetroom and simply wonderful chairs on which to sit on the covered terrace in order to enjoy that wonderful view.

There are other places to stay in Malaysia that could learn a great deal from visiting the Rimba Resort to see how it should be done.

We were disappointed with the food the first night as it was a little like 1980’s pub food. We spoke to them about it and from them on we were served a western version of Malaysian food. Not ideal but good quality. The only let down was the breakfast which was basic, but as we were getting breakfast lunch and dinner it did not really matter.

The best beaches are on the other side of the island as this one has quite a bit of coral and stones, but the rubber rings help.

The transfer back to Singapore afterwards was first class.

Room Tip: The suit is just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this idyllic resort. I think that Rimba wins over the hearts of her visitors (just read the reviews here) with its personal attention, which is from the time of booking to pick-up arrangements through service in the resort itself. Mark (owner), Carly, Richard, Ryan, Sophie...all staff members called me by name. For sure, we will remember them and we will be happy to visit Rimba again

Room Tip: Only suites have A/C. Other rooms' ceiling fan with mosquitoes net will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a long week end there as a family in May. We thoroughly enjoyed it, from the moment we booked to the moment we left the place the team at Rimba made our experience with them quite memorable. Carly organized a car for us, the whole team is very friendly with children, we did some great diving and snorkeling.
We will definitely be back.
Thank you guys!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandvika, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had the most fantastic time at Rimba this week. We only had time to go for 1 night but it felt like we had been away much longer as it was so relaxing. Powder white sand, crystal clear water, great food AND the BEST service from Carly and her team you could ever wish for..... Can't wait to return with our friends in October.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came here for a two-night mini-break to escape Singapore and were blown away by the beauty of the island, the friendliness of the wonderful staff and the relaxed, chilled-out atmosphere in the resort. The children were able to play in total safety on the beach while my husband and I relaxed in the bar or on the balcony of the chalet. The snorkelling was fantastic and the boat trip around the island was tremendous fun. The food was very good and the option for the kids to eat early was very welcome :) Thank you to all the staff for a great weekend away. Loved it - can't wait to go back later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Rim a whilst completing a diving course there. The staff were always friendly and more than helpful. Combined with a perfect location, you would be hard pressed to find a better resort. I would recommend Rimba to anyone, and also their 17 cocktail Rimba Challenge!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimba Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.