We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melt in my mouth!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitner's BBQ

Whitner's BBQ
869 Lynnhaven Pkwy, Ste 106, Virginia Beach, VA 23452
(757) 689-8437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 1,255 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Melt in my mouth!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Everyone in our group got something different, and no one left disappointed. I got ribs, a few the turkey sandwich, and a few other things. Can't wait to visit again!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great BBQ, but skip the sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The pulled pork, the ribs, and the turkey was excellent. The burnt ends were too acidic - skip it. While the BBQ was great, every person in our group left the side dishes on the plate - except cornbread. So skip the sides, just have meat and cornbread.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nothing like Midwest BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've eaten lots of bbq in KC, St Louis, Memphis, Texas and other areas and this was my least favorite. We had 4 meats...ribs and turkey were both good, brisket was moist but cut way too thick more like a pot roast. The Jamaican jerk chicken was not even close to what it should've tasted like and was more like a mustard sauce on top. The collared greens and rice were fine. They do give huge portions on the 2 & 3 meat platters. I preferred the spicier sauce. I'll post some pictures of the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just plan garbage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had visited this store on 4/30/2013

I purchased several items. The food is just plan garbage.

People go there because it was featured on TV.

There Jerk chicken was terrible. It was extremely dry. In fact, it was so dry that I couldn't eat it. It was the worst chicken I ever had.

This chicken taste like it was made weeks ago.

Also, the Dirty Rice taste like it came from a box. I took one folk full and I had to spit it out. It was gross.

Their food is just plan horrible.

Please don't waste your money on this place. The food is real bad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I’ve wanted to eat here since I saw them on Diner, Drive-ins and Dives. My wife and I ate lunch here on 4/28/2013 – we arrived at 1PM. You order and pay when you first come in. I got a two meat combo with spare ribs and brisket, my wife got a chicken-Q sandwich. For sides I got the dirty rice and mac & cheese, and my wife got potato salad.

The brisket was excellent – among the best I’ve had and I grew-up in Texas. The dirty rice was also very good – both my wife and I really enjoyed the rice. However, those were the only things we enjoyed, the rest of our meal was very dull. My ribs were way over cooked and very dry, the mac & cheese tasted like wet flour and had absolutely no cheese flavor. My wife said her potato salad had no flavor and was nearly tasteless.

The sauce Whitner put on my ribs was not good – not sure what is was, but it had a slight burnt taste that was off in a big way. The restaurant is small and we had to wait a while for a table to open up.

I would not return and cannot recommend this restaurant. In Richmond we have world class BBQ at Buzz and Ned’s, and Q-BBQ. I think they have spoiled me as I hold all other BBQ joints to their standards!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitner's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Whitner's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitner's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.