We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Save
You added Rimba Resort to your Saves list
Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment you arrive at Rimba Resort you realise that this is a very special place indeed. We (my husband and two young children) spent a weekend away at Rimba and were absolutely blown away by the outstanding hospitality of the staff, the quality and taste of the food and the 'Robinson Cruso' atmosphere.

The staff could not be more accommodating to our two tear-aways, and even graciously looked after them at dinner time so that we could enjoy our meal without the usual chaos. The island is easy to get to from Singapore with the boat trip from the mainland taking around 20 minutes.

Although feeling very relaxed after only a few hours at the resort, I stepped it up a notch by booking into the spa and indulging in a facial and Indian head massage. Rachel and Nikki were both sensational and as I floated back up the beach towards the bar for a sunset cocktail, I was already planning my return visit.

This is not a place for people looking for all the creature comforts of large, 5 star corporate hotel. The accommodation is thatched huts overlooking the beach and ocean beyond, and there is no tv and no wifi (thank goodness). However if you are after a wonderful and unique getaway where you can't help but relax and where the staff are amazing then look no further.

Thanks Rimba. We are heading back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    56
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
72
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely loved this place - so relaxing and comfortable. However, what really makes it are the staff. You are gven such a warm welcome from everyone that it was so hard to leave at the end.
The food here is also good especially the evening meals and the memory of sitting at the bar watching the sun go down with a cold beer and a bit of Daft Punk makes me smile. Currently looking at my schedule and working out when I can go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent a week there for a friends wedding. Great Hosts, Great Spa, Got a massage every day Great Malay food and Western food, no phones and no computers (lovely), amazing views, great rainforest walks, snorkelling, swimming,....and of course the Bar that is open when you have a thirst to quench.

I hope to be back soon.


xxx

Room Tip: Sleep quality was poor( majority self inflicted) as I was there for a wedding and there were a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We live in Singapore and the Rimba crew organised transport to and from the city. Once at the jetty in Malaysia it is a 20 minute ride by boat ( wear clothing that you will not mind getting wet and shoes that you can slip off easily when you arrive at the other side). We arrived at 9:30 pm and the crew had prepared really good sandwiches and had fresh drinks waiting for us so from the start one feels taken care of. No check-in procedures and you are identified by name and not by room number which I find a nice touch. Leafy and quiet location with simple bungalows overlooking the sea. Accommodation is a bit basic with noticeable absence of doors and shutters that are replaced by thick roll up plastis sheets but it is fun and clean. A safe is available in the room but I recommend not bringing anything valuable just to stay on the safe side and clothing should be simple, a T-shirt and shorts are all you need. While the menu is limited the food is plentiful and of really good quality. There are toys and games for kids and a well stocked bar for grownups that closes when the last guest goes to bed, nice touch. The Spa overlooks the beach and it is really relaxing. I have already booked my return stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Island suite at the end of the resort. Very private, quiet and slightly more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nicely located with reef in front of the hotel. wonderful place for the 3 peaceful vacation days. Very easy to get from Singapore through the bus. Very basic accommodation as expected. we miss the hot water. The rest was simply perfect. Food was great and staff efficient and friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Rimba resort IS: beautiful, relaxing, secluded, a place to unwind, free from daily distractions of work, rustic, blessed with wonderful snorkelling, run by a friendly and helpful crew, able to provide excellent quality of food, reasonably priced, not far from Singapore, able to provide spa and beauty treatments, a great place to visit for a few days and quieter during the week

Rimba resort is NOT: luxurious, free from bugs, high speed Internet connected, somewhere to bring high maintenance folks who need every creature comfort on a holiday

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of a weekend break to Rimba. We took some friends this time and they fell in love with the island straight away. We were picked up in Singapore at 8am and by 11:30 we were on the island and sitting at the bar, this was with two 1 year olds in tow.

The food as always is delicious, the weather lovely, the room all we needed and the staff fantastic. Carly organised a babysitter for us at a small cost so that we could eat dinner at 8pm with all the other adults, this was the best. The chef was so great at making kids meals for them and they went down well though the buffet for breakfast and lunch was a winner with them.

We did not venture out on any walks or snorkelling as we were happy to just watch the toddlers play.

Reading the negative comment below regards the standards and accessibility for children and older adults I can understand what they are saying but the website is very clear about what they provide. We love that just the basics are available and phones and computers are off, the staff are always available and we could not have asked for more.

I do agree that the prices do go up with a bar bill but that is up to you really! We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimba Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.