We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of few choices in sandbridge” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Margie & Ray's Crabhouse

Margie & Ray's Crabhouse
1240 Sandbridge Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23456
(757) 426-2397
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“one of few choices in sandbridge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not sure why the ratings are so high. Service was good and friendly but food was below average. Prices were too expensive for the quality. I like to support the local businesses but would not recommend this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    77
    32
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Margie & Ray's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We liked it very much. We had a party of 8 including 3 teenage boys. Everyone who ordered seafood was very pleased. 2 of us don't eat seafood and our meals were also very good. It arrived at our table very quickly, even though they were quite busy. The only drawback was they had to seat us at 2 tables and didn't even ask if we wanted to wait for a larger table. The atmosphere was your typical seafood beach restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous crabs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

15 of us ventured to Margie and Ray's Crabhouse for lunch today (2 kids under two and one of the adults werent crab fans). We ordered two dozen jumbo hardshell crabs. They were fabulous!

Hot, well seasoned and loaded with meat. And probably 14 or 15 in each "dozen". The beer was ice cold and the sides (onion rings, hush puppies and coleslaw) were very good, although next time I'll skip the onion rings.

We're going back tomorrow!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbridge, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“About what you'd expect ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This restaurant is better than average, but not quite "Very Good". A little pricey for what you get, as mentioned often, but it's resort seafood. We got carry out, so the service was not provided at a table. First, the water pressure was too low, so they weren't sure if they'd be steaming crabs this particular night. I called back 20 minutes later and they said they were up and running. We got a dozen crabs, a steamed seafood sampler, and a kids' fried shrimp meal, hushpuppies, a quart of the she-crab soup and a pound of steamed spiced shrimp. A pretty good sampling of what they had to offer. The failed to provide the shrimp, so I had to go back for it (so i had to share my crabs!!), but like I said, it was all good food. I'd go back, but expectations should be tempered. You could do MUCH worse than this little seafood shak.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No-frills seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

To be honest, this is where I prefer to get seafood in Virginia Beach. It's small and can be crowded in-season, so I try to go off-season. The seafood is simply prepared. You can choose broiled or fried. They serve the usual variety. Service is good. Atmosphere is relaxed but a bit noisy. It's neither cheap nor expensive. The she-crab soup may be the best I've ever had.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margie & Ray's Crabhouse also viewed

 

Been to Margie & Ray's Crabhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margie & Ray's Crabhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.