We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitner's BBQ

Whitner's BBQ
869 Lynnhaven Pkwy, Ste 106, Virginia Beach, VA 23452
(757) 689-8437
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

ate the meatloaf sandwich & it was excellent the sides i had was the mac and cheese and mashed potatoes,small portions but tasty. would go back for sure

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Seen it on Triple DDD so had to check it out while I was in town. Had the three meat, two sides. Great hot links, and pulled pork. Large selection of different BBQ sauces. Will definitely go again when I'm in Virginia Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Needs to Expand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The food is good. It lives up to the billing that Fieri gave it on TV. But the restaurant is tiny and cramped. Diners were stepping over each other at the self service fountain, at the condiment station, and in seating. Not only are there very few tables, but there is inadequate room between the tables that do exist. There is a fine line between quaint and farcical, and this space is on the wrong side of it. I took too many elbows and didn’t enjoy the visit. I’ll probably try again, but at an offbeat time to avoid the full contact experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Better than the average joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My favorite area restaurant is No Frill Bar and Grill in Norfolk. The barkeep at No Frill is a foodie … and suggested Whitner’s as a place for BBQ… recommending the burnt ends. That’s why I sought out this hidden little joint.

Whitner's smells like a BBQ joint. When I ordered the burnt ends platter, I let the order-taker determine what she thought was the best tasting sides. She chose collard greens and mashed potatoes with gravy for me.

The collards were tender, not mushy, and was cooked to the perfect tenderness for me. It’s taste, however, lacked in ‘collard-ness’. The taste was too mild and there definitely was no collard green aftertaste … which I love. The mashed potatoes with gravy turned out to be an excellent choice. The burnt ends tasted very good, but the taste was derived from the sauce. These are shredded ends, lacking the taste of ‘burnt’ or of smokiness.

Just to make my trip to this joint a complete one, I ordered a half-slab of ‘wet’ ribs to-go. When I ate the ribs at home, the ‘wet’ is not due to a sauce in the traditional sense of a BBQ sauce. It’s more like a BBQ rib au jus. The ribs were tender and better than average.

Whitner’s is a better than average joint. I can readily think of a few better and a few worse. While I’m not opposed to eating there again when in the area, I think too much of my reputation to recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I learned about Whitner's BBG through the Food Network's show "Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives" and since moving to Virginia Beach, had been looking for a quality BBQ place. Whitner's is a small "hole in the wall" type place and the BBQ is unbelievably good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitner's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Whitner's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitner's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.