We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar

Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar
227 Meditrannian Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4774
757-425-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 1,255 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great outdoor atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I live in Virginia Beach and I love taking friends here when the visit. MUST sit outside on the gliders--the atmosphere is the best part of this place! The food is good, especially the she-crab soup. At busy times the service can get a little slow, but the staff are always friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    120
    63
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Menu Jan 13-20, 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I went here during Restaurant Week Menu Jan 13-20. We both had the Hatteras Chowder and the "Barroll's Point Lobster Roll". It was fantastic. My wife loved it so much she ordered a second Lobster Roll and I thought "Really?" By the time she finished the second Chowder she couldn't eat the rest. That became her dinner that night and she was happy about it. Then the next day she insisted on going and getting take-out for dinner, so we watched TV and dined on Lobster. She was in heaven with two days of Lobster. Now she is watching their website hoping they extend Restaurant Week another week...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“OK place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had lunch on a cold rainy day, so the deck was not the place to be. Being a local I don't usually eat here during tourist season. The she crab soup was good and could have eaten more. Our server was a tad slow and the place was not busy. Our lunch was good and would have no problem coming back or pointing someone else in this direction.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rudee's was recommended to us by a friend so we wanted to eat there. The seafood was fresh and very tasty. We both had the seafood platter and thought the price was very high for lunch. There was not a very good selection of side dishes; the seafood platter came with a vegetable medley and two small roasted potatoes.

The server was excellent, very efficient and was constatnly checking on us to see if we needed anything. We very much enjoyed the meal and the surroundings; however it was overpriced for the amount of food you received.

If money is not a problem and you want good food, I would recommend you try Rudees. However, if your finances are tight, you might want to try a restaurant further away from the water.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The deck is the place to be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If Rudee's didn't have the open air deck, I would say that it is just an average spot, but the swinging chairs just make the place complete. The drink and food prices are a little high for the quality, but the atmosphere makes up for it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.