We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific experience! Not one good thing to say.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Tapas & Tonics

Fresh Tapas & Tonics
2135 Geheral Booth Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23454
757 430-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #672 of 1,237 restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: London Bridge
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrific experience! Not one good thing to say.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Terrible from top to bottom, kitchen "forgot" 4 dishes and never received salad after three requests, food had promise but most was floating in sauce, inexcusable service blamed kitchen, waste of time and left hungry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    6
    6
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first time dining here. Kat was an excellent server, giving detailed descriptions of various drinks from which my spouse could choose. He ordered the Metropoiltan, and liked it so much he requested a second one. We shared four plates: calamari, steak bites, baked Brie, shrimp and grits. A perfect combination of flavors and textures, and just the right size portions. Priced fairly, too. We will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

had the cornmeal shrimp,calamari,lettusce wraps,crab dip and all were excellent. Kat was our sever and she was very good.very small place but no complaint and they even had a small 3 peace music group play that was very good...highly recommended :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Between Good & Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I think i wanted to like the restaurant experience better than i actually did. The menu is nice with a good assortment of appetizers and small plate selections. The two appetizers we ordered were good, but the baked brie came out about 20 minutes after the first appetizer of steamed dumplings. I would have like the dumplings better if they had tasted homemade but i am pretty sure, while they were good, they were just purchased. The brie was good but i can make that just as good at home if you know what i mean. We then decidd on dinner of the tenderloin only to find out they were sold out of that. But they did have the tenderloin medallions. They were fine, nothing special, good, just seemed to me they used a less than perfect tenderloin to make medallions, which was really just sliced thin tenderloin. The bartender was cheerful and the crowd nice. Older crowd and didn't feel like a "bar scene". I just got the feeling the entire night that they were low on food in the kitchen and whoever was cooking was just making the orders based on convenience, not per order. Things were coming out individually which was odd. It's a cute restaurant, i want to love it, but just feel it's a good place to go for location and close to where we live, but for a special occassion would go somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Really loved the martini's, they were well made at first and strong. Our server was new and needed help; both managed to mess up our order but were cheerful while doing so. Lettuce wraps were very good, as were the fried pot sticker dumplings. Buffalo style shrimp was freezer burned and sloppy, also ordered a tapas that appeared at the table as a Thai noodle dish, it tasted awful and should not have been classified or served as tapas. Our stay lasted a bit more than an hour and the place was about half full, this "strain" seemed to pressure the staff, and our drinks started missing important garnish and fruit accompaniment or they ran out…sloppy bar work regardless. Attention to detail and basic cooking techniques have been lost and an absent manager might just close the doors on this once fine establishment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Tapas & Tonics also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Tapas & Tonics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Tapas & Tonics, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.