We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot - local knowledge!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana An American Cafe

Havana An American Cafe
1423 N Great Neck Rd Ste 101, Virginia Beach, VA 23454-1305
757-496-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 1,256 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fun spot - local knowledge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been dining at Havana's for over 15 years - it has consistently amazing food, excellent wine list, engaging bar tenders, great service and atmosphere perfect for a fun night with friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Havana Great Neck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've been to Havana many times, but never tried the "small plate" menu. it was terrific - maybe better then the main menu. Service was great as always and it wasn't too full, so the noise level was low.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Havana is Cuban/Spanish/Caribbean restaurant located in a small strip shopping center and is frequented by locals,which is always a good sign. It has a vibrant Bar scene, great drinks (especially mojitos), and exceptional food and service. Lucky for us our daughter chose Havana for her 30th Birthday dinner.
The servers are very knowledgeable and very friendly. The service was impeccable and the owner is often available and assisting his staff with any and all service needs, as he was on this particular night.
The Birthday girl ordered the calamari appetizer and she was very satisfied with the lightly fried rings and lightly spicy sauce.
One person had Paella de Playa a huge dish of shrimp, chicken, mussels, and fish with chorizo over rice AMAZING! Another had the Coconut Curry ( chicken and shrimp) w Jasmine rice an obvious choice as one of the BEST dishes on the menu....oh wait they have too many BEST dishes to count. On any given night it is a difficult choice since the choices and specials are so enticing.. I had the maple grilled salmon over whipped ginger sweet potatoes and it was the best salmon I have ever had anywhere, incredibly fresh & cooked as I requested. Another had the Appetizer tuna fish tacos as an entree and with 2 tacos and rice and beans the portion was plentiful. The tuna was fresh and cooked to perfection! Last but not least was the beef, pork and veal meatloaf over garlic mashed potatoes which rounded out a perfect selection of incredible food. This restaurant exemplifies Variety and Something for Everyone, with perfectly priced tapas full menu items and exceptional service. Unfortunately, none of us had room for dessert. No worries, we will be back soon as this is one of the BEST(and most consistently great) Restaurants in Virginia Beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A true gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate there last night, and had one of the best dining experiences I have had in a long, long time.
The service was prompt, attentive and helpful. Our server explained this was only her third day as a waitperson, but she had received a month of training at Havana. When is the last time you heard of a restaurant training their staff for a month?!?
The decor was interesting and comfortable. Modern, but not off-putting, a good balance.
The food was spectacular, starting with an innovative, inspiring menu to the lovely presentation I had the feeling we were in for a treat. My salad was a wedge of lettuce with a terrific blue cheese/ chipotle dressing that has now become my favorite of all time. When I tasted my entree (shrimp and chicken in a coconut cream curry sauce) I was blown away. Flavor? You bet! Texture? Perfect!,
Havana is terrific.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norf
1 review
“Sadly Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After being out of state for a year and now living in Ghent, a bunch of friends suggested we head to Havana on Great Neck. The restaurant was starting to get busy on this particular Saturday evening so we were surprised at the service we received. The waitress was slow and the food was even slower. We ordered salads, nacho and drinks from the bar. My friends and I were all in the service industry so we thought it was odd that we didn’t receive some sort of acknowledgement for the lack of attention to service and food – i.e. bar/kitchen was trying to get things together, something to address the situation during the entire evening. Nothing. We even joked about it with our server – no personality. The owner/manager seemed to be in fast motion, but it looked like he would rather be somewhere else as he was neither friendly nor social with his guests. We attributed this as we needed to be regulars or of a certain statue. This is a service industry, people work hard for their money and go out to have a good time among friends, not feel like a burden, especially when there are other restaurants to choose from. From what I remembered Havana’s had a fairly good reputation for its food and atmosphere, but most restaurants in the area do not survive only on its reputation for food alone. The next time a bunch of friends, (who may not look like they have money based on attire, automobiles or ethnicity); recommend a casual evening out, Havana will probably be the very bottom on our list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana An American Cafe also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Havana An American Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana An American Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.