We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of No Frill Bar & Grill

No Frill Bar & Grill
1620 Laskin Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-6114
757-425-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stopped by this retro-diner for a Friday lunch at 1230p and the place was packed, but emptied out by 130p. I did not have to wait to be seated. Ordered a crabcake sandwich with a side of pasta salad, which was recommended by the waitress as a better alternative to fries, but the pasta salad was very dry and tasteless. Crabcake sandwich was good and the tomatoes were excellent!
Waitress service wasn not good. No check-backs by the waitress, no ice tea refill and waited 15 minutes after finishing my lunch to get my bill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    63
    19
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped in after a long day. To my surprise, It was delicious. They had just what this hungry man was looking for. In a very convenient location in regards to the ocean front. I highly recommend making it one of your restaurant choices while at the beach. The staff will make sure that you did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“McDonalds has a better atmosphere...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were expecting a fun; upbeat and value driven place, but instead walked into a dungeon filled with zombie-like waitstaff and a limited over-priced menu.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reliably excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The wait staff were friendly, efficient and accommodating! My husband and I have eaten here many times, and we have yet to eat anything that wasn't very good! We are thrilled to have a place where we can count on the food and the service to be very good!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central, ma.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food nice atmosphere minutes from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

On our recent stay at VA Beach we decided to venture out from the crowded restaurants at the beach. We found this place by accident. 6:00PM Friday night parking lot full, a 10 min. wait for a table for 2. On our way to our table I noticed alot of people eating salads which looked very inviitng. I opted for the reuben and my wife got the meatloaf dinner. The food was very good and came quicker than we expected for such a busy place. The waitress was very attentive. The interior is much nicer than you would expect after seeing the stainless steel diner like appearance from the outside. All in all a good experience and I will eturn on our next trip to the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No Frill Bar & Grill also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to No Frill Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No Frill Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.